Lack of maturity from the youngsters

vvvslaxman

It was shocking to see the slog that got Samson out. Got out exactly the same way last time. This guy has been around for so many years in the IPL. Played under various scenarios. Got all the exposure he needed. Yet played a brainless hoick without even judging the length of the ball.  Dubey this is like 3 or 4th time attempting same shot and holing out.  No timing. No power. Just a weak slog.  India has to pick players who reacts to the ball rather than someone who play fancy pre-meditated shots.  There is no concept like backfoot for Sanju.  It is applicable for Pant as well with all those half balanced hoicks.  If India wants consistent and reliable batsmen they need to back proper batsmen who can react well not players with slogging mentality. 

Edited by vvvslaxman
9 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

It was shocking to see the slog that got Samson out. Got out exactly the same way last time. This guy has been around for so many years in the IPL. Played under various scenarios. Got all the exposure he needed. Yet played a brainless hoick without even judging the length of the ball.  Dubey this is like 3 or 4th time attempting same shot and holing out.  No timing. No power. Just a weak slog.  India has to pick players who reacts to the ball rather than someone who play fancy pre-meditated shots.  There is no concept like backfoot for Sanju.  It is applicable for Pant as well with all those half balanced hoicks.  If India wants consistent and reliable batsmen they need to back proper batsmen who can react well not players with slogging mentality. 

Question is people are making leaps that every tom dick and harry who scores some runs in IPL is of international class.Samson/Dubey might have hit few knocks in IPL and domestic circuit but can they consistently hit international bowlers.

Pant is different, he will get better. He will end up as one of best wk batsmen he just needs to relax and work on few minor things.

22 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Question is people are making leaps that every tom dick and harry who scores some runs in IPL is of international class.Samson/Dubey might have hit few knocks in IPL and domestic circuit but can they consistently hit international bowlers.

Pant is different, he will get better. He will end up as one of best wk batsmen he just needs to relax and work on few minor things.

Now that you have cursed Samson and Dube, totally expect them to turn around their performances. Just a few days back, you were repeating this same nonsense for Rahul as well.

i was more angry with dube..no game sense...in wellington longest boundaries are straight and u are trying to hit against the spin in this windy weather when your team is 5 down..that reeks of carelessness..he had hit couple of boundaries could have easily rotated the strike till 15th over before attempting a shot..thats what hurts that no game awareness..you have so much analytics these days etc but lack common sense

Edited by neel roy
4 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

FFS Samson was playing his 3rd T20! Took a risk, didn't pay off. Happens in T20s. 

3rd T20 against a substandard bowling attack in a dead rubber. We are talking about common sense not any kind  cricketing wizardry.  You learn common sense in the IPL itself.

34 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

I don't think people realize pressure on a fringe player who knows who will never be in playing xi just trying to hang on to one of squads 15th spot

We cannot blame everything on pressure.  He has done it twice in a row. There is no concept of rotating the strike. Kohli despite having a top gear didn't play like a brainless hack in the 4th ball. He bunted and took 2 runs. This is common sense. You just hit a six of a half volley. Wait until the next bad balls comes instead of trying to convert a back of length ball into a full ball.

33 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

I don't think people realize pressure on a fringe player who knows who will never be in playing xi just trying to hang on to one of squads 15th spot

Does not matter if a player is fringe or experienced. Everytime the ball goes in air, my heart is in my mouth. And if Ind loses, I cry. So to avoid that I want everyone to play risk free cricket in every format and Ind to win every game :p:

Arre bhai thoda dheera se maaro 

4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

3rd T20 against a substandard bowling attack in a dead rubber. We are talking about common sense not any kind  cricketing wizardry.  You learn common sense in the IPL itself.

Aggressive players play by their natural instinct. Good teams and good leaders nurture players with those aggressive instincts rather than asking for common sense and maturity (whatever it means).

If you need robots, we have plenty of them, reason why we haven't won a T20 WC since the inaugural one in 2007 (which no one took seriously)

^ what kind of slogger is this^ .... and that too when two wkts are down .... my heart cannot take such things anymore :om: 

Below is piece of mind batting:

:dance:

11 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Now that you have cursed Samson and Dube, totally expect them to turn around their performances. Just a few days back, you were repeating this same nonsense for Rahul as well.

You are talking nonsense and making a  leap that every tom and dick and harry can score runs in international cricket.

I never said Rahul is not good in T20s. I still say Rahul is not  good in odis and tests.Doing well in one format does not automatically means they will do well in all formats.Stop talking nonsense first and first understand the game.

