1 hour ago, Real McCoy said:

I came across a video that said windows is a backdoor for intelligence operatives. I don't know whether what he says is true but there is a possibility. Wasn't the internet started by the US military. What makes people think they have let go of it?

As the saying goes, windows is a window to look out into the internet. but its also a window for others to look in :p:

Yes! And they have invested in MRNA technology as well. Must have done it for altruistic reasons. Nothing to see here.

55 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

If this is the state of the world's most powerful "democracy", what hope do we have :p:.

Actually that didn't even sound like comedy. He laid a sermon of truth bombs right there. That looks more like philosophy and current affairs than comedy.

10 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

Yes! And they have invested in MRNA technology as well. Must have done it for altruistic reasons. Nothing to see here.

I guess it all ties in on everything and its happening in a big scale and too soon. They can't be this faulty in their programming unless they have a deadline to meet. Just slow it all down by rejecting their advances and watch their schemes blow up in smokes.

3 hours ago, bharathh said:

So according to these reports (one says the govt denies and the other says the govt has not confirmed yes/no) the Indian govt may or may not have tapped into some of these phones - and still have not managed to take action on anyone. Noone sent to the equivalent of Kalapani yet. Not even any IT raids on these folks.

I think the govt should ask for a full refund on their money. The apparent success rates of force installing it is appalling! They are better off going for RATs.

Since when did success/failure of anything were relevant for doing anything for the govt?

Who all refunded the money India lost due to demonetization? Mr PM.

Govt should ask Modi to compensate for that as per your logic?

6 hours ago, ash said:

Pegasus, our vey own watergate. 

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jul/18/revealed-leak-uncovers-global-abuse-of-cyber-surveillance-weapon-nso-group-pegasus

My fav past time nowadays is to see how ICF is spinning anti BJP news. The way everyone is pretending that this didn't even happen, maybe tough to spin this one?? 

Let's see how this is tackled here. Toolkit? Or is someone going to bring Indira Gandhi and emergency period?  :laugh: 

I personally don't see any change happening because of this, Narendra is not Nixon to resign for such trivial issues. 

Wo sab to theek hai par ek baat samajh nhi aayi and pardon me for my language,ki us lehen ki bori 2bhk aur biagan ka data koi kyu hi churayega,same with varda and venu,especially since they are rabid haters.and nincompoop

2 hours ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

Not DARPA, man. I owe my rozi-roti to them. Networking, tcp/ip, security/firewall, Unix/Linux and now cloud computing. I am one of those guys that  Carlin says - Hard-working and blind , working for the big guys who make money and not spare it for  others.. 

13 minutes ago, vayuu1 said:

Wo sab to theek hai par ek baat samajh nhi aayi and pardon me for my language,ki us lehen ki bori 2bhk aur biagan ka data koi kyu hi churayega,same with varda and venu,especially since they are rabid haters.and nincompoop

Translating for the  Hindi illiterate OP,

That and all is OK saar, but, didn't understand one thing, and pardon me for my language, that BKL (no need to translate that) and 2BHK's (reference to journalist - Rohini Singh) and Brinjal's  (?? - could be RaGa),  data , who will steal? Same with theWire CEO Varadarajan and Venu (don't know wtf he is), especially since they are rabid haters.and nincompoop

43 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Not DARPA, man. I owe my rozi-roti to them. Networking, tcp/ip, security/firewall, Unix/Linux and now cloud computing. I am one of those guys that  Carlin says - Hard-working and blind , working for the big guys who make money and not spare it for  others.. 

A lot of us owe our rozi-roti to DARPA as it gave us Internet which allows us to WFH in these shitty times :p:. Doesn't change the fact that it is a part of the infamous Military Industrial Complex and has ties to Big Tech monopolies as well.

What money did Modi lose due to demonetisation? Can we create a separate topic for this btw.. It could derail the existing discussion on the useless Pegasus

Demonetisation has reduced the shadow economy of India from rivalling that of our actual economy to one where a lot money transactions now are forced to be in the white. I know this will be an unpopular opinion - but I feel the value of demonetisation will bear fruit over the long term. For one: 

1. The banks were in terrible shape at the time. Demonetisation caused a huge shot in the arm for banks to get money deposited in accounts. Money that would otherwise have never made it back into the system. By forcing people to deposit their old notes - money was infused back into banks. The banks were consistently looted like personal piggy banks by the politicians, bureaucrats and anyone else who had connections. Our banking system is still tottering on the brink of collapse - which is why the MMS govt had to keep  borrowing money to keep things going. This borrowing of money to keep our banks going came to an abrupt stop. You keep saying we lost money due to demon - what money did we lose? Nobody prevented Indians from depositing money into their accounts. You were able to deposit 2 lakhs freely into your account no questions asked. More than that you had to show your ID and questions could be asked later. People were so happy cheating on their incomes and using cash that they were loath to deposit more in case they were pulled up on how much cash they were depositing back into the system. Even then people used their non-working relative's accounts to keep depositing 2 L. 

