Spectacular recollections! :nice: Come this February, it will be 6 years on icf for me. I occasionally look at the photo of me from 2007 and cannot believe the fresh-faced, bright-eyed countenance I see. On ICF, I have literally grown from being a boy to a young adult. Since 2007, my life's completely transformed - From being a student to a working professional, many jobs have come and gone, so have relationships, friends and acquaintances. I have changed homes, cars, pretty much everything that you can think of in your day-to-day life. ICF's probably been one of the rare constants. I have contemplated quitting (or at least downsizing) my online presence for a long time now. If I ever were to have to embark on that, the first casualty would have to be ICF (I have very little online presence otherwise). It has always puzzled me that something keeps bringing me back here and I can never put the finger on exactly what it is. Maybe it is the collective love and passion we share for the game of cricket. The prospect of debating the Indian's cricket team's fortunes to death with some really bright individuals was simply too irresistible for me to counter. But over time, my engagement with the game has diminished, but not my involvement with ICF. And thats partly because ICF gives me the opportunity to interact with Indians from other states, regions, religions and linguistic background. This was something I never had growing up as a kid and seems like it was something I always longed for. ICF fills that void in my life. The spirited debates we have between people with varying perspectives is something I cannot get elsewhere (though the freedom of speech has its fair share of pitfalls as well). ICF has also taught to abide by the spirit of partnership and collaboration. We dont have a one-man-dominates-all system here. Its a true democracy, where even minor details are vigorously debated to their bone. Our solutions may not be perfect, but we never claim them to be. ICF has also inspired me to invest in a lifelong commitment to health and fitness. Back in 2008, I was overweight, even bordering on obese. But Lurker's fitness thread really kick-started my long (and ongoing) journey to a life of health. Since then, I do not know how many 1000s of miles I must have clocked on the treadmill. Now, I am down more than 30 lbs from my 2008 levels and probably in the best shape of my life (If I ever get over my shyness one day, maybe I will post my before/after pics :--D). Thank you ICF, its been a wonderful journey, truly!

It's been a marvelous journey so far....4+ yrs...have grown up quite a bit. ICF has been like Complan and now I'm all grown. I would say ICF has come alive after the retirement of few oldies with variety of new members who bring their own flavor of tadka..keep this place jive and groovy. One thing hasn't changed though....Marirs/Ram still writes hypnotic essays :P

I feel tempted to write. I don't remember when I started but happened to bump into the site after I left the "other" site. Lot of respect for the founders who've kept this going, and I never see them being noobs. Thank you. 2 kids now. A career too, don't change jobs too often, been at the same company doing different things for 6 years now. Between soccer practice, baby sitting, chores and weekend naps, I barely get a chance. Lately I've realized cricket today isn't the game I loved. It's not because India is losing. Rather, the shallowness of all of it. I sure hope there's still a place here for someone like me. One day, I might just sign up for a NY area meet up.

Amazing to read all the previous posts here by the older members. I have enjoyed every bit of ICF so far in these 3 years and I hope ICF continues in this manner.

Loved your post Outy... Just to add my experience, I have calmed down a lot as well comparing myself to the Rahul I was 4 years back when I joined ICF.. Was always ready to fight anyone, anytime(perhaps Engineering life and too much gym does that to you) in University but since I got married to my love last year, I am always willing to listen, debate and have vowed to God that I will never raise my hand at anyone anymore.. Perhaps marrige makes you a line and length person like Anderson from an all out pacer like S.Tait :giggle: I don't know if 'It's been wonderful to discuss the scotches with Rahul ' was directed at me would love to share some career tips and life style over a glass of lassi with you(sadly I don't drink)

^Shaadi ho gayi ? Mubarak ho yaar...bataya nahi kisiko yahan :sherlock:
I guess :picsorstfu: would be the appropriate smiley for our paki brethren.
^Shaadi ho gayi ? Mubarak ho yaar...bataya nahi kisiko yahan .
I guess :picsorstfu: would be the appropriate smiley for our paki brethren.
haha ho gayi yaar... always ran away from marriage.. hamesha excuse deta tha ki gotta make a career, have to get Masters n MBA but u know desi culture.. Jaise hi Canadian goverment main Engineering ki job laga, tabhi se parents or gf ke parents ne bola ki ab to karlo...Its fair to say that girls parents are always conservative(I understand as I have a sister as well) and you can't date too long without commitment so either I had to loose my love or get married to her.. Wasn't a tough choice after that :--D Yeah I was so busy from from March till Sep taht I barely came online on ICF

