Adamant Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 1 hour ago, First class said: Pant, really ?? Pant to fir bhi theek hai , one of them has picked Rashid Khan. sandeep 1
Adamant Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 10 hours ago, sandeep said: @Chakdephatte Cronje should not have been part of this draft. Match Fixers are to be filtered and thrown out of any and all cricket discussions. Also, bowling looks a bit light, especially on the spin front. @R!TTER talk about bat-deep!! Maco was no mug with the bat, and would easily bat #8 or even #7 in most XIs, and here he is the only guy who can bat last. That is some batting depth. Again bit light on spin, and Anwar at the top is shaky. @Majestic That bowling lineup is awesome, powerful enough to carry overrated Justin Langer at the top of the batting. @Rantzz Imagine a partnership between Warner and IVAR, or IVAR with Kapil, or Botham. That would be nuts. Or imagine Dravid and Chanderpaul Pujara-ing their way through an entire day! @QuarantineTormentino Extra love for picking my boi Washi as 12th man. Lets hope he lives up our expectations and soon! :) @JaFanatic One of the most balanced teams in the list. Shaqib is very underrated as a test cricketer, but you cheated by picking zero openers and going with Root and Hussey. @zen has picked quite a team there - Apart from SMG, most of those guys are quite the entertainers. Interesting test XI, would be amazing to watch ! Wow, you analysed every team but mine.
Adamant Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 According to me , the top three teams are - 1. @R!TTER 2. @Majestic 3. @Rantzz
Adamant Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 9 hours ago, zen said: e) Great spin attack in the form of off-spin wizard and one man army - Murali. Rashid, the 12th man, can support Murali with his leg spin with the express pace bowlers put in
Majestic Posted December 21, 2021 Author Posted December 21, 2021 (edited) My order is :- 1. R!TTER 2. Adamant 3. Zen/Rantzz Edited December 21, 2021 by Majestic
Majestic Posted December 21, 2021 Author Posted December 21, 2021 @JaFanatic has got the greatest middle order batting lineup posted ever in the history of any drafts but how can you not pick specialist openers? Root's record is best at 4 and 5. At 3, his average goes down to 40 and as opener, it would be even harder for him.
Chakdephatte Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 (edited) 15 hours ago, sandeep said: @Chakdephatte Cronje should not have been part of this draft. Match Fixers are to be filtered and thrown out of any and all cricket discussions. Also, bowling looks a bit light. @R!TTERERTTETTER Did you complain when someone picked Miandad who has connections with Dawood? Edited December 21, 2021 by Chakdephatte
Chakdephatte Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 15 hours ago, sandeep said: @Chakdephatte Cronje should not have been part of this draft. Match Fixers are to be filtered and thrown out of any and all cricket discussions. Also, bowling looks a bit light, especially on the spin front. @R!TTERTTE I though you were one sensible poster here. If you were so morally right, you wouldn't have let any Pakistani player get picked. How did Imran Khan get picked in the first round? I choose my top 4 and bowlers earlier, by the time I got to choose my no. 7, all good no. 7s got picked, except some obscure players from '80s which I have no knowledge of. It's not that I am paying him to play for me.
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 3 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: I though you were one sensible poster here. If you were so morally right, you wouldn't have let any Pakistani player get picked. How did Imran Khan get picked in the first round? I choose my top 4 and bowlers earlier, by the time I got to choose my no. 7, all good no. 7s got picked, except some obscure players from '80s which I have no knowledge of. It's not that I am paying him to play for me. ??? I don't view ball-tampering and match-fixing as "similar" levels of crimes. Regardless, relax buddy, you don't need to "defend" your choices. Its just an off the cuff comment and opinion. There is no requirement that you "obey" it or anything.
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 8 hours ago, Adamant said: Wow, you analysed every team but mine. Sorry bhai missed it in the scrolling up and down when I was typing. Not intentional. I started off just commenting on a couple of the teams, then I felt this was a fun exercise you guys did, and it would be interesting to 'review' each team. 'Adamant XI' - Miandad in the middle order is going to struggle without home umpires and Cairns might sell you out. Rest looks pretty good. Adamant 1
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 8 hours ago, Adamant said: TLDR EVERYONE SHOULD WORSHIP SACHIN. Bingo. Yet another virtue signaler 'canceling' those who disagree by accusations of 'worship'. Acknowleding the greatness of ATG players is not the same as 'worship'. But hey facts dont matter so carry on.... Chakdephatte 1
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 9 hours ago, First class said: Pant, really ?? These days its de riguer to pick a 'keeper who's very good with the bat. Keepers prior to the modern era weren't as productive with bat in hand, whether that's Rodney Marsh or Syed Kirmani. And Pant, in a very short career already has centuries in England and Aus, and has played a massive role in winning a historically significant series. Its not a bad shake for him to be in the mix, no? Can you think of other 'keepers who are reasonably productive with the bat who could displace him? Chakdephatte 1
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 8 hours ago, Adamant said: Pant to fir bhi theek hai , one of them has picked Rashid Khan. I refrained from mocking that one, but you sucked me into it!
