D Chahar- quick rise to first team

21 minutes ago, raki05 said:

I know yuzi gets lot of favor from kohli otherwise there's no way he gets selected every time when lone spinner needed.

Yuzi has perfomed really well , thats a captain choice....i dnt say it is biasness its just that kohli has capatined him for long so he has better trust on him. 

Ganguly use to select bhajji over kumble n it raised many eyebrows. A captain will trust some players more then other ...human nature hai 

Even ill choose kuldeep over chahal but wo mera choice hai kohli ka nhin, 

Kuldeep is much better than Yuzi and yuzi starts loosing when batter go after him. That's what we are highlighting if player with potential and performance in domestic getting selected no issues, but if they get select only because captain have some unknown liking for him because they play for same franchise.

Every captain will have certain liking for some players nothing to do with franchise

Rahul also played For RCB yet has gotten the rough treatment

Siraj is in RCB, yet not backed 

Dhoni had vijay also in 2013CT but yet when it came to a choice btw him n rohit to choose as opener for CT it was rohit ( and both failed in practice games)

If u or anyone is a captain, u knw u have the select the best team acc ( now that cannot be best acc to others) coz if u dnt win u dnt remain captain. So whenever i hear captain playing politics i dnt buy it

For me if kohli chooses rohit over rahane in test , its not becoz of bunty its becoz he has poor choices 

This accusation of partiality will never end with any captain, but in reality every captain has favs but thats coz they trust them more

Rajput, Rahul, Pant they all showcased talent why they are not getting at all or getting consistent chance even in t20. 

thats why we call kohli a clueless captain but nothing to do with franchise. All play for Diff franchise

Infact this good IPL has also helped rahul, whereas before this IPL even he was not selected for LOI squads regularly 

4 hours ago, rkt.india said:

First thing, Chahar is not selected just based on IPL. Second, this was not his first IPL, this was his 3rd.  Third Bumrah debuted in IPL at 19, while Chahar is 25 at this point. Last time, a 19-year-old fast bowler debuted for India was Unadkat and you already know how it went. Fourth, Chahar has also done well in short forms in domestic cricket and made his FC debut in 2010 if I remember at an 18 year old.  What has Sundar done for TN? please take a look at his record. There is nothing great about it. He was purley picked based on IPL.

chahar first class stats is mediocre he might have debut in 2010 and this is first time he got full fledged opportunity in Ipl where he played most of the matches. Regarding Bumrah and unadkat ,person who rarely watch cricket can say who has potential to succeed in internationals. How many person u saw objecting Bumrah debuted in any format, people even ask for him in test. Whereas you can't say the same for unadkat that's the reason most of us objected while he got in to team after his 17 Ipl exploit. Bowler like bumrah are rare who started performing from start of his career can u see the same uniqueness in chahar as we have many swing bowler like him in past who came and vanished, if he comes good with time better for India but he is not that different than other swing bowlers who debut before him. Regarding Sundar he got in to the team because we needed a spin bowling all-rounder in jadejas place.

13 hours ago, G_B_ said:

based on this outing looked rather ordinary say compared to Sid Kaul.

Those quoting numbers in domestics should note Vinny Kumar has amazing domestic numbers in the ranjis

Geebz, No one is saying domestics are a fool proof way of assuring that you pick the right player all the time. If that were the case, we wouldn't need selectors, instead PWC would be picking national squads. But domestics are one of the strongest predictors for success in International cricket. Yes it won't work every time and global impression of experts is key but to disregard it to the point where inferior performance in domestics is rewarded or instead giving IPL performance greater presidence is a sure fire way of ending up with players like Richard Levi in your national side. 

Edited by mancalledsting
On 7/9/2018 at 2:44 AM, Pollack said:

Bhuvi, a swing bowler, who has now become a top class bowler with yorkers and other variations still struggles when pitch has nothing in it. This guy just has swing. Nothing else.How will he survive? Why waste time?

Valid point but bhai just one game. And came in as injury replacement. Won't get any game with everyone fit. And you will never know how someone is unless you try them. 

52 minutes ago, UnknownGenius said:

Selectors made a good choice. When two.players have similar stats, you go with the one that has winning mentality and won a major trophy recently

So while rajpoot and Chahar had good ipls and even if you say rajpoot performed better in bowling, Chahar is better batsmann, fielder and above all he is a winner And knows what it takes to win at highest level

Once you get to the highest level, mental aspect of the game is important and those with winning mentality will always stay calm under pressure

That is why even thakur is good selection and Rayudu too. I'd like kedhar jadhav to make a comeback and show us what he learnt from winning major trophy  

Abe itni khatarnak soch,taaliyaa:cheer:

1 hour ago, UnknownGenius said:

Selectors made a good choice. When two.players have similar stats, you go with the one that has winning mentality and won a major trophy recently

So while rajpoot and Chahar had good ipls and even if you say rajpoot performed better in bowling, Chahar is better batsmann, fielder and above all he is a winner And knows what it takes to win at highest level

Once you get to the highest level, mental aspect of the game is important and those with winning mentality will always stay calm under pressure

That is why even thakur is good selection and Rayudu too. I'd like kedhar jadhav to make a comeback and show us what he learnt from winning major trophy  

You missed Bhajji.

He won like 4 'major trophies' in the last 6 years. Such winning mentality.

Rohit captained his team to 3 major trophies should be kicked out of the team.

2 hours ago, UnknownGenius said:

Bhajji is old, not even a regular.

Chahar and thakur were regulars. Jadhav tortured England last time they played with some sciintillating innings

Rohit couldn't even make the playoffs :hysterical:  

Bhajji played 13 matches. Chahar and Thakur played as many or less.

Kedhar Jadhav played 1 game for CSK this season :hysterical:

He played 13 for RCB last year which finished near the bottom.

Rohit is a regular in Indian cricket team which is one of the best performing ODI teams in the last couple of years. He also captained MI to 3 titles in the last 6 years. Not enough winning mentality?