What should be our bowling attack for June 4th against Pakistan ?

Our bowling attack (including Shami and Bumrah) should we go with?  

40 members have voted

1. 1. Our bowling attack (including Shami and Bumrah) should we go with?

• Bhuvi , Ashwin and Jadeja
    • Bhuvi ,Pandy and Jadeja
    • Bhuvi , Pandya and Ashwin
    • Pandya , Ashwin and Jadeja

2 minutes ago, MK55 said:

A fit Shami would have been my first choice. Even int the IPL he looked at least 5k down in pace and wasn't that incisive with the ball. It was always Rabada/Cummins who were entrusted to bowl the toughest overs.

Today, with the way he ran in, I don't think he's hundred percent.  NZ's dismal performance with the bat was more to do with their shot selection and lack of intent to compete. Even though Bumrah dint take wickets, he looked more penetrating than the rest. Would be interesting to see if Shami gets closer to full fitness in the next match. 

I'd go with Bumrah, BK and Yadav/Shami (will decide after the next warm-up) as the 3 pacers and Jadeja, Pandya.

I'm expecting the team management to include both Ashwin and Jadeja in the playing 11. If Pandya does well in the next game, one among BK/Shami might miss out, most probably Shami. 

YEs his runup has created doubts for me as well 

will have to look at next game and he has to be honest with team mngmt as well

1) first of all Ashwin is out of question. he isn't a odi batsman and unless we collapse for 50/5 in 15 overs, he can be expected to hit 70(90) kind of innings. other than that there is nothing useful we can expect from Ashwin with the bat. he is not exactly deadly with his kind of spin in England. SO NO ASHWIN.

2) bhuvi-bumrah-shami-jadeja is CONFIRMED

3) so there is only one spot left b/w PANDYA vs UMESH.

4) if we take Umesh we have a very long tail. our batsman will start hitting very late. forget the time when Raina used to start hitting at 35th over. if we play Umesh, our batsmen esp Dhoni will start hitting from 42-43rd overs onwards. our totals when we bat first will be underwhelming. but our bowling is superstrong if Umesh takes the 5th bowler spot.

5) if we take Pandya, then we got ourselves another hitter. he is not exactly ben stokes or Corey Anderson with the bat.. you can expect a 35(20) blitz from him, but you cannot expect a prolonged assault of 80(55) from hardik. but our bowling will be too weak. he hasn't bowled consistently in the IPL and the opposition will target him. Don't be surprised if he returns 10-0-80-0 kind of figures. and to add to our misery yuvi isn't in bowling form. All our batsmen are 1-dimensional. None of them bowl. Even Rohit Sharma can manage 3-4 overs at max. we will leak runs in the middle overs. 

so considering everything... I would want to promote Dhoni to no.4 and use yuvi at no.5 during the 35-50 overs for an assault at the end. the kind of role Raina has perfected. 

fall of wicket of these batsmen:  worst case - best case scenario:

Rohit - dhawan (1 - 25 overs range)

Kohli - dhoni (10 - 35 overs range)

anything more than upper range is bonus for the above batsmen..

yuvi - jadav - jadeja (30 - 50 overs range)

Bhuvi - Umesh - Shami - Bumrah (40 - 50 overs range)

Edited by Temujin Khaghan

Kohli and Rohit have to fire alternatively atleast. Kohli can't fire in every match. Rohit Sharma has to lend a Hand as Dhawan is a very limited player, if Dhawan enters into the 70s he will get out in sheer disbelief at his own ability. one negative point for us is Rohit Sharma's form sucked during the IPL and he did not train in the last week unlike Kohli... 

Rahane is another mental midget.

Dhoni is old and tired. 

yuvi is in the midst of a depression. 

jadav was utter flop in the IPL

our only ray of hope is that all our bowlers are in wicket taking form.

I can see us playing either Bhuvi + Bumrah + Shami + Jadeja + (Pandya, Jadhav & UV) OR Bhuvi + Bumrah + Jadeja + Ashwin + (Pandya, Jadhav & UV). 

Min three pace bowlers are required.

Rohit

Dhawan

Kohli

UV

MSD

Jadhav

Hardik/Jadeja

Jadeja/Ash

Bhuvi

Shami

Bumrah

For me, Ash sits out against Padosis unless we're playing on a slow wicket, which is highly doubtful. 

57 minutes ago, Temujin Khaghan said:

none of our batsmen are bowling partimers - like Steven smith 

none of our serious pacers (non hardik) are serious pinch hitters - like Faulkner

thats why Australia have such a good chance to win... 

