Temples are for Gods and Gods only (not for human beings - film stars and cricketers, and viruses). If we do not respect our places of worship, who will? Need to find a way (even through legal channels) to stop such practices. 

Most Gods were people .

As for the virus....

This virus seems  very powerful. Something to be scared of or else.....very apt if you think logically .mask pehno, doori rakho ,vaccine lagao ....nahi to corona curse will be upon you.

A few decades later,it will make complete sense to have a corona temple to keep the curse of viruses away.

Most religions use threat of harm to keep followers in line.

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

Most if not all of these people who make temples for film stars, cricketers, viruses etc. are attention seekers. 

Good work by the police … Those film stars and cricketers temples should be demolished too 

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

Imagine a Selmon Bhai temple:hysterical:

Nothing can be ruled out in Ind

Need strict laws and its implementation 

First up, that India Today reporter was so condescending. He should be reporting, not giving his opinion and judgement. 

Comparing this kind of worship, to that of temples to Film stars and politicians is not equivalent. Film stars are not believed to protect people from cursed diseases, they are done for seeking attention and grab their 15 mins.

India always had religious and spiritual ways to handle crisis in their personal lives, there have been temples and deities invented to believe that the people who worship will be rid of such a curse.

Villages, usually  have a gramadevata , a deity that blesses the well-being  of their village, protect them from famine and drought, and some are are from diseases like plague and cholera.

Mariamma (Mary ) temples are very common in South India where it was also used to scare poor castes and convert to Christianity  as well. There used to be animal sacrifices to please such gods.

Why do you want to control other peoples’ lives , their beliefs with your sense of perceived knowledge? Are they killing people in the name of their religion or praying for  eternal damnation to non-believers of their deity? This type of control needs to be discouraged, if somebody wants to pray to a lizard , why not let them? If their temple was not built with permission from civic authorities, permits and built on encroached property, then it makes sense to be demolished, not for praying in a temple.

Many families have a pratha to perform Satyanarayana pooja to achieve a wishful objective or thank god for fulfilling their wish. Just yesterday, attended one in a friend’s house after their son got into an Ivy League college, which they had wished. If we let people like OP (India today guy) take control, such pooja, yagnas, yaags (some believe in bringing rain) will be abolished. Thank god, We don’t live in communist regime.

The Corona mata was modern enough to be wearing a mask as well. ! When the first vaccines were delivered in India, doctors applied haldi-kunkum for good luck, Rajnath Singh did the same to the first Rafale jet delivery, this is our way of life! we don’t say don’t believe in science.

Such debates and mockery is reserved for Hindu rituals, can India Today go to a conversion camp and criticize the padre who is claiming to cure somebody’s disease instantly? They will be critical of him for not letting freedom of religion!

10 hours ago, zen said:

Temples are for Gods and Gods only (not for human beings - film stars and cricketers, and viruses). If we do not respect our places of worship, who will? Need to find a way (even through legal channels) to stop such practices. 

Who makes such rules? Do you want to rule on who to worship? You will be called a dictator or fascist!

7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

India always had religious and spiritual ways to handle crisis in their personal lives, there have been temples and deities invented to believe that the people who worship will be rid of such a curse.

That is not religion but making a mockery of religion (knowingly or unknowingly) … what is next? Islamic terrorism is an issue, so let’s have a temple for these terrorists :rolleyes:

Gods for most Hindus are those who have either taken a human avatar, turned into Gods by known Gods, or said to live in a celestial world like Brahma 

Religion has a history, usually consisting of centuries. Someone using Hindu rituals to create a random God is not a religion and has nothing to do with Hinduism

10 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Who makes such rules? Do you want to rule on who to worship? You will be called a dictator or fascist!

