express bowling Posted June 25, 2016 Posted June 25, 2016 (edited) 5 hours ago, Moth2Flame said: :-). After the Munaf thread, the word "age" makes me smile. I hear they are conducting bone tests for determining age in the u-19 world cup these days. Ages can be determined within a year or 6 months or thereabouts . So, Avesh should be within 1 year of his stated age. p.s - Before the Munaf Patel incident, were you not aware that major age falsifications that took place in sports and among movie stars ? I thought it was common knowledge. Edited June 25, 2016 by express bowling
vishalvirsingh Posted June 25, 2016 Posted June 25, 2016 22 hours ago, Moth2Flame said: With only gully cricket experience, I have always assumed that, to even have a chance at being a front-line bowler at the highest level, you must bowl > 90% of your deliveries exactly as intended. But reality seems to suggest otherwise. To increase pace umesh varun n even Ishan't ends up bowling on leg stump..that's not intended tweaker 1
express bowling Posted June 25, 2016 Posted June 25, 2016 2 hours ago, sarchasm said: I have no idea how Bumrah managed to get himself slotted as a LoI bowler. I think his bowling is very well suited to tests, especially in India. His first class record pretty much speaks for itself. Exactly. Bumrah should have been picked for the WI series. tweaker 1
express bowling Posted June 25, 2016 Posted June 25, 2016 5 minutes ago, sarchasm said: Bumrah attacks the stumps the most among all the modern pacers I have seen bowl for India. Attacking the stumps was something that I noticed Pakistani pacers from the 90s did, and if I am not mistaken, their share of wickets from lbw and clean bowled is substantial. Variable bounce on subcontinental wickets makes it difficult for batsmen to face pacers who are always homing in at their stumps. Bumrah would definitely add much needed variety as well to Indian pace attack. Really needs to be brought within the Test fold along with Rajpoot. Bumrah has many qualities suited to a test pacer. - He combines accuracy with reasonable pace and bounce. - As you said...he is a very objective bowler and attacks the stumps. - Comes across as a pacer who bowls to a plan - Has the knack of picking wickets - Bowls a heavy ball, that is the ball comes on to the bat faster than the batsmen expects after pitching. - Has a good FC record. - Can swing and seam the ball I don't know how Thakur is selected ahead of Bumrah in test matches ! tweaker and Mosher 2
Vilander Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 13 hours ago, sarchasm said: I would prefer a pace attack of Ishant, Umesh and Bumrah. The latter brings a different threat dimension to the attack compared to someone like Shami. I would prefer ishant shami bumrah. tweaker 1
MK55 Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 Bumrah's has got this knack of picking up wickets through his variations and yorkers. Personally I wouldn't want him in tests. He's already been over utilized and though he's been taking wickets against ZIM, his pace has visibly dropped. I reckon he was bowling in the lower 130's on average. This certainly doesn't give me confidence that he'd be someone who would be able to bend his back in his third/fourth spell and bowl some match winning spells. For tests, I'd stick with Ishant, Umesh, Aaron and would like to bring in Rajpoot into the scheme of things. Not so sure about Shami as well. These bowlers are good enough and still have got room for improvement. Mosher and tweaker 2
MK55 Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 58 minutes ago, sarchasm said: If he's over utilized as you say, then the way forward is to cut down his LoI exposure, instead of depriving him of test opportunities. Fact is that he has already demonstrated his ability to consistently bend back in first class cricket, his record being better than many who have got test opportunities. It wouldn't be wise to limit his exposure to ODIs. I can understand if its against a team like Afghanistan/Zim. That is one format where he has been doing well and to restrict him at this early stage wouldn't make any sense. He's had a good run so far but hasn't even completed his first year yet. As I said before, when he first broke into the side, he used to bowl 137-143k on average. These days he's down into the lower 130s which isn't a good sign. I'd like to believe its due to the workload and hopefully a break would help him recover. tweaker 1
express bowling Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 (edited) 5 minutes ago, MK55 said: As I said before, when he first broke into the side, he used to bowl 137-143k on average. These days he's down into the lower 130s which isn't a good sign. I'd like to believe its due to the workload and hopefully a break would help him recover. Could this have anything to do with the Zim speedguns ? All the bowlers, were bowling slower than usual. Despite lower speed-gun readings , between 130 k and 140 k, Bumrah was visually hurrying the batsmen consistently and often getting steep bounce from short of good-length deliveries. Edited June 26, 2016 by express bowling tweaker 1