2. Demon allowed for tracking of money that had been out of the system. It caused folks who were running a parallel economy using cash to either lose/deposit that money back. Ppl's income vs expenditure could be tracked better now. There is talk about how ppl were inconvenienced for standing in lines. Yes it was inconvenient. However, there were many who were happy to do so as they understood how it helped. In fact if you waited towards Nov - it was pretty easy to walk in and deposit your money into an account. But there was panic caused by the opposition. Put your money in now - or lose it... That caused ppl to make a run for the banks causing all the commotion. Even then as I mentioned above there were many who were just fine waiting in lines. 

More ppl were moved into creating and using bank accounts than at any other time in Indian history. This again is a huge deal. Compared to pre-demon ppl have taken to digital banking in a huge way. This is so convenient for everyone. It is a lot more difficult to harass and take hafta from shopkeepers and other small business owners by cops and others as - at least in cities ppl use wallets and BHIM to pay for goods and services. This has been one of the biggest transformations in the way that we transact using money now. Digital payments is one of the biggest boons for small businesses who now don't need to worry about holding on to the money that they make. If they hadn't been forced to move out of cash transactions by demon - ppl would still keep 

3. The shadow economy was reduced big time. This economy was causing a big problem for India. Money was money into a system without any accountability. This money was used for hawala transactions and other illegal means. Terrorism was financed big time due to this. There is enough data on this. This economy has been hamstrung since demon. This in itself IMHO is one of the biggest plusses of demon. Will it be back sometime - sure - but ppl will be more wary of hoarding knowing that something like this could happen again.

On the down side this also had the ripple effects of causing unemployment as cash was no longer available for paying people outside the system. This also caused ppl from spending money as they were afraid of getting caught for spending money that they should not have. So the real estate market and other cash friendly industries were affected. This was however, a necessary step to clear out the shadow economy to a large extent. Things will eventually settle down. If you mean that this is the money that was lost - the onus is on the folks who were running the shadow economy illegally - not on the govt.

4. Although this move def did not erase black money - it did reduce it to a huge extent. People who may have 100s of crores could salvage some of it - but lost most of it as they couldn't exchange the old notes either through the hawala or legally in banks. They couldn't move it abroad either as it didn't have any value outside India now. I personally rejoiced at the anguish of many folks who lost many crores because they couldn't exchange their ill gotten gains. This lost Modi a lot of his supporters in the small and medium business owners who showed tiny revenues on paper - but raked in money through cash. This was telling on them. The very fact that he would be prepared to lose his biggest supporters shows that he puts the country first over his politics. That is something that people never understand. I actually was pretty anti-Modi in 2014. However, almost all his moves go against the grain of a normal politician. In fact, demon probably hurt the political and business class the hardest of all. Yet, he was prepared to do it. 

5. As far as NRIs were concerned - I am not sure why you would need >30k outside of India. Unless you are in Nepal/Bhutan you can't really spend that money anyways. You are only allowed to take out 25k Rs worth of money at any time anyways. So for ppl stating that they had money that went to waste outside of India - did you declare all that money when you left India? If not, then it's technically black money. 

Demonetisation was never meant to be a quick fix. It did cause our economy to slow down big time as capital freely available as black money was sucked out of the market. Ppl didn't want to bring attention to themselves by spending money they shouldn't have or paint a target on themselves. Cash transactions were reduced causing unemployment of folks who were never part of the labour market. But I feel the long term benefits are worth it. The economy will recover stronger under a cleaner more transparent system. Do we have the patience for this to bear fruit? Probably not. 
Do you need a discussion on the useless Pegasus?
6 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Translating for the  Hindi illiterate OP,

That and all is OK saar, but, didn't understand one thing, and pardon me for my language, that BKL (no need to translate that) and 2BHK's (reference to journalist - Rohini Singh) and Brinjal's  (?? - could be RaGa),  data , who will steal? Same with theWire CEO Varadarajan and Venu (don't know wtf he is), especially since they are rabid haters.and nincompoop

Brinjal is swati chaturvedi and venu is partner in crime of vardarajan

29 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

OP started this thread not for privacy fears but by his own account to trash BJP. Your post doesn't fit his narrative so will be ignored. he thought of exposing mudiji but mmsji has let a leak out like an old mms :wink: video. I say both are in on it just like the aadhar fiasco

32 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

He also said

"While these powers are needed in the world we live in, they have to be exercised with utmost care and under well-defined rules, procedures and mechanisms so that they are not misused," the prime minister said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/10-govt-agencies-can-tap-phones-ls-told/story-oY1vlfevUwacGRJIC7jnCN.html

Ministry of home affairs also stated that any interception or monitoring or decryption of any information from any computer resource can be done only by authorised agencies as per due process of law, and subject to approved safeguards and standard operating procedures.

