Harshal v Thakur

zen

Both are useful players for their respective franchise. Both can get a few hits in too. 

Pros for Harshal 

• Confident of bowling at the death 
  • Relatively a better fielder 
  • Can swing his bat 

Pros for Thakur 

• Can swing the ball 
  • A better batsman 

Who is likely to be more successful in the short to mid term for his franchise? 

28 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

lets put it this way harshal is a like for like replacement of Thakur. 

Which is why the thread (comparable players) 

28 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who will do well - form changes season to season

Do you have a pick though?

3 minutes ago, zen said:

Which is why the thread (comparable players) 

Do you have a pick though?

19-20 ka hi farq chal raha hai dono me abhi to. Quality wise shardul is obv better in both. Harshal has executed yorkers better this season. Both have gotten a beating to. Currnetly i might just go for harshal- has been far nore impactful for his side. Since i play a lot of fantasy harshal is always a guaranteed pick coz he does end up doing something, shardul impact hasnt been same for CSK.

49 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Thakur can swing the ball. He even swung kookaburra surprisingly in Australia. He does have a surprising short ball. Also he is not a uber trundler. He can bowl at 135 clicks on an average.

12 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

19-20 ka hi farq chal raha hai dono me abhi to. Quality wise shardul is obv better in both. Harshal has executed yorkers better this season. Both have gotten a beating to. Currnetly i might just go for harshal- has been far nore impactful for his side. Since i play a lot of fantasy harshal is always a guaranteed pick coz he does end up doing something, shardul impact hasnt been same for CSK.

Harshal would have given good pts in fantasy cricket, so far 

Batting: Avg 18, SR 146

Bowling: Avg 15, SR 10 (Currently with the purple cap) 

:fear1:

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Thakur can swing the ball. He even swung kookaburra surprisingly in Australia. He does have a surprising short ball. Also he is not a uber trundler. He can bowl at 135 clicks on an average.

forgot to add in LOI 

In LOI, shardul bowls 1st change at that time anyways bowl doesnt swing and neither is he a permanent one. Im talking in terms of role- A bowler who can bat decently.

Harshal pace is fine ...he aint a trundler. 

Harshal is obviously not close when it terms to quality but like for like in terms of role

4 minutes ago, zen said:

Harshal would have given good pts in fantasy cricket, so far 

Batting: Avg 18, SR 146

Bowling: Avg 15, SR 10 (Currently with the purple cap) 

:fear1:

he is extremely valuable , giving wkts almost every game and today when he didnt get wkts he got runs. 

In fanatsy leagues his selection % now is as high as Kohli 

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

lol wut. You think Harshal can take a 7 wickets in Gabba?

Wah Pandya can break Bradman’s record based on a 91 but Thakur is comparable to Harshal based on Harshal’s IPL heroics in chennai, kya acumen hai :hail:  

Edited by Global.Baba

Just now, Global.Baba said:

lol wut. You think Harshal can take a 7fr in Gabba?

Wah Pandya can break Bradman’s record based on a 91 but Thakur is comparable to Harshal based on Harshal’s IPL heroics in chennai, kya acumen hai :hail:  

Already answered 

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

forgot to add in LOI 

In LOI, shardul bowls 1st change at that time anyways bowl doesnt swing and neither is he a permanent one. Im talking in terms of role- A bowler who can bat decently.

Harshal pace is fine ...he aint a trundler. 

Harshal is obviously not close when it terms to quality but like for like in terms of role

8 minutes ago, Global.Baba said:

lol wut. You think Harshal can take a 7 wickets in Gabba?

Let's stick to IPL/T20 :dontknow: ... No one thought Thakur would too ... Also Thakur will not be picked for tests unless some of the first choice pacers are not available so pointless to be sidetracking 

Harshal Patel Pandya Shankar Dube Thakur

out of the lot here is my honest unbiased analysis keeping banter aside

bowling

1.Thakur

2.Pandya

Harshal/Shankar- rate them at the same level. In fact Shankar has delivered in international games against 2 big sides in Aus and Pak and Harshal has a purple patch so comparable.

Dube- self explanatory

batting

Pandya-skills wise sure but bats too low especially when he doesn’t bowl. There is nothing called a specialist no.7 batsman

Thakur/Shankar- different batsman, Thakur is a low order slogger while Shankar is a proper bat. Thakur has the game to contribute in tests as well while Shankar might be ok in tests and ODIs but not for T20.

Dube- I think he is not a go from first ball type batsman but from what I have seen can be ok as a bat especially in odis. Tests in SC he might be ok. Don’t think he should get a test cap lol but feel that is where his  batting is suitable 

Harshal- never remember any batting performance of note apart from May be 1-2 pointless slogs. Probably has talent but haven’t seen enough.

Edited by Global.Baba

1 minute ago, Global.Baba said:

Harshal/Shankar- rate them at the same level. In fact Shankar has delivered in international games against 2 big sides in Aus and Pak and Harshal has a purple patch so comparable.

disagree, harshal is far better bowler....actually 1st of all he is a bowler also shankar isnt even a bowler. Harshal will give u full quote of overs every day 

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

disagree, harshal is far better bowler....actually 1st of all he is a bowler also shankar isnt even a bowler. Harshal will give u full quote of overs every day 

Shankar has done well this IPL as well and performed against top sides. 

Harshal apart from this year has always been cannon fodder and looks like purple patch over now.

Sure in domestics he might be a better bowler on such pitches.

I mean I am sure there are plenty of better domestic spinners than Washington but he has for now leap frogged them for showing quality in internationals.

As I said when and where the perform also matters 

2 minutes ago, Global.Baba said:

bowling

Thakur

Pandya

ill break it 

In LOI - 

WKT taking skill- I dnt think so its much of difference but the only difference is Thakur is used more in way that he gets a chance to take more wkts, Hardik is used more of a containing option

Economical- Hardik scores over thakur here

In test

Wkt taking- Shardul being a bowler has more tools but start giving hardik compartively new ball in help condition he has a bloody good outswinger 

TBH i dnt think their bowling is much of a diff buts its how they are used. Hardik obv focuses more on batting and his fitness now doesnt help his bowling