Drunk Shastri reveals to Ian Chapell that Umesh might be the third seamer in Adelaide

Serpico

17 minutes ago, maniac said:

Umesh has one of the best out swingers in world cricket. I saw him in the practice game, was very tight.

malum hai lekin control nahin hai , thats why he ends up straying on pads most times

12 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Umesh is tease for any captainHe is built like an Ox and is supreme athlete.He has very good out swinger and can bowl reasonably quick. If other two players who are competing with Umesh have some stand out qualities then we could say Umesh's selection is wrong. 

Really? He gets to play in another aussie tour after failing in 8 tests, because he is built like an ox?

Even with such aesthetics in mind, how can the said captain ignore a towering bowler who can bowl upto 150ks? What about the other guy with amazing domestic records including in A tours? Umesh is not even in his peak speed anymore. 

3 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Siraj bowls low 120s? WTF. Dude stop making up facts to defend the pathetic captain.

Siraj on slower domestic speed guns has bowled multiple 140+ spells in FC cricket. Even in IPL he has been  consistently 138-140 with a top speed of 150 kmph. 

Now, even in an imaginary world if he bowls 120s, just for the fact that he's picked nearly 50+ FC wickets for India A across different tours have me and away should mean him being given an opportunity in Tests.

And if starting poorly in ODIs and being average in IPL was to be a criteria, the Captain Joker would have got no international career after his first 5-6 LOIs and first 2-3 IPLs

Dude wtf , stop swearing, We saw his speed in IPL go and look if you have problem with your fricking eyes. Who cares how many wickets he has taken list A or India A matches.He played in the same match as Umesh and he was visibly slower and was not better in anyway than Umesh,How the heck can any captin justify picking him over Umesh.

You have fricking problem, you just want a player because other player has failed in the past. Umesh is not a failure by any means for an Indian pacer.Is he a world class bowler  answer is no.

15 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Umesh is tease for any captainHe is built like an Ox and is supreme athlete.He has very good out swinger and can bowl reasonably quick. If other two players who are competing with Umesh have some stand out qualities then we could say Umesh's selection is wrong. 

FC averages:

Umesh: 300 wickets@29, TTF outside India (average of 43+ with no perceptible improvement since his first Aus tour 9 years back despite cutting down on his pace, still a great choice for home tests)

Siraj: 150 wickets@23

Saini: 125 wickets@28

One is a proven failure in away conditions and struggles badly with Kookabura and Duke's ball. 

The two rookies are unproven at the Test level. But the captain joker being as spineless as he is, will prefer to go with a TTF for his seniority than to back younger talent. 

Have got nothing against Umesh, I'll still root for him to succeed as he is a fully committed cricketer.

3 minutes ago, Serpico said:

Really? He gets to play in another aussie tour after failing in 8 tests, because he is built like an ox?

Even with such aesthetics in mind, how can the said captain ignore a towering bowler who can bowl upto 150ks? What about the other guy with amazing domestic records including in A tours? Umesh is not even in his peak speed anymore. 

Don't quote that idiot and waste your calories,he has pledged he will not come to this forum if his favourite bowlers fails in Adelaide

1 minute ago, Serpico said:

Do we have any success in Australia? Ishant failed in Australia for how many tours. Why he has he played nearly 100 tests again?  Now Siraj will come in and change everything with his lolipop outswingers bowling below 130s. If he was so much better than Umesh why didn't he do it in the match where he played with Umesh.

I am not a big fan of Umesh but I don't see other two as better options.

4 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

FC averages:

Umesh: 300 wickets@29, TTF outside India (average of 43+ with no perceptible improvement since his first Aus tour 9 years back despite cutting down on his pace, still a great choice for home tests)

One is a proven failure in away conditions and struggles badly with Kookabura and Duke's ball. 

The two rookies are unproven at the Test level. But the captain joker being as spineless as he is, will prefer to go with a TTF for his seniority than to back younger talent. 

Have got nothing against Umesh, I'll still root for him to succeed as he is a fully committed cricketer.

One of the two unproven played in same match as Umesh who is proven TTF but did not do well compared to him. So magically he will do better in next match?? Are you living in lala land.

23 minutes ago, putrevus said:

FC averages:

The two rookies are unproven at the Test level but have earned themselves a spot in the 15 and merit selection ahead of the senior. But the captain joker being as spineless as he is, will prefer to go with a TTF for his seniority than to back younger talent. 

Have got nothing against Umesh, unlike you dissing young players in post after post (for blind Kohli PR), I'll still root for him to succeed as he is a fully committed cricketer.

1 minute ago, putrevus said:

One of the two unproven played in same match as Umesh who is proven TTF but did not do well compared to him. So magically he will do better in next match?? Are you living in lala land.

In a post above, you dissed Siraj's wickets for India A but use a wicket extra that Umesh took for India A to justify this joke of a TM. PR does lead to such silly disasters

1 minute ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

In a post above, you dissed Siraj's wickets for India A but use a wicket extra that Umesh took for India A to justify this joke of a TM. PR does lead to such silly disasters

Would you rather completely move on from Umesh or give a youngster a chance, get rid of him after a couple of failures and then go back to Umesh?

