'Delhi Chalo' movement/farmers protest

speedheat

15 hours ago, Khota said:

No you should not as people need to have choices. farming OTOH does not work on supply and demand curves anywhere in the world. It is well regulated and controlled.

poor farmers have only one worry on their mind and that is losing their land.

These farmers cannot stand up to large corporations who will inevitably exploit them.

So if the government were to include clauses to prevent land exploitation, should the protesting farmers look at this bill more favorably and rationally. 

16 hours ago, Under_Score said:

There should be 'paper ballot' vote on this....Farmers across India should participate.

This again begs the question, why should one group dictate their terms over the other when the proposed farming bill already allows them to market their crops as desired. 

5 minutes ago, Under_Score said:

In a Democracy, laws don't get made & imposed without consulting the group for whom it is was made & 'supposedly'  very favorable. It's very much evident that BJP underestimated the outcome & is now trying to sort this out in a way that party image which is already suffering & doesn't take a further hit as time goes.

I agree government dropped the ball when it comes to communicating this bill and routinely failed to engage the farming community, but I would rather stay focused on the contents of the new farm bill. As I said previously, proposed bills already gives them the freedom to market their crop to the buyer of their choice, how could it be more democratic to eliminate their right to choose. So in a hypothetical election where farmers vote 70% to 30% in favor of private buyers, would you be okay abolishing the mandi system?

1 hour ago, Yoda-esque said:

Only the idiots in Punjab seem to be protesting

Just because most of protesters are coming from one state  doesn't mean its not valid protest. 

What if British said same thing about Sikhs for freedom fight! 

Following is the contribution of Sikhs who are less than 2% of the population of India in the freedom struggle against the British:

Hanged by the British - 121; Sikhs - 93 ( 77%)

Life Imprisonment - 2646; Sikhs - 2147 (81%)

Jallianwala Bagh Massacre (approx) - 1300 dead;Sikhs - 800 (62%)

Total dead: 4067; Sikhs - 3040 (74.74%)

Moreover, in the Indian National Army: 42,000 recruits under Bose; Sikhs - 28,000 (67%)

5 hours ago, someone said:

If you care about the farmers, then make sure they directly earn more money for their produce, and not some powerful middleman. Thus, 3 farms bills are absolutely necessity and a liberating move. 

A lot of suicides are related to the APMC monopoly. Next, you dont even have any clause by clause issue with new farm bills. So you conveniently keep ignoring the the actual past, and current issues.

Instead, only playing the poverty card, yet you have no respect for the beggars. That is hypocrisy, and learn from beggars on some modesty and humbleness. The protestors could also learn from them, and stop bullying and hurting other people lives. 

The proposed model is already implemented in Bihar and it is a failure.

Go farm one day and you will realize what the farmers are doing.

Internetting is easy.

4 hours ago, donkey said:

This again begs the question, why should one group dictate their terms over the other when the proposed farming bill already allows them to market their crops as desired. 

No one is dictating anything. They want the current system to be made more efficient. BJP wants an overhaul. 

How do you propse a farmer in UP sell his crop in Maharashtra? Does he have the means for transportation? Does he have the money?

Unchecked free market does not work for poor people. There needs to be oversight.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2020/12/16/rupi-kaur-modi-punjab-india-farmer-protests/

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/dec/10/modi-indias-farmers-government-factory-corporations

looks like the idiots  are trying real hard here.See the "journalists" in both pieces.

13 hours ago, FischerTal said:

2.65 lakh crores debt and this will only increase if the previous system is allowed to flourish. One of the Kisan union leaders even went to the extent of demanding MSP on all 23 crops, which would mean Central govt would have to shell out 17 lakh crores per annum. 

I understand your concern about subsidies. Atleast these farmers are producing these crop in abundance and the market value is competitive and that is why India is a net exporter. Now count the subsidies given to PSU and other sectors which have nothing to show for. 

These are poor people who live hand to mouth who the BJP is going after.