India abstains

goose

32 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

A pscyhopath putting the lives of his own people along with ukraine people should be strongly condemned. Is there a reason why they abstain from this? Abstaining is as good as supporting him.

are you seriously asking such a basic question?

We are in a state of undeclared conflict with both northern neighbors - one of them is a bankrupt weanie, and can be handled, but the other one poses a significant threat.  If we have Galwan 2.0, or a bigger skirmish, Russian arms supplies would be absolutely critical.  India is more than 10 years away - at best, at breaking free from Russian dependence in terms of military supply.  

To put it simply, we cannot afford to jeopardize our military supply given the situation with China.  

There is no alternative to abstaining.  There just isn't.

37 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

A pscyhopath putting the lives of his own people along with ukraine people should be strongly condemned. Is there a reason why they abstain from this? Abstaining is as good as supporting him.

That's naive and you are very wrong to have a binary view. Nothing is black & white. For Russia, it is a regime change operation, and why should India see it any different than their US or western partners past wars? India is abstaining from other countries fight.

India will be on its own if it takes a high morality stand on every world event, and India cannot be alone. If we are a superpower in future, that could be change.

2 hours ago, sandeep said:

We are in a state of undeclared conflict with both northern neighbors - one of them is a bankrupt weanie, and can be handled, but the other one poses a significant threat.  If we have Galwan 2.0, or a bigger skirmish, Russian arms supplies would be absolutely critical.  India is more than 10 years away - at best, at breaking free from Russian dependence in terms of military supply.  

To put it simply, we cannot afford to jeopardize our military supply given the situation with China.  

Brahma Chellany put it very beautifully. International laws and rules are very powerful against powerless nations but powerless against powerful nations.

If India has no say in case of Iraq, Syria, Kosovo, Afghanistan then why it needs to have a say against someone who have aligned some of our concerns and interest since Indirajis era for NATO and West to take action. Simply, they are trying to find excuses to their inaction.

Above does not means I support Russia. Infact from my PoV, I want it to be brought to knees. But Biden has simply failed. To all Biden supporters, check the timeline of troup buildup on Ukranian border. Putin did it because he realised US has got a indecisive President 

1 hour ago, MultiB48 said:

India itself is a fascist country.From Kashmir to North East to various other regions and Christians, Muslims,Dalits ,Sikhs ,Women all are under oppression and facing persecution.

How can they point fingers at others.

Specially how can they opine to leaders of free world.

2 hours ago, sandeep said:

@vvs is Pakka democrat all the US news currently says Putin is bad person in the world. A bit surprised he know little about Pakistan and China.

3 hours ago, sandeep said:

Russia also vetoed resolutions against India 6 times. @putrevus below is the some historical context. Russia stood with India thick and through and even now we can only defend borders because of Russia weapons.

It’s funny Portugal was angry that we got our own territory goa back lol and they went to UN. The occupier went to UN to plead justice.

https://www.postoast.com/number-of-times-russia-used-veto-power-to-support-india-in-unsc/

How Russia supported India in the UN?

As an all-weathered friend, Russia has also utilised its veto power in favour of India throughout the years. In all, the permanent member of the UN Security Council has exercised its veto four times in favour of India. Moscow’s status as a key ally in South Asia has not weakened over the years.

It is no secret that throughout the Cold War, the former Soviet Union rejected multiple UNSC resolutions on Kashmir, preventing the internationalization of what is fundamentally a bilateral dispute. Soviet Union was the sole country to block proposals demanding UN action in Kashmir in the UN Security Council in 1957, 1962, and 1971.

In December 1961, Russia stood with India when it freed Goa and thrashed NATO member Portugal, causing many in the West to turn crimson.

Last but not least, in August 2019, Russia became one of the first countries to define India’s action on Kashmir (scrapping Article 370 and state bifurcation) as strictly an internal matter, calling for a settlement under the 1972 Shimla Agreement and the 1999 Lahore Declaration. Since then, the Russian Foreign Minister and other officials have reaffirmed their position.

Edited by gattaca

Just saying.

This doesnt $ucking mean we support aggression, killing, invading other countries. But all of a sudden UK, US have problem with invasion and lives lost. I have full sympathy for both Ukrainian and Russian forces who risking their lives. It is not easy. India has to safeguard its interest, about 1.4B people to feed. 

Just for the record, 1.4B people breathing and spreading CO2 in the atmosphere is also a problem for the western world. Toh kya ab mar jaye hum. Ajeen $hutiyapa hai. I mean havent UK occupied whole world, havent US invaded dozens of countries, have arabs invaded so many countries. 

I am personally against this war not sure how to stop it.

3 hours ago, someone said:

That's naive and you are very wrong to have a binary view. Nothing is black & white. For Russia, it is a regime change operation, and why should India see it any different than their US or western partners past wars? India is abstaining from other countries fight.

India will be on its own if it takes a high morality stand on every world event, and India cannot be alone. If we are a superpower in future, that could be change.

You are not going to be isolated taking a stance on this. You will be isolated only if you abstain from it.

19 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Russia also vetoed resolutions against India 6 times. @putrevus below is the some historical context. Russia stood with India thick and through and even now we can only defend borders because of Russia weapons.