He has been picked as your 1st back up. Woth Ishant’s absence he stakes a claim as being the most experienced fast bowler in the Indian team. Why would you not play a guy like that first? It’s a different thing if Saini and Siraj are in red hot form coming in or during the series.

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

so you consider the one tour game scorecard instead of all the domestic matches. Will you drop vihari and play Kuldeep yadav as splist batsman because he lasted more balls? At some point you have to take a punt on a new player and drop a TTF. Even if Siraj fails like you predict, there is no additional harm done, he is only replacing another failure. I would rather see we try something new and fail than repeat the same old mistake and expect a different result. 

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

FC averages:

The two rookies are unproven at the Test level but have earned themselves a spot in the 15 and merit selection ahead of the senior. But the captain joker being as spineless as he is, will prefer to go with a TTF for his seniority than to back younger talent. 

Have got nothing against Umesh, unlike you dissing young players in post after post (for blind Kohli PR), I'll still root for him to succeed as he is a fully committed cricketer.

I don't have anything against anybody nor  am a I blind fan of anyone. I am just expressing my views which are quite different from your views.  I don't see Siraj or Saini as significant improvement over Umesh in anyway  and anywhere.

I always wanted Pant over Saha. It is very rare for an Indian keeper to score 100s in Australia and England. A guy like that should always be given long rope.Do you think Siraj or Saini are as talented as Pant, I don't think they are as talented as Pant.

Just now, Serpico said:

so you consider the one tour game scorecard instead of all the domestic matches. Will you drop vihari and play Kuldeep yadav as splist batsman because he lasted more balls? At some point you have to take a punt on a new player and drop a TTF. Even if Siraj fails like you predict, there is no additional harm done, he is only replacing another failure. I would rather see we try something new and fail than repeat the same old mistake and expect a different result. 

You try something different if the conventional wisdom doesn’t work. Common sense says Umesh as the most experienced player gets in, obviously if he fails you move to plan B which is your next in line. You don’t go to Plan B first.

Just now, maniac said:

You try something different if the conventional wisdom doesn’t work. Common sense says Umesh as the most experienced player gets in, obviously if he fails you move to plan B which is your next in line. You don’t go to Plan B first.

Conventional wisdom should have said Umesh shouldn't be selected for away series at all.. Siraj vs Saini- better tour bowler should have been plan A and the other being plan B. We are already starting being one step behind

2 minutes ago, maniac said:

I hope your confidence(on Umesh) comes good in Adelaide

What if he fails and gets another test?

Kindly answer as im going to mark your upcoming post

10 minutes ago, Serpico said:

You answered your own question. This is a 4 test series. If Umesh fails in first then Siraj/Saini get their chance from second test onwards. Once you replace a older player with younger one, you need to give that younger player enough time to establish himself.

You cannot drop Siraj after one test failure where as you can drop Umesh if he fails in first test. That is  why Umesh should play first test. If Siraj gets to play second tour match and performs very well, then he certainly will play first test. Saini to me will come to selection from second test.

Edited by putrevus
2 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

I hope your confidence(on Umesh) comes good in Adelaide

What if he fails and gets another test?

Kindly answer as im going to mark your upcoming post

bhai, I think he should get the first 2 tests and if he sucks get a new bowler in. This should be the make or break. In fact that May open a slot for another bower and push Saini and Siraj up the pecking order. If you have the most experienced guy in the side, then you play him. If he is not good shouldn’t have been picked but he is, so he plays.

So far looked the best bowler in the practice game.

5 minutes ago, Serpico said:

Conventional wisdom should have said Umesh shouldn't be selected for away series at all.. Siraj vs Saini- better tour bowler should have been plan A and the other being plan B. We are already starting being one step behind

He is selected at the end of the day, Saini and Siraj might have been discussed but Umesh was an automatic selection in the squad for good or bad. Selecting him and then playing someone else shows the management has no vision or even a process (their fav word) which has scarier implications.

7 minutes ago, maniac said:

I think he should get the first 2 tests and if he sucks get a new bowler in

third test will be in sydney where we play with two spinners. so neither umesh nor S's will play. Saini might finally be selected for the debut in Gabba match where aussies have the strongest record in last 30 years and then chucked aside immediately for the easy home series. And then Umesh will be in the squad again in england tour and will play 2 tests because conventional wisdom says so.. rinse and repeat. 

If Umesh fails in Adelaide pink ball test, the one match where bowlers have best conditions.. he should be dropped for the second match. And we should also not pick him for home series and instead look to groom new pacers

5 minutes ago, Serpico said:

third test will be in sydney where we play with two spinners. so neither umesh nor S's will play. Saini might finally be selected for the debut in Gabba match where aussies have the strongest record in last 30 years and then chucked aside immediately for the easy home series. And then Umesh will be in the squad again in england tour and will play 2 tests because conventional wisdom says so.. rinse and repeat. 

If Umesh fails in Adelaide pink ball test, the one match where bowlers have best conditions.. he should be dropped for the second match. And we should also not pick him for home series and instead look to groom new pacers

I don't think Umesh will play anymore in the series if he flops in first test.