3rd Test - India vs England, Pink Test - D/N - *WTC Knockout Encounter*

SK_IH

4 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Cannot blame the batsmen on such a pitch where even a part timer has 5 wickets for 8 runs. If such pitches become a norm, Test cricket will lose its charm. It's not a test of skills but becomes a lottery. Call me finicky, a hater, or cynical but nothing justifies a test ending under two days.

TM has to cop the blame for forcing the curator to stop watering the pitch from 3-4 days before the start in drier warmer weather. It not just shows that the TM has no confidence in the team to win on fair pitches but also reflects poorly on our ability to produce normal spinning wickets (which we have got used to in recent years).

The only instance of two similar back to back doctored pitches I can remember is NZ 2002. And those pitches got well deserved criticism. Interestingly NZ did not win a series at home for the next 30 months. That is what playing on substandard poorly prepared pitches can result in.

The team is just enjoying the home advantage after a hard fought series abroad. They have opted for result oriented pitches as well as taken toss out of the equation. It's a gamble they have taken purely based on their superior skills under these conditions. I won't look much beyond that.

Also pink ball has had a major role in this test's outcome & it has made pitch appear "poorer" than it may be.

Lastly, players who played on the pitch have not complained as much as the viewers who somehow judged the pitch vicariously. A fact that is hard to fathom.

51 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said:

If we had lost inside of 2 days, hell less than that, in a foreign country I can only imagine what the level of discourse would be here.

But here we won in less than 2 days.

I'm happy that we won, but hey? A Test that lasts less than 2 days needs to be examined.

We can examine that AFTER we thrash them 3-1 and win the WTC

7 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

One genuine concern.    What if this pitch is rated poor by ICC tomorrow or afterwards?  Will India also be docked WTC points?    

ICC will always want India in the Finals for great advertisement to the game:phehe:

Don't get the big deal with the pitch.... Rohit showed how  to bat on this pitch.  Rookie Gill  naturally  failed in 1st inns simply because he is a rookie and  then showed how to bat on in the 2nd inns. Proven inadequate experienced  trio did what they  'more often than not' do. Then Pant  ...the way he plays has equal chance of failing too.Then the tail enders..  So what was wrong ?...just don't get it... 

1 minute ago, Ravi_Shastri said:

Make no mistake about it. Day 3 is going to be the moving day and could well decide this series. :beerglass::canabis:till then keep calm and keep cool

Are Bhai ..good night . Chad gyi tere ko. Desi tharra laga liya Kya :cantstop:

We need independent an appraisal panel by the likes of Greg Chappell, Ian Botham, Mark Waugh etc. set up to examine this pitch and issue certificate of quality. If pitch is found poor, result has to be struck off the record. 

Cannot trust Srinath because he is not neutral and also unqualified as he doesn't have a degree from an esteemed top 500 university unlike the above cricketers. 

11 minutes ago, VVS_Rahane said:

We need independent an appraisal panel by the likes of Greg Chappell, Ian Botham, Mark Waugh etc. set up to examine this pitch and issue certificate of quality. If pitch is found poor, result has to be struck off the record. 

Cannot trust Srinath because he is not neutral and also unqualified as he doesn't have a degree from an esteemed top 500 university unlike the above cricketers. 

Either this is a padosis or a troll post. 

14 minutes ago, Jay said:

Either this is a padosis or a troll post. 

My point is not invalidated just because you don't understand.

I come from a highly educated university. 

4 minutes ago, VVS_Rahane said:

My point is not invalidated just because you don't understand.

I come from a highly educated university. 

Sure you do. The best ranked uni in green trundling land is in the top 1000. Good day. 

Anyone who thinks those 3 stooges mentioned in your post are intellectuals has to be a dengerate. 

Edited by Jay
2 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Cannot blame the batsmen on such a pitch where even a part timer has 5 wickets for 8 runs.

yup. 

its a travesty, Root got a 5 for devalues what ever Axar and Ashwin did. 

3 hours ago, nitinbwj said:

WTH is up with Yuvraj tweeting stupidity criticising the pitch and suggesting that Harbhajan and Kumble might have got 800 and 1000 wickets respectively on this. 
What does he gain by this ? Is he mad ? He was crap against spin anyways. Would have got a pair. He had also started talking nonsense just like his father 

he wants to show solidarity with his pal Harbhajan against Ashwin. 

4 hours ago, Jay said:

prepare a road with some help for spin. make sure pitch lasts 4.5 days atleast. otherwise let alone padosis, even some of our own supporters would have a mental breakdown as they have this nauseating desire to be appreciated by the brits or else their lives become meaningless. 

:hysterical:

20 minutes ago, Vilander said:

oh the university is highly educated ok.. :laugh:

"Well, you see, I come from a highly educated university, so when I come out here and speak to these white trash, I gotta dumb myself down!"

—Scott Steiner's debate with Christopher Nowinski about the Iraq War, WWE Raw, April 14, 2003.