Tibarn Posted June 22, 2017 Posted June 22, 2017 1 hour ago, Vilander said: Ireland will be warmup one off test for England series. Afganistan can be same for India series ( played in their India home ground) simple. For top teams maybe, but I think low ranked teams like Windies and SL will have to give these guys 2-3 test series. We'll see all sorts of triple centuries by Lankans vs these pop-gun attacks.
Asim Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 Congrats to Both teams, Hopefully they will do muchhhh better than starting years of BD being Test team...
Zero_Unit Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 (edited) 2 hours ago, Tibarn said: More weak teams diluting the quality of Test cricket. How are they even going to afford hosting these Test matches. So few teams can even turn a profit from tests. At one point in time, we were a weak a$$ team too. Whats your point? .... BUT if it was upto me, i would maul this format of cricket and lock it in harry potter's chamber of secret. Edited June 23, 2017 by Zero_Unit Unstable Joe 1
Tibarn Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 17 minutes ago, Zero_Unit said: At one point in time, we were a weak a$$ team too. Whats your point? .... BUT if it was upto me, i would maul this format of cricket and lock it in harry potter's chamber of secret. Read the post you quoted and you would understand the point: The quality of the format would go down ( with more inadequate teams), and so few teams even make money from the format, these boards will undergo financial loses, which the India would have to subsidize.
Soorma_Bhopali Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 (edited) 16 hours ago, Sidhoni said: Great news Ireland might actually be tough to beat at home if they get back Morgan and Rankin Ranking already went back last year. It will be difficult for Morgan to go back now . He may do the same once he is a bit aged or dropped by England anytime. Graeme Smith , former SA captain, has dual Irish nationality. It may be a case where he turns out a'la Kepler Wessels for inaugural Irish test series. Edited June 23, 2017 by Soorma_Bhopali Sidhoni 1
Hyderabadi Tiger Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 17 hours ago, Tendu_10 said: bhai tumne jaida whiskey pi le hai. Afghanistan have one class player Rashid Khan. Rest of their team are average. They will carry on being minnows in ODIs n will be embarrassed in Test. Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk they will rise and become World Champions in 10 years if they keep siding with us
Tendu_10 Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 they will rise and become World Champions in 10 years if they keep siding with us I dont see this optimism. Afghans are improving but not Test class. I fear for them in this format. But yes BCCI should help them. Could be a good buffer against Pakistan. Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk Hyderabadi Tiger 1
Zero_Unit Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 15 hours ago, Tibarn said: Read the post you quoted and you would understand the point: The quality of the format would go down ( with more inadequate teams), and so few teams even make money from the format, these boards will undergo financial loses, which the India would have to subsidize. The quality of this format is not great now either way. If you don't include new teams, new nations won't improve. Like I said, this format needs to die out. 5 days for a match in the modern world, that's why this format makes no money. You have to be on welfare to watch a full match. Unstable Joe 1
Tibarn Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 39 minutes ago, Zero_Unit said: The quality of this format is not great now either way. If you don't include new teams, new nations won't improve. Like I said, this format needs to die out. 5 days for a match in the modern world, that's why this format makes no money. You have to be on welfare to watch a full match. I think the ICC should remove the requirement of playing Test Cricket for full member nations. If only Aus, Eng, SA, and Ind play Test Cricket, so be it. All the good Test matches are between those teams in the first place. The ICC needs to realize that T20s and ODIs are the way to expand the game further. We won't be able to grow the game if new countries are supposed to subsidize a loss-making format. Unstable Joe and Zero_Unit 2
Pollack Posted June 23, 2017 Posted June 23, 2017 Afghanis are talented. Mozhdah Jamalzadah(Afghan Singer) : Cover Ae Dil Hai Mushkil Talent + Beauty : More about beauty in below pics. Zero_Unit and LordPrabhzy 2
Texan Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 Good news. Test cricket needs to expand its horizon. However, I hope they don't end up playing Test cricket against each other. Those matches should be considered FC if they do. They should be playing against the more seasoned teams.