Vijy Posted December 30, 2022 Posted December 30, 2022 On 12/12/2022 at 11:28 AM, express bowling said: Have you seen TA Sekhar bowl ? If yes, then how was he as a pacer ? He was probably the first genuine quick to represent independent India. Before him, Pandurang Salgaokar never got to play for India. yes, I did see him. he had good stamina, mostly bowled back of a length, and achieved considerable bounce (but not as much as, say, prasidh). two of his failings were lack of control and fragile temperament. he had 4 catches dropped in his test vs a very strong pak lineup in home conditions and had 1-2 plumb LBWs turned down. should have gotten more chances. here's a decent article on his career trajectory. Pandurang Salgaoncar was, IMO, a slightly better test prospect than sekhar, although I saw him only toward the latter parts of his career. he was brisk, but not a genuine quick bowler - i.e., the type who can occasionally hit peak speeds of low 140s, but mostly operates in mid-130s. might even be called borderline-trundler these days, but in those times, he was quite quick. he had a good temperament, got some swing, albeit not much bounce. the two that I heard a lot from pre-independent india from my grandfather were Mohd. Nissar and L. Ramji. the latter, in particular, was nearly as fast as larwood as per my grandfather who saw both playing live. enough of the history lesson for now... :) express bowling, nevada, Mosher and 2 others 1 4
speedracer Posted December 30, 2022 Posted December 30, 2022 1 hour ago, Vijy said: yes, I did see him. he had good stamina, mostly bowled back of a length, and achieved considerable bounce (but not as much as, say, prasidh). two of his failings were lack of control and fragile temperament. he had 4 catches dropped in his test vs a very strong pak lineup in home conditions and had 1-2 plumb LBWs turned down. should have gotten more chances. here's a decent article on his career trajectory. Pandurang Salgaoncar was, IMO, a slightly better test prospect than sekhar, although I saw him only toward the latter parts of his career. he was brisk, but not a genuine quick bowler - i.e., the type who can occasionally hit peak speeds of low 140s, but mostly operates in mid-130s. might even be called borderline-trundler these days, but in those times, he was quite quick. he had a good temperament, got some swing, albeit not much bounce. the two that I heard a lot from pre-independent india from my grandfather were Mohd. Nissar and L. Ramji. the latter, in particular, was nearly as fast as larwood as per my grandfather who saw both playing live. enough of the history lesson for now... :) My grandpa says ta shekar was actually really fast. 135-145 range. For those times was rapid. Vijy and express bowling 2
express bowling Posted December 30, 2022 Author Posted December 30, 2022 4 hours ago, Vijy said: yes, I did see him. he had good stamina, mostly bowled back of a length, and achieved considerable bounce (but not as much as, say, prasidh). two of his failings were lack of control and fragile temperament. he had 4 catches dropped in his test vs a very strong pak lineup in home conditions and had 1-2 plumb LBWs turned down. should have gotten more chances. here's a decent article on his career trajectory. In those days of poor protective gear and no practice against bowling machines, even inaccurate pace and bounce fetched wickets. 4 hours ago, Vijy said: Pandurang Salgaoncar was, IMO, a slightly better test prospect than sekhar, although I saw him only toward the latter parts of his career. he was brisk, but not a genuine quick bowler - i.e., the type who can occasionally hit peak speeds of low 140s, but mostly operates in mid-130s. might even be called borderline-trundler these days, but in those times, he was quite quick. he had a good temperament, got some swing, albeit not much bounce. Hit the deck pacers, who bowled 130 k to 142 k with bounce, were considered fast in the 1970s. They did not have helmets then and even Unadkat would have been a nightmare to face. Mosher and Vijy 2
Vijy Posted December 30, 2022 Posted December 30, 2022 5 hours ago, express bowling said: In those days of poor protective gear and no practice against bowling machines, even inaccurate pace and bounce fetched wickets. Hit the deck pacers, who bowled 130 k to 142 k with bounce, were considered fast in the 1970s. They did not have helmets then and even Unadkat would have been a nightmare to face. Pandu also swung the ball decently, although he was not a bona fide swing bowler. good prospect, should have played 40-50 tests for ind at the minimum. express bowling, BacktoCricaddict and speedracer 1 2
Pakistan Posted February 4, 2023 Posted February 4, 2023 On 12/12/2022 at 4:56 PM, sandeep said: are we talking about Shaheen shah afridi, Naseem Shah, Rauf, who exactly are you bashing? Our boys played in tournament which matter. Your boy missed both Asia Cup and T20 World Cup and watch the embarrassing semifinal lose to England on Tele. I wonder if he broke his TV.
Pakistan Posted February 4, 2023 Posted February 4, 2023 On 12/12/2022 at 5:16 AM, neel roy said: Bhai itna phaast bowler leke home series haarte ho do do baar. Played 5 tests at Home and couldnt even win a single one. Lol hum logo ke paas kuch nahi hai par phir bhi we won in home against aus beat them away twice, beat eng at home and drew away winning two tests.. hum logon ke paas phaast bowlers nahi hai.. maaf kar do.. par hum logo ke paas shardul thakur hai We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square.
neel roy Posted February 5, 2023 Posted February 5, 2023 4 hours ago, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. lol u lose at home u lose abroad. we win at home in our own pitches fair and square. we win at aus eng saf at their prepared pitches. you lose to srilanka you lose to windies. in 2015 younlost to zimbabwe in test. all fair and sqaure raki05 and express bowling 2
singhvivek141 Posted February 5, 2023 Posted February 5, 2023 5 hours ago, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. Even that needs skill and courage, your dumb curators will prepare highways to avoid embarassment, but even that can't stop you from loosing. Imagine what will happen when you will play on decisive pitches, maybe linger even lower than Afghanistan. raki05, express bowling and Stan AF 3
singhvivek141 Posted February 5, 2023 Posted February 5, 2023 5 hours ago, Pakistan said: Our boys played in tournament which matter. Your boy missed both Asia Cup and T20 World Cup and watch the embarrassing semifinal lose to England on Tele. I wonder if he broke his TV. Did your team won these 2 tournaments ? We beat Australia in their own den with half of our established team injured, we beat Australia at their fortress Gabba. And here your guys were tored apart at your own home by same Aussies. Shows the capability of your fast bowlers who start huffing in mid 120's if they have to bowl more than 5 overs in a session. Go and first win something substantial, before making false claims that will get ridiculed off. express bowling and raki05 2
Lone Wolf Posted February 5, 2023 Posted February 5, 2023 8 hours ago, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. O chal oye... Lose to windies & Zimbabwe of all people & Sri lanka. Lost to NZ & Whitewashed by SL in UAE.. Not even counting recent home series defeats & continuous humiliations in Aus & SA. Lost like 10 home series in 90's including Zimbabwe. Chai Patti chaiye toh bolna agli baar. raki05 and express bowling 2
speedracer Posted February 5, 2023 Posted February 5, 2023 12 hours ago, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. Lol. India produces very fair pitches. Also we smashed your overlords in Australia and drew in englund. Technically won as we should have won the series if not for rain. Pussy England cried like bitches. express bowling 1
Vijy Posted February 6, 2023 Posted February 6, 2023 (edited) On 2/4/2023 at 6:32 PM, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. virtually all teams "fix" pitches; by the word "fix", what it means is that all teams try to maximize what matters to them. Eng, NZ --> prepare greentops for certain teams SA --> prepare bouncy greentops to boost their pacer records SL, Bang --> spin tracks Pak --> flat tracks to boost Babar's avg and convert him into Akbar every team does it. the diff, however, is that your team cares more about boosting babar's personal records than winning. in this day and age, that is a shameful fact - it resembles SC in the 00s where likes of thilan samaraweera were plundering 100s and 200s for fun. one must win at all costs, even if it means sacrificing batting avgs in the process. but, no, pak needs its barber to be on top Edited February 6, 2023 by Vijy express bowling 1
sandeep Posted February 6, 2023 Posted February 6, 2023 8 hours ago, Vijy said: pak needs its barber to be on top on top of what exactly? Guy is a middling stats accumulator - In a game that counts, everybody knows that the wicket of a smith, kohli, or even a labuschagne would carry more weight than his.
sandeep Posted February 6, 2023 Posted February 6, 2023 On 12/29/2022 at 7:30 PM, Vijy said: it was probably rahul. he has a classic face that exemplifies the beautiful quasi-german word Backpfeifengesicht TIL. But how the f do you pronounce that. Vijy 1
raki05 Posted February 6, 2023 Posted February 6, 2023 On 2/5/2023 at 5:02 AM, Pakistan said: We do not fix pitches like some other teams so lose fair and square. Ya you fix matches for 500$ ...... express bowling 1
speedracer Posted February 7, 2023 Posted February 7, 2023 12 hours ago, sandeep said: TIL. But how the f do you pronounce that. Baackfaifenguyist That's sort of how u pronounce it. Fai fen guy yist Got some German friends. It's also pronounced as baa ck sandeep, express bowling and Vijy 3
singhvivek141 Posted February 7, 2023 Posted February 7, 2023 16 hours ago, raki05 said: Ya you fix matches for 500$ ...... Bhai as per the current situation, they'll fix for 1 kg of wheat flour raki05 and express bowling 2
express bowling Posted February 24, 2023 Author Posted February 24, 2023 MD. SIRAJ Bouncer barrage to Warner https://www.bcci.tv/videos/5559328/fiery-spell-alert-mohammed-siraj-vs-david-warner Suhaan and Mosher 2
speedracer Posted February 24, 2023 Posted February 24, 2023 On 2/6/2023 at 11:49 PM, raki05 said: Ya you fix matches for 500$ ...... phhaast bowlers zyada hai. Tape ball keeengs. Not one tullah can bowl faster than 138 consistently in tests without collapsing. Salah lowda. Bunch of weaklings. Weak genetics. That's why they get molested by india in Olympics which btw india don't even take seriously as we lack funding and sledom pick our best athletes to represent the country . Vijy 1
Suhaan Posted February 24, 2023 Posted February 24, 2023 2 hours ago, express bowling said: MD. SIRAJ Bouncer barrage to Warner https://www.bcci.tv/videos/5559328/fiery-spell-alert-mohammed-siraj-vs-david-warner Looks like the speed guns have rather been on slower side in this series express bowling and Mosher 2