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Aggressive players play by their natural instinct. Good teams and good leaders nurture players with those aggressive instincts rather than asking for common sense and maturity (whatever it means).

If you need robots, we have plenty of them, reason why we haven't won a T20 WC since the inaugural one in 2007 (which no one took seriously)

Aggressive players play shots according to the length of the ball. KL Rahul is a classic example. He can ramp you over third man for six or inside out over extra cover for six or straight drive you for six or slog over midwicket for six or pull over square leg for six. You cannot play one shot against all  balls. No wonder he has  a poor List A record.  All good stroke players have the ability to play all around the wicket.  Worst case they can tap for a single or two. They know which ball should be given respect.   Iyer in that regard is much better he has more than 3 or 4 areas where he targets. 

2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Aggressive players play shots according to the length of the ball. KL Rahul is a classic example. He can ramp you over third man for six or inside out over extra cover for six or straight drive you for six or slog over midwicket for six or pull over square leg for six. You cannot play one shot against all  balls. No wonder he has  a poor List A record.  All good stroke players have the ability to play all around the wicket.  Worst case they can tap for a single or two. They know which ball should be given respect.   Iyer in that regard is much better he has more than 3 or 4 areas where he targets. 

Did Rahul or Ieyr start scoring runs from their very 1st T20? Took them time to settle down, as do so many other young players.

Trying to hit 6s is not a crime in T20s. We don't need too many common sense accumulators who target an avg of 35-40 at a SR of 130. We need six hitters who average 25-30 but have a SR of 150-160

3 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Did Rahul or Ieyr start scoring runs from their very 1st T20? Took them time to settle down, as do so many other young players.

Trying to hit 6s is not a crime in T20s. We don't need too many common sense accumulators who target an avg of 35-40 at a SR of 130. We need six hitters who average 25-30 but have a SR of 150-160

lol then why do you want Sanju samson. His strike rate is like DHonis. 126.  in the 3 international is it 106.  First class average 37. List A average 30. Dinesh karthik international T20 average 33, strike rate 143.   Pant averages 20 at a strike rate of 121 in the international. So clearly Karthik is a better choice than these guys. Not that i want him. He is a mental midget. Just that we are thinking these guys are 150-160 strike rate guys . They are not. They hit a couple of sixes followed by 4 or 5 dots.  

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

lol then why do you want Sanju samson. His strike rate is like DHonis. 126.  in the 3 international is it 106.  First class average 37. List A average 30. Dinesh karthik international T20 average 33, strike rate 143.   Pant averages 20 at a strike rate of 121 in the international. So clearly Karthik is a better choice than these guys. Not that i want him. He is a mental midget. Just that we are thinking these guys are 150-160 strike rate guys . They are not. They hit a couple of sixes followed by 4 or 5 dots.  

Scratch those numbers a little bit Samson has a SR of 140+ in last 3 IPLs and hit a 200 recently which is why he is in the reckoning, Pant's IPL SR is 160+, plus has fastest T20 and LOI 100s for an Indian batsmen

And no I don't want a 35 yr old DK. Had his chances for 15 years, never took them. Time to move on (same with Dhoni, Saha, Parthiv)

5 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Scratch those numbers a little bit Samson has a SR of 140+ in last 3 IPLs and hit a 200 recently which is why he is in the reckoning, Pant's IPL SR is 160+, plus has fastest T20 and LOI 100s for an Indian batsmen

And no I don't want a 35 yr old DK. Had his chances for 15 years, never took them. Time to move on (same with Dhoni, Saha, Parthiv)

Today Iyer got out. But he didn't exactly slog. It was just a good ball that stood up. or Rahul who absolutely smoked the ball. Those are not false shots.  But these guys play false shots far too often. Your consistency depends how less false shots you play.  If you are limited in your stroke play your false shot rate goes higher.  Only reason guys like Thakur are playing because of the unreliable middle order. Pant probably could fine tune and do slightly better. But no hope in Samson and Dubey.

Edited by vvvslaxman

Kabhi player with flair chahiye 

Jab wo mile

To consistent with reliable player chahaiye 

Kya mazaak hai yaar.

2-3 matches men kab se pakke pakkaye player milne lage. Rohit is an ATG his maturity took almost 100 games. Even dhoni took 4-5 games. Kohli konsa aate hi sayaana tha. 

Is there any young batsman, who has started playing international cricket in the last 5 years, who is averaging 45+ in test cricket after 20 tests  ??

Most batsmen who have learnt their cricket in the T20 era, lack game sense.  They just play the way they play and are not bothered about the match situation.

It won't be easy to find another Kohli, Smith Williamson type player who has game sense.