Border Gavaskar Trophy - Will this possibly be our best ever squad to tour Australia?

Is this our best ever squad  

8 members have voted

1. 1. Our

• Yes
    • No

2 hours ago, Kron said:

Kuldeep is good in tests but he is meek as hell. Drop him and pick a spinner who can bat if needed. Sundar is better for aus

Kuldeep at 9 I would say if we are playing him. He is quality in tests but mentality is questionable. 

Based on what? Really did you miss his 200-300 balls played in crucial situations in Eng series? Don't compare his white ball stats to anything in tests, ODI or T20 are a different ballgame together these days. Except that Eng 2018 test, on a green top, I don't remember a bad test from him.

Edited by R!TTER
2 minutes ago, Kron said:

In the middle order for tests? I guess so. But please so not ever play him in ko games or finals. Wtc final if we make it. Some players just don't have it. 

WTC final will be in Lords, England. He has 2 centuries in England. One in Lords and one in Oval. We won in Lords. Unless he mucks up badly in the Australia series and Sarfraz or Jurel plays career defining knocks he is a shoo in. Heck we played hack Iyer in the WTC Final. 

30 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Based on what? Really did you miss his 200-300 balls played in crucial situations in Eng series? Don't compare his white ball stats to anything in tests, ODI or T20 are a different ballgame together these days. Except that Eng 2018 test, on a green top, I don't remember a bad test from him.

In that recent England series? Yea he was good. Test series that is. There were times where they took him on and his face changed but he bounced back. Wish he did that in odi too.

Problem is in aus we need a proper batsman who can bowl at 7 and at 8 we need a good hitter who bowls well. 

At 9 we can afford to have kuldeep but that means rana has to be at 8

7 minutes ago, Kron said:

In the middle order for tests? I guess so. But please so not ever play him in ko games or finals. Wtc final if we make it. Some players just don't have it. 

naah dont confuse formats.

test cricket is anyways hard to crack especially overseas. kl is good overseas.

Edited by deathmonger
29 minutes ago, neel roy said:

WTC final will be in Lords, England. He has 2 centuries in England. One in Lords and one in Oval. We won in Lords. Unless he mucks up badly in the Australia series and Sarfraz or Jurel plays career defining knocks he is a shoo in. Heck we played hack Iyer in the WTC Final. 

Yea we will see. In middle order I guess. 

He has a tendency to perform in one innings per series and then fail in the rest. Same happened in the last test series in SA. Twice actually. 

Middle order of kela pant and I guess sarfraz is good enough. 

4 minutes ago, Kron said:

Problem is in aus we need a proper batsman who can bowl at 7 and at 8 we need a good hitter who bowls well. 

At 9 we can afford to have kuldeep but that means rana has to be at 8

Yes I wouldn't want him above Jadeja or even Ashwin as a lower order bat, but if I have to choose between their bowling on current form Kuldeep should win hands down. Would be interesting if we go with any pace bowling A/R aka Thakur saab :cantstop:

31 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

naah dont confuse formats.

test cricket is anyways hard to crack especially overseas. kl is good overseas.

Nha kela does well in one innings and fails in the rest. I know what he does. Have seen it happen too many times. 

But this is his last chance anyway. So we will see. 

He will play one good innings first up and then fail in the rest of the tests like In SA twice. Only time he did well was in England on some pattas. 

2 minutes ago, Kron said:

Nha kela does well in one innings and fails in the rest. I know what he does. Have seen it happen too many times. 

He will play one good innings first up and then fail in the rest of the tests like In SA twice. Only time he did well was in England on some pattas. 

He has two centuries in the toughest batting place on earth in south africa. His issue is consistency but even if he plays well and scores tons in 2/5 tests the return on investment is fine. Baaki 7 batsman kya aam khane jayenge.. kohlis 2014 aus tour 2018 england tour and Pujaras 2018 aus tour are the only 3 tours in last 14 years of SENA tours where single handedly one batsman was consistent. Doesnt happen everytime. Everyone has to chip in. 

3 hours ago, neel roy said:

But Thank God. No one is taking about Indias biggest reelstar, superstar.. spin hitter.. spin basher at no 5 or even in the team..  

Iyer?

5 hours ago, Gollum said:

2020-21 Aus was its peak version, watch how they brutalized Pak and NZ the previous season. Still can't believe how we beat them, that too after the Adelaide disaster. We also lost 3 tosses that series. 

Ever grateful to Rahane for calm, nurturing leadership.

5 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Eng touring Pak for 3 games this October though.

I reckon English test tours are still profitable to host nations..

Reckon SA is also hosting them for 4 tests in FTP.

Massive English contingent arrives in Windies NZ SA Aus.

Even our Dharmsala saw almost a packed stadium full of English supporters.

Yeah but series without Big 3 - I don't see anything more than 2 Tests.

And you're right. Only English red ball tours are somewhat profitable for smaller boards 

4 hours ago, Kron said:

I'm fine with a 100 and a 50.

Plus in 22 he also had a 50 in Wanderers.

Rahane in 2021 BGT had only 1 50+ score - the MCG one. Pujara had 3.

The first 3 tests I anyway see being low scoring ones.

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Ramraj Baniyan brand ambassador :hatsoff:

Hahahahahahhahahaha

Lol

What a comedy 

If only that dancing skills could help him with footwork vs pace and bounce 

Edited by Kron
2 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Ever grateful to Rahane for calm, nurturing leadership.

Rahane was a goat level captain. He never lost. Kohli was a great test captain but rahane was special. Ice cool. Too made his performances were too crap to allow him to lead the team. All that idiot has to do was average above 40 lol. Somehow he stuffed that. 

4 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Kabhi nahi, kaun hai ye :no:

Jao pehle us aadmi ka sign le ke aao jisne usko naam aur team main kaam diya tha..tab bataunga naam