Ankit_sharma03 Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 1 hour ago, putrevus said: I never said Rahul is not good in T20s. Chacha u have justified enough times dropping of Rahul in t20s On 9/26/2019 at 8:15 PM, putrevus said: Just becuase you think Rahul needs to be in T20 team he does not get in Dhawan has delivered them lot more than what Rahul has done for their backing.So they are going to stick with him in T20s too. pehle example On 11/5/2019 at 6:16 PM, putrevus said: I am also talking about T20s.You are just assuming that rahul somehow will magically appear in t20s and start performing. and he has magically performed On 11/5/2019 at 6:36 PM, putrevus said: Calling some one most successful T20 opener for India after 14 matches as an opener is ridiculous Rahul has zero hundreds as an opener. Stop with that nonsensical theory that TM is changing and choping as it does not apply to Rahul. even kohli doesnt have a single 100 in t20 and Rahul has 2 On 9/27/2019 at 1:54 AM, putrevus said: It is totally on Rahul.I don't care how many T20 100s he has, there are other players who when given a chance like Rahul got would have cemented their place in the team. really so how many ended up having a record like rahul in t20
zen Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Kabhi player with flair chahiye Jab wo mile To consistent with reliable player chahaiye Kya mazaak hai yaar. 2-3 matches men kab se pakke pakkaye player milne lage. Rohit is an ATG his maturity took almost 100 games. Even dhoni took 4-5 games. Kohli konsa aate hi sayaana tha. Have your ever experienced the pain of watching the ball go in the air and wondering if it will be out. In fact, everytime a ball is hit in the air, my initial reaction is that it is out. And that feeling makes me sweat profusely. Even in power plays, you have to be prudent as what if a wicket falls. And, if a wicket falls, what if another falls? Today, bowlers do not bowl bad balls so if you try to hit good ones, you get out. People have even got out hitting full tosses so how can any sensible batsman try to hit a good ball? Just that thought makes me nervous. Watching cricket should be a less dangerous but more enjoyable experience. Imagine the wonderful situation, where balls are played along the carpet. No wkts are lost (though Ind should pick wkts when it bowls). Good balls are milked for singles. The occasional bad balls get dispatched away with minimum risk by hitting the ball in the gap. I do that in video games and trust me it works. Chances should only taken if absolutely needed and that too in the last few overs so even if a wkt falls it does not matter. ideally, openers should try to play the full quota of overs so there is no tension in the dressing room. Fans can bloom too. Remember, fans invest so much time and energy into watching cricket. At least they deserve an eventless and straightforward win!
Ankit_sharma03 Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 3 minutes ago, express bowling said: It won't be easy to find another Kohli, Smith Williamson type player who has game sense. We dont want another kohli williamson smith.....we already have anchor now we need another approach. Game sense only comes with playing more games, most of these youngsters are already playing under insecurity
Global.Baba Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 (edited) 5 minutes ago, zen said: Have your ever experienced the pain of watching the ball go in the air and wondering if it will be out. In fact, everytime a ball is hit in the air, my initial reaction is that it is out. And that feeling makes me sweat profusely. Even in power plays, you have to be prudent as what if a wicket falls. And, if a wicket falls, what if another falls? Today, bowlers do not bowl bad balls so if you try to hit good ones, you get out. People have even got out hitting full tosses so how can any sensible batsman try to hit a good ball? Just that thought makes me nervous. Watching cricket should be a less dangerous but more enjoyable experience. Imagine the wonderful situation, where balls are played along the carpet. No wkts are lost (though Ind should pick wkts when it bowls). Good balls are milked for singles. The occasional bad balls get dispatched away with minimum risk by hitting the ball in the gap. I do that in video games and trust me it works. Chances should only taken if absolutely needed and that too in the last few overs so even if a wkt falls it does not matter. ideally, openers should try to play the full quota of overs so there is no tension in the dressing room. Fans can bloom too. Remember, fans invest so much time and energy into watching cricket. At least they deserve an eventless and straightforward win! Sounds like Harsh Thakor’s flowery description of a Majid Khan classic Edited January 31, 2020 by Global.Baba
zen Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 1 minute ago, Global.Baba said: Sounds like Harsh Thakor’s flowery description of a Majid Khan classic Y'day, I saw some kids playing cricket. The batsman hit a big shot. Immediately, I walked up to him to caution that what if the ball hit someone or someone's car? You need to play it along the ground. Hitting the ball in air creates dangerous situations.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 1 hour ago, ShoonyaSifar said: FFS Samson was playing his 3rd T20! Took a risk, didn't pay off. Happens in T20s. ppl talk as if all these great players didnt make these mistakes in their time
zen Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 (edited) A guide for every Indian batsman: A batsman's job is to score 100s. To score 100s, you have to be at crease. To be at crease, you have to minimize your risk (irrespective of the format as batting is afterall batting) To minimize your risk, you have to not hit the ball in air and avoid risky singles. Simple math: Say you hit 6 1 0 1 4 0. How much risk you took to score 12 runs? You could have got out at least twice, and then those dots could have been chances too if you slogged and missed. In video games, I can do that with 2 2 2 2 2 2 w/o even hitting the ball in air. In fact, I am not even pressured to complete the second run. And that's how you play mature cricket. Like common sense, unfortunately, maturity is not common too. PS this is like watching and enjoying a classic like Pakeezah, which most folks never understand. You guys want to flock to see an action thriller, and appreciate hacks on cricket field. Mature audiences prefer Pakeezah, where even the scene with most action was performed subtly and with class like hitting a straight drive along the ground and making the fielder run all the way to the boundary. Much like my formula for mature batting! Edited January 31, 2020 by zen
The Realist Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 Don't think Samson will ever cut it st international level. Nothing in his game stands out, what exactly are his strengths? He's never been that impressive in IPL either. Need to start giving chances to the next wave of younger players ala Shaw, Gill.
zen Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 My blood boils when people support hacks like Pant, aaj ka chokra, and that too over Dhoni, a loyal servant of Indian cricket See how mature Dhoni was when he played the end overs vs. AFG in WC19. And that even created a star out of Shami as he had to push himself to get a hattrick. That is how you motivate the players to perform at their best. Adamant, Ajju and Trichromatic 2 1
vvvslaxman Posted January 31, 2020 Author Posted January 31, 2020 1 hour ago, express bowling said: Is there any young batsman, who has started playing international cricket in the last 5 years, who is averaging 45+ in test cricket after 20 tests ?? Most batsmen who have learnt their cricket in the T20 era, lack game sense. They just play the way they play and are not bothered about the match situation. It won't be easy to find another Kohli, Smith Williamson type player who has game sense. My issue is Shot selection. I think they have to revisit this guy Sarfraz Khan now that he is realizing his potential now. He has the ability to rotate strike and also play big shots. Sanju has to improve his shot selection. With guys like Gill, Shaw around Sanju better make use of every single opportunity.
cowboysfan Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 young players have not cemented their place in recent times,almost of all them have fallen on their faces and have been replaced by a hasbeen.
vvvslaxman Posted January 31, 2020 Author Posted January 31, 2020 29 minutes ago, cowboysfan said: young players have not cemented their place in recent times,almost of all them have fallen on their faces and have been replaced by a hasbeen. Kohli came into the side at the right time.Now we have 2 batches of under-19 still waiting. 3rd batch is also producing players. Jaiswal looks like a real deal with potential to become a good test batsman. His leaves are really good.
SRT100 Posted January 31, 2020 Posted January 31, 2020 6 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: It was shocking to see the slog that got Samson out. Got out exactly the same way last time. This guy has been around for so many years in the IPL. Played under various scenarios. Got all the exposure he needed. Yet played a brainless hoick without even judging the length of the ball. Dubey this is like 3 or 4th time attempting same shot and holing out. No timing. No power. Just a weak slog. India has to pick players who reacts to the ball rather than someone who play fancy pre-meditated shots. There is no concept like backfoot for Sanju. It is applicable for Pant as well with all those half balanced hoicks. If India wants consistent and reliable batsmen they need to back proper batsmen who can react well not players with slogging mentality. Pant who has scored blue chip quality centuries in Australia and England, by very definition knows how to play good cricket shots and knows when to attack and when to defend. I would like to see him been given the role to anchor and innings in a ODI and from there let his confidence build. His confidence is broken at the moment. He is a shell of the player that can be. In fact, he has proven to better batsmen than most Indians in test cricket overseas in SENA conditions.
vvvslaxman Posted February 1, 2020 Author Posted February 1, 2020 15 minutes ago, SRT100 said: Pant who has scored blue chip quality centuries in Australia and England, by very definition knows how to play good cricket shots and knows when to attack and when to defend. I would like to see him been given the role to anchor and innings in a ODI and from there let his confidence build. His confidence is broken at the moment. He is a shell of the player that can be. In fact, he has proven to better batsmen than most Indians in test cricket overseas in SENA conditions. Looks like we are going to use those two centuries as a reference for the rest of his life and extrapolate his future. Sure he played that series well. Beyond expectations. You have to keep certain factors in mind. Yasir Shah looked a ease as well once the ball got old. So was Jadeja. So was Rizwan. Pujara already ground them to dust when Jadeja and Pant put on a 200 runs partnership. I have no issues with him playing Tests. Should have never been dropped. But in LOI he has to realize Indian tail is so weak that he will have to play dual role more often than not. Building an innings, accelerating. That brainless hoick in the world cup was atrocious. If he doesn't keep India will have to go with a specialist batsman like Subhman Gill. He can play only as a keeper. Not good enough to play as a pure batsman with his fielding skills and short fuse batting style.