Jadhav n yuvi has bowled more then smith ......smith hasnt bowled for long

Faulkner isnt even selected 

Wait stonis, henriques arent no morris with the ball so why are we so harsh on Pandya 

1 hour ago, Temujin Khaghan said:

3) so there is only one spot left b/w PANDYA vs UMESH

Umesh isnt reliable either, we all knw even umesh can leak runs heavily

Yes obv he is way better bowler then pandya but pandya bats also 

None of them bowl. Even Rohit Sharma can manage 3-4 overs at max. we will leak runs in the middle overs. 

Rohit sharma hasnt bowled in ages, giving him ball for 3-4 over will be suicide 

JAdhav n yuvi are better 

2) bhuvi-bumrah-shami-jadeja is CONFIRMED

Bhuvi isnt confirmed.......

Shami....his running has put some doubts, hope its just him holding back

Bumrah n jaddu are confirmed 

2 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

But the batting looks week , we dnt what will we get with yuvraj singh 

Dhoni isnt hitting the ball as well as few yrs ago 

Jadeja at 7........:facepalm:

We solely depend on top 3 

Bhuvi is must in Old eng swinging conditions, on these patta he can be rotated

What old swinging conditions ?

It's the same pitches that we faced in 2013.If the weather is helpful it will swing if it's clear skies ,it won't .

Nothing to do with pitch  conditions.

Wickets were just as flat last time toobut overseas conditions meant swing in the Pakistan , Srl and England games .

In the SA clear skies and we scored 300+ .Will be the same this tournament too.

Edited by BeautifulGame

none of our batsmen are bowling partimers - like Steven smith 

none of our serious pacers (non hardik) are serious pinch hitters - like Faulkner

thats why Australia have such a good chance to win... 

1.Yuvraj is million times superior part timer than Smith will ever be.

2.Faulkner isn't even part of the Aussie squad for Champions trophy.

5 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

What old swinging conditions ?

It's the same pitches that we faced in 2013.If the weather is helpful it will swing if it's clear skies ,it won't .

Nothing to do with conditions.Wickets were just as flat last time too.

I meant age old........

i have also always eng wkts are patta right from 2002 natwest series.......apart from few games were ull see weather play a part or may be early season pitches

Yup if weather helps it ll swing 

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Jadhav n yuvi has bowled more then smith ......smith hasnt bowled for long

Faulkner isnt even selected 

Wait stonis, henriques arent no morris with the ball so why are we so harsh on Pandya 

Umesh isnt reliable either, we all knw even umesh can leak runs heavily

Yes obv he is way better bowler then pandya but pandya bats also 

Rohit sharma hasnt bowled in ages, giving him ball for 3-4 over will be suicide 

JAdhav n yuvi are better 

Bhuvi isnt confirmed.......

Shami....his running has put some doubts, hope its just him holding back

Bumrah n jaddu are confirmed 

Says who ? You ? :rofl: 

1 hour ago, BeautifulGame said:

1.Yuvraj is million times superior part timer than Smith will ever be.

2.Faulkner isn't even part of the Aussie squad for Champions trophy.

point 2 is news to me

but point 1 ... uv is not bowling in CT I think.. if he bowls great but I don't think he is bowling. iam not speaking about entire career in my earlier point.

Weather is expected to remain sunny throughout the week with very lil chance of rain. Expecting a perfect batting track. So we wont need that much batting depth. Bowling needs to be strengthened as it will be a run fest.

so Ashwin ahead of Pandya

10 minutes ago, Temujin Khaghan said:

@Ankit_sharma03

bhuvi is confirmed. he has matured by leaps and bounds something Umesh hasn't managed to do as smoothly and shami just kept missing games. he is the only pace bowler with some brains and confidence in our lineup

Says who ? You ? :rofl: 

Who didnt even knew smith n rohit hasnt bowled in ages....apart from a over here n there

Who didnt even though before quotting faulkner that he wasnt even picked

Bowler with brain has a poorer record then umesh n shami.....

Umesh hasnt improved.....yea right he was the bowler of season. 

Yes bhuvi has improved, but yet to show in International cricket. IPL dekhna kum karo 

If todays match showed signs, pandya might share new ball with shami. Now before u say its my opinion i have written above ill play bhuvi against those pakistan hack batsman 

"Junaid bhai ka psychological pressure hai India pe":hehe:

"Hamare fast bowlers to hamesha se India ke batsmen ko tang karte hai":laugh1:

"Hamre bowlers ke paas swing hai aur wahab bhai ki pace hai":phehe:

"Junaid bhai ne India ko outclass kar diya tha":hysterical:

"Kohli humko seriously kyun nahi leta, wo bola it is just another match aur hum log toh isko sab se bada match bolte hai" :hysterical: