What would be your India's WT20 XI and 16 man squad as of today?

Majestic

Assuming all are fit, if you have to pick the best XI for World T20 at present, what would be your team? Also let's try to be realistic with what could be the team as there is no point making a XI by dropping Rohit, Kohli and Rahul. 

I will start with my team. This is of today. Things can obviously change but it won't change quickly in my case. I will try to stick with not much changes in my mind. 

Rohit

Rahul

Kohli

Pant(wkt)

Pandya( assuming he bowls or else no)

SKY

Jadeja/Washington

D Chahar( Shardul if  Chahar unfit)

Shami

Bumrah

Yuzi

Others:

Shardul Thakur

Washington Sundar

Dinesh Karthik

Umran Malik

Kuldeep Yadav

That's 16 names. Still guys like Harshal, Siraj, Bishnoi, Shreyas, Kishan are left unpicked. Pick your 16 man squad for WT20 as of now.

Edited by Majestic

Preferably I would want SKY at 3 and DK at 6 in this XI but then I won't be realistic with my team selection as Kohli won't get dropped for sure. I am just trying to pick the best possible XI by keeping a realistic chances of right and probable selections.

Edited by Majestic

My preferred 16 man squad atm (assuming everyone is fit)

Gill

KL

Tripathi - for advanced 360 degrees pitch hitting to take on the bowlers whether a wkt falls early or late. If he clicks great; if he gets out, the MO (#4-7) can play per the situation 

SDP

SKY

DK

Sundar

D Chahar 

Umran

Natrajan

Chahal 

Pant

Agarwal or Samson (can do well in Aus and good fielders as well)

Bumrah

Kuldeep  

A pace bowling AR like Thakur, Harshal, etc. 

This is the squad I would want to see:

KL

Shaw

SKY

Hardik

Pant

DK

Sundar

Harshal

Avesh

Bumrah (c)

Chahal

Bench: Samson, Deepak Chahar/Shardul, Venky, Kuldeep, Umran

But this is most likely the squad we are going to see:

Rohit (c)

KL

Kohli

Pant

SKY

Hardik

Jadeja

Deepak Chahar/Lord

Bhuvi

Bumrah

Chahal

Bench: Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep, Sundar, Venky

Playing XI:

Shaw

Rohit

SKY

Rahul

Pant (wk)

Pandya

Sundar

Chahal

Bumrah

Siraj

Natarajan

Reserves:

Gill

Jadeja

D.Chahar

Umran

Prasidh

Mentor:

King Kohli

Mentor's mentor:

Thala Dhoni

I am inclined to include Karthik but considering WC will be in Australia and DKs form is mostly in Sub Continent, I would not pick him at this stage of his career.

The same reason (WC in Australia) I would pick Rohit & Pant where they have historically performed well.

Edited by Austin 3:!6

1. Rohit ( only because he is the captain )

2. Shaw (  for quick starts )

3. Rahul

4. Pant

5 .SKY

6. Hardik

7. Jadeja

8. Harshal .. Death bowler cum lower order hitter

9. Bumrah .. Death bowler cum enforcer pacer

10. Chahal

11. Prasidh .. for PP bowling .. he is ideal on bouncy tracks

12. Gill .. backup top order batter

13. Karthik .. backup middle order batter

14. Washington / Axar .. backup spinner all-rounder 

15. Shardul .. backup pacer all-rounder 

16. Umran .. backup enforcer pacer 

17. Natarajan .. backup death bowler

.... This team has batting till 8

.... There are 6 bowlers

.... 4 pace bowling options

....  Bowlers for all phases 

.... 2 spinners

.... 1 dashing opener

....  Big hitters from 2 to 8

.... This squad has 3 quick bowlers who maybe needed on some tracks in Australia

Edited by express bowling

1 hour ago, zen said:

My preferred 16 man squad atm (assuming everyone is fit)

Gill

KL

Tripathi - for advanced 360 degrees pitch hitting to take on the bowlers whether a wkt falls early or late. If he clicks great; if he gets out, the MO (#4-7) can play per the situation 

SDP

SKY

DK

Sundar

D Chahar 

Umran

Natrajan

Chahal 

Pant

Agarwal or Samson (can do well in Aus and good fielders as well)

Bumrah

Kuldeep  

A pace bowling AR like Thakur, Harshal, etc. 

Interesting team but I hope you are sticking with similar combinations  or max 1-2 changes 20 days later and so on 2 months later. Shouldn't be that few bad games and Tripathi is out of squad and so is Gill who get replace by Shaw or Kishan ( that too keeps changing) or you again go back to say, Ruturaj once he has couple of great knocks in IPL.

Edited by Majestic

13 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Interesting team but I hope you are sticking with similar combinations  or max 1-2 changes 20 days later and so on 2 months later. Shouldn't be that few bad games and Tripathi is out of squad and so is Gill who get replace by Shaw or Kishan ( that too keeps changing) or you again go back to say, Ruturaj once he has couple of great knocks in IPL.

Team is per how I want it to play cricket 

Shaw & Kishan can be attacked with short balls on big OZ grounds so do not care what they do in IPL 

There is KL & Gill (both have played in OZ) to play a long inning, whoever has a good day, so Rutu is not needed 

If Tripathi, who appears to be not stats focused, does not do well, the squad has Agarwal/Samson (both have played in OZ) to play a similar role (#1-3 backup)

Pant (also has OZ experience) as backup for MO (#4-7) or can come in if better form 

:dontknow: 

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

Pressure ka...  WC semis mai we lost under pressure mai SF haar gye...  Same goes in CT17 on a ultra flat oval surface. 

pressure men to kaptaan crumble team crumble

Rahi baat pressure situation ki pant is the players , iyer aur tripathi ka konsa sample hai ?

6 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

what mentally strong ?? iska konsa test hota hai 

Mentally strong people always have goals set for themselves, and are working toward them. They practice gratitude for what they have and self-care. Through spending meaningful time alone, they know who they are and establish healthy boundaries. Even when they experience self-doubt, they push themselves through.

#copied

This is hillarious. Yaha Rohit, Rahul, Kohli me se koi drop honge nahi and ye yaha Gill ko la rahe.. 

Bhai Gill ko agar le v aoge to wo Rohit, Rahul, Kohli se fast nahi khelega.. if all you have got is Gill, then we are better with Rohit, Rahul and Kohli instead in top 3.

Edited by Majestic