It’s funny Portugal was angry that we got our own territory goa back lol and they went to UN. The occupier went to UN to plead justice.

https://www.postoast.com/number-of-times-russia-used-veto-power-to-support-india-in-unsc/

How Russia supported India in the UN?

As an all-weathered friend, Russia has also utilised its veto power in favour of India throughout the years. In all, the permanent member of the UN Security Council has exercised its veto four times in favour of India. Moscow’s status as a key ally in South Asia has not weakened over the years.

It is no secret that throughout the Cold War, the former Soviet Union rejected multiple UNSC resolutions on Kashmir, preventing the internationalization of what is fundamentally a bilateral dispute. Soviet Union was the sole country to block proposals demanding UN action in Kashmir in the UN Security Council in 1957, 1962, and 1971.

In December 1961, Russia stood with India when it freed Goa and thrashed NATO member Portugal, causing many in the West to turn crimson.

Last but not least, in August 2019, Russia became one of the first countries to define India’s action on Kashmir (scrapping Article 370 and state bifurcation) as strictly an internal matter, calling for a settlement under the 1972 Shimla Agreement and the 1999 Lahore Declaration. Since then, the Russian Foreign Minister and other officials have reaffirmed their position.

Even French had colonised part of India but they left all without war but just one plebiscite in Chandrapur.

UN is colonial system. It does not represent Arabs, Indians, latin Americans and Africans which is 2/3rd of world population but incidentally also happened to be colonies of Europe. China is lucky to be on P5, as Japan was nuked at time else, probably It would have been Japan.

9 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

You are not going to be isolated taking a stance on this. You will be isolated only if you abstain from it.

Question is will US support India on Kashmir ? They haven’t done in last 70-80 years. The last time we converted Kashmir to union territory all the California democrats were against it. You see the problem with this ? Again only Russia supported trump didn’t care much about Kashmir it worked for India. We can’t depend on US for support they can at best ignore.

Edited by gattaca

3 hours ago, sandeep said:

It was in 2014. Significantly reduced over the years. We don't depend on Russia. Russia crippled. India has a 10 years partnership with Israel now. Russia  India's growth rate has been higher than Russia's. Now Russia's financial situation will get even worse. We are going to depend on them? 

33 minutes ago, gattaca said:

@vvs is Pakka democrat all the US news currently says Putin is bad person in the world. A bit surprised he know little about Pakistan and China.

:giggle:  Russia started executing Ukraine invasion plan as soon as Mr Biden was elected (Feb -March 2021 they sent first batch of 4000+ soldiers on excercise). And Biden has not done anything since attack, Financial fight is mostly Brit and EU plan. He refused to comment on Chinese support to Russia in UN.

But important part one must remeber is Trump shaked hand with Putin.

5 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Question is will US support India on Kashmir ? They haven’t done in last 70-80 years. The last time we converted Kashmir to union territory all the California democrats were against it. You see the problem with this ? Again only Russia supported trump didn’t care much about Kashmir it worked for India. We can’t depend on US for support they can at best ignore.

What statement has US made on Chinese invasion of Laddakh (Galwan, Depsang plains). Didn’t we lost all our investments in Afghanistan where NATO troups got pulled out from overnight despite whole world saying NO to it. And Mr Biden wants us to loose a time tested friend Russia because US and EU has messed up in Europe. Your mess, you sort it.

1 minute ago, gattaca said:

Question is will US support India on Kashmir ? They haven’t done in last 70-80 years. The last time we converted Kashmir to union territory all the California democrats were against it. You see the problem with this ? Again only Russia supported trump didn’t care much about Kashmir sis it worked for India. We can’t depend on US for support they can at best ignore.

It has zero relevance. Putin is not Russia. He either poisoned or killed or arrested his opponents. It is Putin's call. Asia was a weakass continent on this issue. I understand the stance of anti-democratic countries like China. But supposedly the democratic country took the side of autocracy with a weak-ass explanation. Path of diplomacy with Putin lol

India abstained on a US-sponsored UNSC resolution that “deplores in the strongest terms” Russia’s “aggression” against Ukraine. Tirumurti “regretted” that the “path of diplomacy was given up” and urged all parties to “return to it.”

6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

It has zero relevance. Putin is not Russia. He either poisoned or killed or arrested his opponents. It is Putin's call. Asia was a weakass continent on this issue. I understand the stance of anti-democratic countries like China. But supposedly the democratic country took the side of autocracy with a weak-ass explanation. Path of diplomacy with Putin lol

India abstained on a US-sponsored UNSC resolution that “deplores in the strongest terms” Russia’s “aggression” against Ukraine. Tirumurti “regretted” that the “path of diplomacy was given up” and urged all parties to “return to it.”

For now putin is Russia no other way around all the oligarchs have put him in place. Of course India can’t put a proper explanation of why it abstained. Russia is an ally through times and you can’t throw you ally under the bus. The bigger question is Why Russia attacked Ukraine its mostly the NATO and EU membership. These things didn’t happen in vaccum also Ukrainian leadership has some blame they are right next to Russia and wanted to join EU and bring NATO forces in the backyard of Russia. Why would Russia let it happen ?

Edited by gattaca