The toughest thing, I think, is to keep battling life day in and out so that it does not turn you cynical. It is easy to turn cynical you know. Life goes on. Girls lose their prettiness, and innocence. You keep chugging at work and realize it is not always that the best person is awarded and so on. And yet somehow amidst it all you still get up every morning, get dressed and go to work, with a smile on your lips and optimism in your heart. Thats what life is, and ICF is an inherent part of it. I think it is fair to say that there has been a gradual but complete change at ICF. I see regionalism grow at an alarming rate. Still remember the first time, EVER, I had a debate on Bihar & Gujarat. It was with Birbal and he had a go at Bihar and me at Gujarat. He was a smart chap(still remember his Kapil-Ghavri article), we duked out two long days and that was that. I think Kapil brought us back together lol. Now it seems every 2nd day there is an article deriding some or the other state. And mostly by half baked illiterates. People write less, perhaps read even lesser. I know I am guilty of that more than many. Somehow with life catching on, and work, it is not as easy. Or maybe even that with responsibilities in life, you also become responsible on message boards. Not sure but I do miss being spontaneous and just write first and check later. I miss soft stories really. Tales of going out, flirting with girls, first kiss and all that. Tales about coming overseas, struggles, charms and (sex)capades lol. Then it became common. But perhaps for the same reason it became personal too. People do not talk/share much. There is also a sense of anger. Wonder if it is related to it too. And yet like the great Indian story we chug along. Articles bringing smile on face. A sense of Aha, I have been there when you hear people share their stories. You can criticize intelligence or the art of expression but you can not criticize passion. And it is lovely to see how some of us get caught up in life, the next ones join the ranks with their passion and make it their own version. Life goes on. :icflove:

Congrats Rahul

Came here in 2009 as a teenager looking to basically piss off Indians, not going to lie. Over time I started to really enjoy reading posts by some of the posters and having a good laugh with others. I stopped posting in between due to my life becoming quite busy but have recently started to post frequently again. Although at times alot of people may still think I'm just a "troller" I really have enjoyed some great discussions about a variety of things here such as heavy metal with sree_india, breaking bad, fighter jets and ofcourse cricket. From living in the UAE to currently living in the UK, alot of things have definitely changed in my life. I still have a lot of growing up to do so please do excuse my "rants" at time. Hope to remain here for a long time and look back at some of my posts and laugh.

i came here 3 years ago during tri series between bd, ind and sl just to troll :P then i started to like it and now i visit this site everyday at least once even if i dont post. like the atmosphere here and feel a bondage with all the tharkis :D specially texy :icflove:made friends like sabby the serious poster and sourav the gentleman :P miss shivani and sj :(( my present favourite posters are ganesharan, tdigi, mtc, sunny2,texy. i got banned once for 20 mins on 28th may 2012 for calling rajiv biaach :haha:

Just been here for a year. Got 12 months younger in that. Really infrequent and silent compared to other posters. I am still on observer mode, and will someday explode. Or, may retire silently as well. Thanks ICF for wasting a chunk of my time in 2012. :icflove:

Really infrequent and silent compared to other posters. I am still on observer mode, and will someday explode.
i mean if you describe 11,000+ posts in just over a year with words like 'infrequent', 'silent', 'observer mode' etc, im struggling to imagine what 'explode' will be like.
Just been here for a year. Got 12 months younger in that. Really infrequent and silent compared to other posters. I am still on observer mode, and will someday explode. Or, may retire silently as well. Thanks ICF for wasting a chunk of my time in 2012. :icflove:
:hysterical::hysterical: and talking about wasting your time... you left and came back. I even proposed that you should be banned..but no.. ab karo baat!

I joined the very first version of ICF as a teenager in the early noughties, when it was on the Rivals board. Moved on to sportsnetwork and finally here as one of the first few members. My only regret is not posting frequently enough here and establish the kind of relationships the Outy refers to or indeed get really involved in the epic brawls that did take place. (maybe that means I have a life :) ) Despite this I have been fortunate to have got to kinda 'know' some posters. From the likes of varsha and Aditi on 'Fever' to Cricket Girl, Gunner and Blue Brigade here. ICF is a great place to have a bit of fun and kill time- that sounds trivial but it is not really. And a great place to inform yourself if you really want, there have been some very bright and knowledgeable guys and not just on cricket related issues.

I was on Cricket web and planet cricket and enjoyed Banter with Many Like aussie1st and others.By Accident Came on to this site and this site .I was In Juniour college then and am know completing my btech.Believe it or not Started as a Dhoni Fan .I always had a passion for fast bowling and Hated when commentators said indian bowlers did not have pace.So Interacting with RKT and his passion for indian bowling was one of the main reasons this forum took over others for me.Also it was easier to be here when india lost. Always enjoyed Debates& views of SaneIndians,Lords, Mtc,CT, Outy,Rafa,Dm,Ganesh,Tdigi,Dc,LL,Numb,sid Classy Guys. .Also Guys like ,Sabby,Slickr,Indiakxp fan And sourav :finger: have just added new life to the forum along with KT Evergrowing no of predictions.

:omg::fear: