sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 38 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: Those are interpretations of my When you start touting your "interpretations" authoritatively, especially tenous ones, you end up in unkil territory. Bhai, anyway, let's not waste mental energy arguing. We are all ultimately on the same page.
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 25 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Bhai, 'tu' kahan tha meri vaakya mein? "Apni kahani batane aaya tha ya USA aur India ki bekaar ki comparison ke behas karne aaya tha?" Ok, I should have replaced tha, with 'the'. Ok, pardon my Hindi prowess for being a south Indian. In any case, you are still here to argue with your big ego. USA ki vaat lagi hain. I don't think it is the supply chain issue. It is panic, and how much ever they supply, people panicing are lining up to buy whatever they can hoard. I read about a guy who hoarded 17000 sanitzer bottles and is now selling ot 50 times the price on craigslist. I checked out a guy who is selling 6 bath tissue rolls for $40. In India, there are a lot of mom and pop, kaaka, kirana stores by the roadside, where you can get things in short notice. No such luck in USA. They are rationaing 4 rolls per person now. Not 4 packages, 4 individual rolls. This is in NY area. You can imagine, how it will get worse in remote areas. This is better, thank you. This is what I wanted to read from my thread when I started it, Personal experiences, no judgment. And you've written some great stuff. 40 bucks for 6 rolls? F*ck me running.
coffee_rules Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 27 minutes ago, sandeep said: I love curd rice. That spicy red pickle they serve with it in restaurants - is that something we can buy bottled? Any brand and specific flavor type suggestions would be welcome. Priyems (the one that sells Dosa batter) lime pickle is awesome, tastes like the restaurant style. What they serve in restaurants is Instant Hot pickle. There are recipes online for Home-made restaurant style pickles with no preservatives . Otherwise Priya or "Brahmin's" has pretty good home-made pickle taste. Yes, there is a Kerala Gelf brand called "Brahmin's"! I tried their Gooseberry (Nellikai) pickle recently. It was pretty good on curd rice. I like Bedekar's pickles too. They have preservatives, but also doles of green chillies in their Mango/Lime pickles. Edited March 20, 2020 by coffee_rules sandeep 1
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 5 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Priyems (the one that sells Dosa batter) lime pickle is awesome, tastes like the restaurant style. What they serve in restaurants is Instant Hot pickle. There are recipe's online for Home-made restaurant style pickles with no preservatives . Otherwise Priya or "Brahmin's" has pretty good home-made pickle taste. Yes, there is a Kerala Gelf brand called "Brahmin's"! I tried their Gooseberry (Nellikai) pickle recently. It was pretty good on curd rice. I like Bedekar's pickles too. They have preservatives, but also doles of green chillies in their Mango/Lime pickles. Thanks Coffee bhai. Also if you have a 'good' recipe for curd rice online, point me to it. My wife is a 'recipe' cook, and she can't handle spicy, so her couple of attempts to make at home have been ok-ok.
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 18 minutes ago, sandeep said: When you start touting your "interpretations" authoritatively, especially tenous ones, you end up in unkil territory. Bhai, anyway, let's not waste mental energy arguing. We are all ultimately on the same page. I like how you cut my sentences to prove your point. I'm surprised you didn't insert more blah blah into my quote. My interpretations are closer to reality. Is it authoritative. maybe but it damn sure aint tenuous. When push comes to shove, americans will step on each other to find what they find valuable. This is a country that lines up for black friday sales and even rushed into walmart one season and ended up killing a worker just because they wanted the new iphone or whatever it is they wanted. Do you seriously think they will act civilized when there is a pandemic at large and there is the last toilet paper spotted in the mall. No we are not on the same page not by a long shot
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 23 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: When push comes to shove, americans will step on each other to find what they find valuable. That's human nature. And elite entitlement and mob mentality can be 1000x worse in the motherland. This is the country where moviestars get away after murdering homeless people with their car. A country whose tourists go and steal soap and soapboxes from hotels. And "riot" at the drop of a hat. See how easy it is to make tenuous judgements from anecdotes? yeah we are not on the same page on quite a few things, and I'm glad that's the case.
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 7 minutes ago, sandeep said: That's human nature. And elite entitlement and mob mentality can be 1000x worse in the motherland. This is the country where moviestars get away after murdering homeless people with their car. A country whose tourists go and steal soap and soapboxes from hotels. And "riot" at the drop of a hat. See how easy it is to make tenuous judgements from anecdotes? yeah we are not on the same page on quite a few things, and I'm glad that's the case. The materialistic mob killing that walmart employee is not an anecdote. My friend taking pics of empty shelves in not an anecdote. How can they be tenuous? This is where you just type without thinking. You are comparing movie stars with common people. Mob mentality is known here. But also the getting together in times of disaster should also be highlighted. But you went blah blah on that one. So no point arguing with you there.
maniac Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 I am concerned for my parents in india for sure. 1.They are in the demographic that is at high risk from the virus 2. For time being there is domestic help but they won’t be available soon due to the whole quarantine situation that would also become a huge issue If this carries on. Thankfully there is family around but still the longer this goes on this would become a huge problem for people in that demographic.
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 3 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: . Mob mentality is known here. But also the getting together in times of disaster should also be highlighted. But you went blah blah on that one. So no point arguing with you there. I have lived in NY area during and after 9/11. It was amazing to see how the Americans rallied around their country, how many random people who were not rich, made major donations. This country has a long-standing tradition of volunteer firefighters and paramedics. That's not an anecdote either. I personally know a couple of guys - I'm talking upper middle class white collar manager type folks, who dropped everything and volunteered in lower manhattan. Point is, people are people - broad spectrum of good, bad and ugly. If you wish to inhabit the alternate reality where Indians are somehow "nicer" or better than Americans, that's your choice. But it is tenuous, anecdotal, and outright false in some aspects. coffee_rules 1
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 2 minutes ago, sandeep said: I have lived in NY area during and after 9/11. It was amazing to see how the Americans rallied around their country, how many random people who were not rich, made major donations. This country has a long-standing tradition of volunteer firefighters and paramedics. That's not an anecdote either. I personally know a couple of guys - I'm talking upper middle class white collar manager type folks, who dropped everything and volunteered in lower manhattan. Point is, people are people - broad spectrum of good, bad and ugly. If you wish to inhabit the alternate reality where Indians are somehow "nicer" or better than Americans, that's your choice. But it is tenuous, anecdotal, and outright false in some aspects. There is the "unkil" in you popping out. How did you make that judgement? Never said americans are bad people. I have also highlighted the bad behavior of Indians. They are from a different culture. And what is your fascination with the word tenuous. Did you score high marks in the GRE Did you or your close friends witnessed the post 9/11 american rally for their country. Otherwise its an anecdote. Maybe with your high marks in the GRE, you can finally recollect what anecdote actually means
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 1 minute ago, Real McCoy said: There is the "unkil" in you popping out. How did you make that judgement? Never said americans are bad people. I have also highlighted the bad behavior of Indians. They are from a different culture. And what is your fascination with the word tenuous. Did you score high marks in the GRE Did you or your close friends witnessed the post 9/11 american rally for their country. Otherwise its an anecdote. Maybe with your high marks in the GRE, you can finally recollect what anecdote actually means I reused 'tenuous' since it seems to rub you the wrong way - seems like it worked just as expected, unkil.
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 Lucknow went a bit crazy today. Check it out for yourself. And kindly don't accuse me of 'creating panic', I wasn't there. But my in laws are and they're both above 75. sandeep and maniac 2
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 34 minutes ago, sandeep said: I reused 'tenuous' since it seems to rub you the wrong way - seems like it worked just as expected, unkil. It didn't but if that's your way of conceding defeat, that's fine with me unkil sandeep 1
maniac Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 Can people list out things that are halaal and haraam according to Hindu religion. I am told hand sanitizer is fine as som ras was mentioned in the Vedas. @coffee_rules @vayuu1
maniac Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 8 hours ago, Real McCoy said: You can do as you please. the only problem I have with your OP is it has the ability to incite other forum members to panic. My response about supply chains and logisitics is to calm anyone reading it while your post is giving flight tickets into panicstan Edit: I'm with PM's message Dude Cmon the entire world is on shutdown. No one seems to know how to handle this. World leaders are coming out and saying people to lock themselves up risking the economy, service sectors etc and we are supposed to think this is a hoax. of course there is a lot of concern. Better safe than sorry but I do agree 100% on your statement about over stocking. I buy a small bag of rice here it lasts us about 5-6 months , the other day I saw a family buying 4 much bigger bags of rice maybe they have a huge gathering. Even that wouldn’t justify it as gatherings are not advisable any wah NameGoesHere and Real McCoy 2
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 25 minutes ago, maniac said: Dude Cmon the entire world is on shutdown. No one seems to know how to handle this. World leaders are coming out and saying people to lock themselves up risking the economy, service sectors etc and we are supposed to think this is a hoax. of course there is a lot of concern. Better safe than sorry Exactly. But some unkils can't resist the urge to preach with empty vessels. Because they "know" what's going on in "USA" because their friends sent pictures.
coffee_rules Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 46 minutes ago, maniac said: Can people list out things that are halaal and haraam according to Hindu religion. I am told hand sanitizer is fine as som ras was mentioned in the Vedas. @coffee_rules @vayuu1 There is no haraam or halal in Hindu religion. It is left to individual choice. Do your own diligence based on your sound judgement (Karma) and you will reap the fruits (phala) of your karma. Also, if your karma impacts others in an adverse way, it is not good. Some say that the Soma in rigveda is misinterpreted. Soma is not a juice but a metaphor for a state of higher consciousness that energizes you. But, to each his own. So, go ahead and believe in a mythical Somarasa that is drunk by the devas to attain immortality. Edited March 20, 2020 by coffee_rules maniac 1
Deleted_User_1 Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 11 hours ago, NameGoesHere said: LATEST EDIT: I now realize this thread should have been titled Covid (Corona) and the ICF forumer (everyone's personal experiences). My bad, but let' stick to that, no judgment. EDIT: A concern was raised that this is a tread that could incite people to panic, That is NOT my intention. But I could be wrong, and if enough folks feel it's going there I will ask mods to delete it. Until then: Just a running track record of forumers' individual lives and times in the age of Corona. I'm sitting put in Dehradun, with my aged parents. Wife is in Noida, and is putting off coming down here. I'm terrified for myself but also that my father and mother may catch it and at their age....... I'm terrified that if this goes up to Uttarakhand villages with their aging populations (massive migrations have left entire vilages of folks aged 60-70 plus). There are no testing measures worth shite. Today I stocked up on a few essentials, but people are still thronging stores and markets. I'm not sure how long they'll be out there before we lock down completely. And yes now I know someone who has caught the virus- a former colleague who lives in the US. How f*cked are we? I sympathize your concern. If you or your wife/kids get it, you will survive. This virus is far from deadly for healthy and relatively younger individuals. I am probably older than you and I am not worried about getting it. I may go through mild to moderate flu like symptoms, but I will survive. But you have to be ultra careful about your parents. If they contract it from you, they are at a far greater risk. Just follow the safety protocol and avoid social interactions as much as possible. If you are religious/spiritual lean towards meditation, watch inspirational / religious song videos and just try to keep your chin up. I am in the US with lot more resources and I am getting depressed and frustrated at the disruption of life with no end in sight. So I can definitely feel your pain. However, my parents have passed and I have no children, and although I am sure I won't die if I got this, I am not afraid of contracting or dying from it. Again, I want to emphasize that 98%+ probability nothing will happen to you or your parents, but use extra caution, even if it borders on OCD. NameGoesHere 1
nikred Posted March 21, 2020 Posted March 21, 2020 Wondering how many of you guys in India have all the resources to work from home but your company is still forcing you to go to office?My company is going overdrive and even planning to send desktops to employees homes while my wife's company is living in some other realm and forcing them to work from office. [emoji53]Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk
GautiMaan Posted March 21, 2020 Posted March 21, 2020 I have been working from home for the past week,however my desi management considers this to be some sort of boon they are bestowing on me and expects me to get some work done on weekends as well now. I guess all of us have to just go with the flow and see how we are placed on March 31.