My previous post answers that … It is common sense, using Hindu rituals to worship any damn thing is not Hinduism, which has a history … I can give ppl money to have you worshipped by following Hindu rituals if you want (it has nothing to do with Hindu religion)

6 minutes ago, zen said:

That is not religion but making a mockery of religion (knowingly or unknowingly) … what is next? Islamic terrorism is an issue, so let’s have a temple for these terrorists :rolleyes:

Gods for most Hindus are those who have either taken a human avatar, turned into Gods by known Gods, or said to live in a celestial world like Brahma 

Religion has a history, usually consisting of centuries. Someone using Hindu rituals to create a random God is not a religion and has nothing to do with Hinduism

As long as people are not killing other people, no religion should be banned. That is why I don’t condone celebrating Bhidranwale in gurdwaras. I have just posted a huge list of practices that are honored under Hinduism.  For you Shirdi Saibaba is not worthy of worship, nobody made Hinduism central to one  set of beliefs

10 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

As long as people are not killing other people, no religion should be banned, I have just posted a huge list of practices that are honored under Hinduism.  For you Shirdi Saibaba is not worthy of worship, nobody made Hinduism central to one  set of beliefs

Again, I can give ppl $ to worship you in Hindu rituals. It does not make you anything in Hinduism nor worshiping you a part of that religion. Hinduism has a long history. I suggest you do some research on what a religion means (it is not something one follows for fun and to do what pleases him, creating random events). Also try to understand cults 

Sai Baba Shirdi is known to be an avatar of Balram 

1 minute ago, zen said:

Again, I can give ppl $ to worship you in Hindu rituals. It does not make you anything nor worshiping you a religion. Hinduism has a long history. I suggest you do some research on what a religion means (it is not something one follows for fun and to do what pleases him). Also try to understand cults 

Sai Baba is actually known to be an avatar of Balram 

You do some reading in what Vedic thought Sanatana Dharma . Your thoughts are how Christianity preached to EU pagans. Africans and Native Americans. They said you can’t worship trees, rivers and nature!  This is what Vedic Rishis also debated, to have one set of principles of the winner tribes. They chose to revere Vishvamitra who was the guru of the defeated tribes, shows how inclusive our religion is.

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

You do some reading in what Vedic thought Sanatana Dharma . Your thoughts are how Christianity preached to EU pagans. Africans and Native Americans. They said you can’t worship trees, rivers and nature!  This is what Vedic Rishis also debated, to have one set of principles of the winner tribes. They chose to revere Vishvamitra who was the guru of the defeated tribes, shows how inclusive our religion is.

Ppl know that. We are talking about misuse of Hinduism, which has a history 

Hinduism is not about creating temples of random ppl/viruses (the topic of the thread), doing what pleases oneself, etc 

The curse of Ind is indiscipline, ppl lacking depth, trying to do what pleases them (in the name of secularism and democracy), which results in misuse of Hinduism and its rituals

19 minutes ago, zen said:

My previous post answers that … It is common sense, using Hindu rituals to worship any damn thing is not Hinduism, which has a history … I can give ppl money to have you worshipped by following Hindu rituals if you want (it has nothing to do with Hindu religion)

That is the beauty of hinduism .

You can worship anything as long as you believe. Don't we worship rivers,trees,plants rocks.

I have a small  shell in my mandir. It represents nature in my head. No one has ever stopped me .My sister asked me once and I told her it represents nature .

Just now, beetle said:

That is the beauty of hinduism .

You can worship anything as long as you believe. Don't we worship rivers,trees,plants rocks.

I have a small  shell in my mandir. It represents nature in my head. No one has ever stopped me .My sister asked me once and I told her it represents nature .

Unfortunately, that is NOT Hinduism, which has a history.  No random thing is worshipped in it 

You can worship a shell but it is unrelated to any religion. No body apart from you is going to worship it

2 minutes ago, zen said:

Ppl know that. We are talking about misuse of Hinduism, which has a history 

Hinduism is not about creating temples of random ppl/viruses (the topic of the thread), doing what pleases oneself, etc 

The curse of Ind is indiscipline, ppl lacking depth, trying to do what pleases them (in the name of secularism and democracy), which results in misuse of Hinduism and its rituals

Do you know the concept of Ishtadevta? It is very common. Each family has a family god!  We worship navagrahas. I don’t believe history has anything to do with worship, they are not forcing their beliefs on to you, you don’t have to believe in their god and rituals.