Chakdephatte Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 15 minutes ago, sandeep said: ??? I don't view ball-tampering and match-fixing as "similar" levels of crimes. Regardless, relax buddy, you don't need to "defend" your choices. Its just an off the cuff comment and opinion. There is no requirement that you "obey" it or anything. Nothing specific about ball tempering. Imran Khan was just an example, but an important one since his anti-India stance is not hidden to anyone. I feel the OP should have made a rule about not having Pakistanis, for the same reason for which they are barred from IPL. I know I didn't 'obey' this rule. sandeep 1
Chakdephatte Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 (edited) 14 minutes ago, sandeep said: These days its de riguer to pick a 'keeper who's very good with the bat. Keepers prior to the modern era weren't as productive with bat in hand, whether that's Rodney Marsh or Syed Kirmani. And Pant, in a very short career already has centuries in England and Aus, and has played a massive role in winning a historically significant series. Its not a bad shake for him to be in the mix, no? Can you think of other 'keepers who are reasonably productive with the bat who could displace him? I will add that he is competent with gloves. He was horrible in 2018 but as of now, he is really good. Kept well against England both at home and away this year. I would rate him the third best wicketkeeper (men) today. People mock him because of herd mentality. Edited December 21, 2021 by Chakdephatte sandeep 1
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 3 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said: I will add that he is competent with gloves. He was horrible in 2018 but as of now, he is really good. Kept well against England both at home and away this year. I would rate him the third best wicketkeeper (men) today. People mock him because of herd mentality. yes, not unlike Dhoni in that respect -both him and Pant were at least slightly questionable when they started off in tests, but to be fair, both worked at it, and have become, at a minimum, dependable with gloves. I mean, just look at Buttler recently. Chakdephatte 1
zen Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, sandeep said: As the “12th” man, I like Rashid ( played a handful of tests so stats do not matter - some ppl have equated picking drafts to picking popular players and filling the team with such players to make “stale” teams): * AFG fighting spirit (fits with the vision of my team. I am not collecting names based on popularity and number of fans, but players that fit my vision and the role that I have open) * Good fielder * Decent bat * Supports Murali’s off spin with leg spin if played in certain conditions (no point in having 2 off spinners, Sehwag can bowl off spin too) * Accurate for a leg spinner relative to other choices such as McGill (can be on and off and do not want too many Aus), Tahir (can be on and off too), and so on (I do not prefer conditions dependent left arm slow spinners like Axar, etc). Accuracy also means he can potentially get more out of a bad pitch, by exploiting certain areas, where he is likely to be played * Has quite a few subtle varieties up his sleeve * With men around the bat and Murali at other end, playing when conditions favor him, Rashid can be a handful * Also a nod to the associates (I don’t want every pick to be from key nations) Zen master thinks of everything Edited December 21, 2021 by zen
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 13 minutes ago, zen said: As the “12th” man, I like Rashid ( played a handful of tests so stats do not matter - some ppl have equated picking drafts to picking popular players and filling the team with such players to make “stale” teams): * AFG fighting spirit (fits with the vision of my team. I am not collecting names based on popularity and number of fans, but players that fit my vision and the role that I have open) * Good fielder * Decent bat * Supports Murali’s off spin with leg spin if played in certain conditions (no point in having 2 off spinners, Sehwag can bowl off spin too) * Accurate for a leg spinner relative to other choices such as McGill (can be on and off and do not want too many Aus), Tahir (can be on and off too), and so on (I do not prefer conditions dependent left arm slow spinners like Axar, etc). Accuracy also means he can potentially get more out of a bad pitch, by exploiting certain areas, where he is likely to be played * Has quite a few subtle varieties up his sleeve * With men around the bat and Murali at other end, playing when conditions favor him, Rashid can be a handful * Also a nod to the associates (I don’t want every pick to be from key nations) Zen master thinks of everything methinks Zen doth protest too much
zen Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 Just now, sandeep said: methinks Zen doth protest too much zen master is ahead of the curve … these guys will be posting such teams years down the line
sandeep Posted December 21, 2021 Posted December 21, 2021 4 minutes ago, zen said: zen master is ahead of the curve … these guys will be posting such teams years down the line You are way ahead, just like this guy: zen 1