MK55 Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 32 minutes ago, express bowling said: Could this have anything to do with the Zim speedguns ? All the bowlers, were bowling slower than usual. Despite lower speed-gun readings , between 130 k and 140 k, Bumrah was visually hurrying the batsmen consistently and often getting steep bounce from short of good-length deliveries. I'm not sure it was a speed gun issue, probably it wasn't. He had been showing signs of speed degradation even in the later stages of the IPL. His awkward angle was definitely troubling the ZIm batters though as you said. tweaker 1
Lala Posted June 26, 2016 Posted June 26, 2016 Bumrah is an ordinary bowler and he thinks he is malinga. he can never ever be able to come closer to malinga. malinga is the master of death bowling and bumrah is just a student. tweaker 1
Lala Posted June 27, 2016 Posted June 27, 2016 (edited) 9 hours ago, Viper said: Lala bhai don't get jealous of our shohaib Akhtar teek hai ?? Jaa ja ke ande kaw.. lala ke pas bahut hai im not jealous about his performances, but he is still a new comer to cricket and dont compare ODI/T20 vs IPL where IPL is a league for a country specific and 4 international players are allowed play. I have seen many surprised indian packages comes in and out to the national side (Eg: Ishant sharma, shami, yadav, buvi,etc). He has long way to go bhai, still he is a student . Malinga is way higher than bhumrah, malinga has won many matches for his country, league team. How many times did MASTER Bumrah do for India?? You tell me bhai. Edited June 27, 2016 by Lala
tweaker Posted June 27, 2016 Posted June 27, 2016 13 hours ago, Lala said: Bumrah is an ordinary bowler and he thinks he is malinga. he can never ever be able to come closer to malinga. malinga is the master of death bowling and bumrah is just a student Bumrah has all the credentials to take over from Malinga.He can bowl above 140+ kmph speeds,is accurate,can bowl Yorkers at will.Most important,he has shown tremendous ability to learn new skills & implement it.In Zimbabwe tour,he tried to bowl a new ball..hold its line .ball. With more experience he will become more skilled & as he is just 22,he has lots of years ahead to improve his bowling,wheras Malinga is at fag end of his career,battling injuries Quote express bowling and sourab10forever 2
Lala Posted June 27, 2016 Posted June 27, 2016 Just now, tweaker said: Bumrah has all the credentials to take over from Malinga.He can bowl above 140+ kmph speeds,is accurate,can bowl Yorkers at will.Most important,he has shown tremendous ability to learn new skills & implement it.In Zimbabwe tour,he tried to bowl a new ball..hold its line .ball. With more experience he will become more skilled & as he is just 22,he has lots of years ahead to improve his bowling,wheras Malinga is at fag end of his career,battling injuries dont predict too much about him. similar treatments will receive soon like zahir khan,yadav, shami, ishant sharma, munaf, mohit, etc got. we are waiting . lets see how many years can master bumrah serve for his country.
beetle Posted June 27, 2016 Posted June 27, 2016 Lalaji....he is a young player. Usse dua do......ki uska future great ho. All we have to worry is that he doesn't get injured .We atleast don't have to worry about him chucking,taking drugs or betting . tweaker and Vilander 2
mishra Posted June 28, 2016 Posted June 28, 2016 28 minutes ago, Lala said: Does opposition or opposition batsman matters or taking Irish Pakistani and Zimbo wickets are same as getting wickets against top teams? tweaker 1
Vilander Posted June 28, 2016 Posted June 28, 2016 On 6/26/2016 at 7:40 AM, sarchasm said: Umesh proved his worth in the last series against SA. Umesh is also fitter and pacier. Shami has to prove himself all over again before he can stake a claim in the first eleven. If he's over utilized as you say, then the way forward is to cut down his LoI exposure, instead of depriving him of test opportunities. Fact is that he has already demonstrated his ability to consistently bend back in first class cricket, his record being better than many who have got test opportunities. i must admit i have not followed Umesh in recent tests, will take a look. But i remember fast down leg sides and short outside off getting bludgeoned, may be from some other time. And i am really squeezing my brain Umesh hits 138-148 (142 stock) in tests Shami 136 - 148 (140 stock ?) not too sure if there is much difference in pace between them..but remember Shami having a bit more control, by all means if Umesh has control he can bowl those unplayable deliveries( ponting dismissal in Aus) that i have not seen coming from Shami. tweaker 1
sourab10forever Posted June 28, 2016 Author Posted June 28, 2016 3 hours ago, Lala said: 1)Mustafizz bowls 1st change. Which means he does not bowl in powerplays. So his economy is bound to be higher. 2)Fizz has not played outside Asia. Bumrah proved himself in Australia as well.I Don't think his cutter will be as effective in australia as they are in the subcontinent. 3) Bumrah's impact has been huge. Al-amin hossian was better than Fizz this year. tweaker 1