Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 Quote His eyes transfixed on the television screen, left-arm seamer Thangarasu Natarajan was finding it surreal when the bids against his name zoomed up at a breakneck pace during the Indian Premier League auction. The little known 25-year-old's life changed in a matter of few minutes as Rs 10 lakh base price saw a quantum 30-time jump reaching Rs 3 crore with Virender Sehwag vigorously raising the pedal for Kings XI Punjab. Perhaps he remembered the days of hardships when his mother ran a street side stall and father worked as a daily wager at a garment factory. Then all of 20 years, one of the five children, was plying his trade at tennis ball games in his native Salem and dreaming to make it big. He eventually moved to Chennai where he played for the popular Jolly Rovers, a club which has fielded big names like R Ashwin and Murali Vijay. His big breakthrough came last year when he enjoyed a successful stint for Dindigul Dragons in the inaugural Tamil Nadu Premier League, attracting the attention of the IPL scouts. "It seems unreal. I never thought I would play in the Tamil Nadu Premier League, let alone the IPL. I am very thankful that it has happened," Natarajan's elation was palpable as he said. Natarajan recalls how TNPL gave him the much needed exposure. "There was a lot of pressure when I was picked to play in TNPL. But I am thankful to people like Ashwin, Vijay and L Balaji (TN bowling coach) who instilled the belief in me that I was good enough at the Ranji Trophy level. It was my dream to Ranji Trophy which has been fulfilled and now I look forward to meeting people in the IPL and learning from them," he said. Consistent performances for two years in Chennai club circles earned him a call-up to the Ranji Trophy 2015-2016. For his variation and the ability to land yorkers at will, he is now famously called 'Mustafizur Rahman' of Tamil Nadu. He will have Vijay for company in the Kings XI Punjab dressing room but is a tad sad about Mitchell Johnson not being with the franchise anymore. "Johnson is my role model and it will be great if I can meet him during the IPL," he said of the Australian, who has been picked by Mumbai Indians for the upcoming season. Besides rising through a humble background, a big on the field challenge Natarajan had to deal with was when he was reported for a suspected action, which had to be modified under the guidance of former Tamil Nadu spinner Sunil Subramaniam. http://www.rediff.com/cricket/report/daily-wagers-son-natarajan-from-tennis-ball-to-ipl-big-bucks/20170220.htm sscomp32, Forever Indian, Sidhoni and 2 others 5
Forever Indian Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 Hope he is given chances so that we can see what he has to offer. It will be a big elevation from TNPL to IPL, hope he develops his game further for it.
Pollack Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 At what speeds does he bowl? Any TNPL followers here?
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 Heard he comes from a really poor family. Just even for that reason him getting 3cr is just good and makes so much sense. Hopefully now he can also perform. Masquerade 1
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 2 minutes ago, Pollack said: At what speeds does he bowl? Any TNPL followers here? Haven't watched him a lot but here he is. He is definitely better than some of the o ther Indian seamers who play in Ranji. Not the best but pretty decent. tweaker 1
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 1 minute ago, laaloo said: TNPL What happened. There is Karnataka Premier league too. What's wrong.
Forever Indian Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 2 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: The action looks suspect. Doesn't look suspect to naked eye to me. He has a whippy action like Mustafizur. sscomp32, G_B_ and cowboysfan 3
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 5 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: The action looks suspect. Lol where does it look suspect to you? It is clean. Here, doctor saab tweaker, Sidhoni, sscomp32 and 1 other 4
Pollack Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 3 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: The action looks suspect. Yeah was about to say that.It still looks suspect. He isn't quick. He better be armed with variations.
G_B_ Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 hope he gets a proper run and does not just warm the bench. Sometimes I feel as a young talent better to goto a lesser team for less money and play games. So Kings 11 a good fit.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 20, 2017 Author Posted February 20, 2017 17 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Lol where does it look suspect to you? It is clean. Here, doctor saab Slow it down.There is a striaghtening.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 20, 2017 Author Posted February 20, 2017 19 minutes ago, Pollack said: Yeah was about to say that.It still looks suspect. He isn't quick. He better be armed with variations. That Elbow Band is a giveaway.
Laaloo Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 7 minutes ago, G_B_ said: hope he gets a proper run and does not just warm the bench. Sometimes I feel as a young talent better to goto a lesser team for less money and play games. So Kings 11 a good fit. Just keep them away from Mumbai Indians. Rasgulla 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 20, 2017 Author Posted February 20, 2017 Just now, laaloo said: Just keep them away from Mumbai Indians. I fear for Khajuroliya. @rkt.india
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 8 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Slow it down.There is a striaghtening. Your screen is upside down. Action is clean. Wonder what you watching. Sidhoni 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 20, 2017 Author Posted February 20, 2017 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: Your screen is upside down. Action is clean. Wonder what you watching. Can you give me the video link from where you posted that Gif?
Cricketics Posted February 20, 2017 Posted February 20, 2017 1 minute ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Can you give me the video link from where you posted that Gif? I posted the video above. It isntaken from the second ball from that video. Watch it for a minute.