He was responding to questions related to the interception of WhatsApp calls and messages.

The ministry of home affairs also stated that any interception or monitoring or decryption of any information from any computer resource can be done only by authorised agencies as per due process of law, and subject to approved safeguards and standard operating procedures.

Yeah, current govt isn't asking for interception of whatsapp calls and messages in name of national security.

@Trichromatic even sundar pichai said what mms did. does anyone trust google regarding privacy. these news items and leaks are a red herring to not saying there is no privacy. If someone is tracked, then that person's information is not private, no? Rather than openly admit it, they just invent some made up words and write a long and boring rule that nobody reads which basically says the same thing in obfuscating ways

10 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

He also said

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/10-govt-agencies-can-tap-phones-ls-told/story-oY1vlfevUwacGRJIC7jnCN.html

Yeah, current govt isn't asking for interception of whatsapp calls and messages in name of national security.

yes, if the Govt wants to and does in fact, intercept WhatsApp msgs on suspicion, it can do so So, imagine NaMo saying it and all the hullabaloo happening. 

Their phone numbers are part of a leaked database accessed by the non-profit French media Forbidden Stories and shared with an international media consortium, which includes The Washington Post, The Guardian and The Wire, as part of what is called Th...

Read more at: https://www.deccanherald.com/state/top-karnataka-stories/pegasus-snooped-on-karnataka-ministers-their-aides-just-before-congress-jds-government-toppled-in-2019-report-1010797.html

So an independent company , name sounds like a B-grade tabloid is more credible for these consortium of leftists rags? What is the credibility of these leaked databases. Bas unhone keh diya aur sabne maan liya. 

Watergate, had leaked documents signed by the White House which lead all the way up to Nixon. So how is this  proof of Govt doing it?  Is there a money trail or orders made by pro Govt agencies? This is unnecessary noise and hawa mein teer marna 

This is age old allegation of phone tapping by opposition with absolutely no proof , even SoGa accused Devegowda  of phone tapping and asked him to get down his gaddi 

14 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

yes, if the Govt wants to and does in fact, intercept WhatsApp msgs on suspicion, it can do so So, imagine NaMo saying it and all the hullabaloo happening. 

Their phone numbers are part of a leaked database accessed by the non-profit French media Forbidden Stories and shared with an international media consortium, which includes The Washington Post, The Guardian and The Wire, as part of what is called Th...

Read more at: https://www.deccanherald.com/state/top-karnataka-stories/pegasus-snooped-on-karnataka-ministers-their-aides-just-before-congress-jds-government-toppled-in-2019-report-1010797.html

So an independent company , name sounds like a B-grade tabloid is more credible for these consortium of leftists rags? What is the credibility of these leaked databases. Bas unhone keh diya aur sabne maan liya. 

Watergate, had leaked documents signed by the White House which lead all the way up to Nixon. So how is this  proof of Govt doing it?  Is there a money trail or orders made by pro Govt agencies? This is unnecessary noise and hawa mein teer marna 

This is age old allegation of phone tapping by opposition with absolutely no proof , even SoGa accused Devegowda  of phone tapping and asked him to get down his gaddi 

What is there to imagine? Current govt is already doing what MMS said.

15 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Suggest you actually take time to read the source before accusing them.

Also please settle on one spin to counter this. You are first blaming Congress to show that everyone does this so it's okay. Then you doubt the source and say the govt didn't do it. Which one is it??

Relax, take a deep breath and settle on one lie. :phehe:

8 minutes ago, ash said:

Suggest you actually take time to read the source before accusing them.

Also please settle on one spin to counter this. You are first blaming Congress to show that everyone does this so it's okay. Then you doubt the source and say the govt didn't do it. Which one is it??

Relax, take a deep breath and settle on one lie. :phehe:

Before you compare this nautanki (drama) with The Watergate, show us how this can be connected to the Govt? You are the one equating India to North Korea and hyperventilating. Did you post this too?