zen Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 This thread is about 20th century Bollywood movies that you watched in 2016 (or later in a few weeks) and the movie still felt fresh. Below are some of the films that I recently checked out, in no particular order: Qurbani - still an enjoyable timepass paise vasool film. Probably one of the most stylishly shot Bollywood films Karma Jewel Thief - Many Dev Anand films have that timeless quality tweaker and Mariyam 2
Mariyam Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar DDLJ Mohra Deewar Mughal-e-Azam Naya Daur Andaz Apna Apna Chalta Purza Silsila Amar Akbar Anthony Dil Se Masoom And many many more that I could watch over and over again. zen and Cricketics 2
zen Posted November 21, 2016 Author Posted November 21, 2016 I watched Pakizah last yr so did not mention it .... But it is one of the evergreen films and probably a hard to make today There was Rajesh Khanna's Ittefaq as well which is a good time pass. I don't recall if I saw it in 2016. It mostly takes place in a room / house so does not appear to be dated
Mariyam Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 ^^ Aishwarya-Abhishek starrer Umrao Jaan was loosely on the lines of Pakeezah in terms of production and the plot was similar. Watch Chalta Purza. I think it is available on youtube. One of Rajesh Khanna's lesser known films but IMO one of the more enjoyable one among his body of work. tweaker, coffee_rules and zen 3
coffee_rules Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 Don't want to list Blockbusters, but DD had showed some of the old classics in a series (mid-afternoon movies on a Sunday!) Do Bigha Zameen Bandini Teesri Kasam Mother India MeA/Anarkali Ganga Jamuna Naya Daur Sahib Bibi aud Ghulam Pyaasa Kala Pani Guide Musafir (HrishikeshM's first movie) Mere Apne Achanak Anand Dastak (Sanjeev Kumar's) JBDY Izzajat AAA (70s and 90s) Masoom Ardh Satya Arjun (best 80s BB movie) Mirch Masala Parinda Droh Kaal Chasme Badoor Sparsh (NShah's best IMO) zen, Mariyam, tweaker and 1 other 4
coffee_rules Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 (edited) 44 minutes ago, zen said: I watched Pakizah last yr so did not mention it .... But it is one of the evergreen films and probably a hard to make today There was Rajesh Khanna's Ittefaq as well which is a good time pass. I don't recall if I saw it in 2016. It mostly takes place in a room / house so does not appear to be dated I was thoroughly disappointed with this movie. Having heard about the hype about not having any songs and shot in a house the entire movie, the acting was too dated. Maybe it was good at that time, but both RK and Nanda hammed it up thoroughly. It is not a repeat watch for me. I can watch Dewaar, AAA many times, the acting eventho over at times, it is not dated. In the same genre, Dhund has much better acting and Danny Dengzongpa is outstanding as a baddie. Watch it. Edited November 21, 2016 by coffee_rules
zen Posted November 21, 2016 Author Posted November 21, 2016 30 minutes ago, Mariyam said: ^^ Aishwarya-Abhishek starrer Umrao Jaan was loosely on the lines of Pakeezah in terms of production and the plot was similar. Watch Chalta Purza. I think it is available on youtube. One of Rajesh Khanna's lesser known films but IMO one of the more enjoyable one among his body of work. Talking about Rajesh Khanna films, I watched Chaila Babu recently. It is ok / appears good in parts now. But many of the songs are evergreen! It was one of his rare hits in the late 70s.
zen Posted November 21, 2016 Author Posted November 21, 2016 7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: I was thoroughly disappointed with this movie. Having heard about the hype about not having any songs and shot in a house the entire movie, the acting was too dated. Maybe it was good at that time, but both RK and Nanda hammed it up thoroughly. It is not a repeat watch for me. I can watch Dewaar, AAA many times, the acting eventho over at times, it is not dated. In the same genre, Dhund has much better acting and Danny Dengzongpa is outstanding as a baddie. Watch it. I agree that you could watch Ittefaq once in a while when you are in the mood for that kind of film. coffee_rules 1
Mariyam Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 (edited) @ coffee, I like your list. Have seen all those movies except for Achanak. Mother India was a remake of a movie called Aurat. Do watch it if you get the opportunity. I found the portrayal of village life/hardships and Birju's struggle with his own morality handled a lot more comprehensively in the original Aurat than in Mother India. A small portion of Aurat movie was shot in my grandmom's home. Garden actually. Edited November 21, 2016 by Mariyam coffee_rules 1
coffee_rules Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 35 minutes ago, Mariyam said: ^^ Aishwarya-Abhishek starrer Umrao Jaan was loosely on the lines of Pakeezah in terms of production and the plot was similar. Watch Chalta Purza. I think it is available on youtube. One of Rajesh Khanna's lesser known films but IMO one of the more enjoyable one among his body of work. I missed Muzaffar Ali's 80s classic - Umrao Jaan. Rekha's best ever acting. The millennial version is downright pale in comparison. Wish somebody like diminutive Vidya Balan or even Priyanka Chopra/Deepika Padukone would've done better justice. Another in my list is Garam Hawa (70s) - about Partition.
coffee_rules Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 7 minutes ago, Mariyam said: @ coffee, I like your list. Have seen all those movies except for Achanak. Mother India was a remake of a movie called Aurat. Do watch it if you get the opportunity. I found the portrayal of village life/hardships and Birju's struggle with his own morality handled a lot more comprehensively in the original Aurat than in Mother India. A small portion of Aurat movie was shot in my grandmom's home. Garden actually. Ok, great!. Weekend watchlist Aurat Chalia Babu and Chalta Purza ( I have never heard of this one..so much for a Indophile movie-buff)
Mariyam Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 Chalta Purza isn't serious cinema. Its more a crime-comedy ( never thought I'd hyphenate the two) tp watch. But tp it is.
zen Posted November 21, 2016 Author Posted November 21, 2016 25 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Ok, great!. Weekend watchlist Aurat Chalia Babu and Chalta Purza ( I have never heard of this one..so much for a Indophile movie-buff) You could watch Chaila Babu mainly for its songs. The movie is only good in parts unless you enjoy the 70s Hollywood crime TV shows.
tweaker Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 Do Aankhen Barah Hath ( V Shantaram) Boot Polish Saatya Company Jo jita wo sikandar Sadma Johny Gaddar Angur Choti si bath Golmaal (old) Andaaz apna apna coffee_rules, zen and Mariyam 3
FischerTal Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 (edited) Gunda jaani dusman rgv ki aag kambakht ishq ladies tailor Edited November 21, 2016 by FischerTal Laaloo, Tibarn and tweaker 3
Tibarn Posted November 21, 2016 Posted November 21, 2016 (edited) Sholay 47 minutes ago, FischerTal said: Gunda You win, close the thread Some epic dialogues from the GOAT movie: 1. Mera naam hai Bhulla, rakhta hu hamesha khulla 2. Tujhe banakar maut ke mooh ka nival, tere seene mein gaad doonga main maut ka bhala. 3. Pehle tere maathe par hai maut ka sehra sagne waal, phir meri gundagardi ka hai dunka bajne waala. 4. Itihaas badalne waale ka naa, kabhi itihaas mein nahin hota hai 5. Mera naam hai Pote, jo apne baap ke bhi nahi hote 6. Mera naam hai Chutiya, Achhon Achhon ki main khadi karta hoon Khatiya Edited November 21, 2016 by Tibarn
Cricketics Posted November 22, 2016 Posted November 22, 2016 13 hours ago, Mariyam said: And many many more that I could watch over and over again. Can you recommend me some good movies from last 2-4 years? I want to catch up on Indian movies. I always make it a point to do it and then end up slacking. I think I last watched Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara and after that may have watched few movies here and there.
Mariyam Posted November 22, 2016 Posted November 22, 2016 @Cricketics These are the movies I think you would like. Bajrangi Bhaijaan Badlapur Talvar Masaan Haider Humpty Sharma ki Dulhania Azhar Tanu weds Manu returns tweaker, Laaloo and Cricketics 3