Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

Just now, LordPrabhzy said:

Has a RCA been done on this? Is it because our boxing programmes/coaching centres which should start at childhood aren't the best, do we have the best coaches in the world?, is there enough funding for boxing institutions to support targeted boxers who have the potential, are boxers identified for their divisions got the best physical attributes- height, arm length, arms size etc

Pretty sure none of this happens in a country like India. 

Moreover we don't have boxing culture like you have in UK. It is an afterthought, at least with wrestling we have a historical connect to the sport. 

11 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Sift doesn't give winners vibe...hope she proves me wrong.

Looks like an aunty even though she is young. Not an athlete in prime shape.

But few aunties and uncles are winning in shooting and archery. That Turkish 51 year old is such a badass!!!!

Hope Sift proves us wrong. Somehow finish in top 8 and peak tomorrow. 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

But few aunties and uncles are winning in shooting and archery. That Turkish 51 year old is such a badass!!!!

Haan yaar, top 8 looks tough atm. Anjum mudgil has better chance at 9th pos.

Guatemalan world no 31 won a gold in shooting yesterday. So ranking doesnt matter

Bro in shooting not much of a fitness needed. Very skinny to very fat, all have medalled.

7 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

2023: In September, Sift broke the world record held by Britain’s Seonaid McIntosh,[8] by a margin of 2.6 points.Samra scored a total of 469.6 points, 154.6 in kneeling, 157.9 in prone and 157.1 in standing elimination to beat Qiongyue Zhang of China

^^ her world record is simple marvellous. Men's event gold came at 466 pts in Tokyo 

Seonaid McIntosh did her Masters in Mechanical Engineering, leading right now.

In Tokyo, an Austrian mathematician won gold in some cycling event.

How do these people manage time? Inspiring!!!!

3 minutes ago, Number said:

Bro in shooting not much of a fitness needed. Very skinny to very fat, all have medalled.

Technique and nerves based sport. But always preferable to be fit. 

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Pretty sure none of this happens in a country like India. 

Moreover we don't have boxing culture like you have in UK. It is an afterthought, at least with wrestling we have a historical connect to the sport. 

well then till that happens there's no point having expectations or being upset if we don't win medals or win against better boxers

If basic things like that are not in the system then we can just say we go to participate and not to win

Just now, LordPrabhzy said:

well then till that happens there's no point having expectations or being upset if we don't win medals or win against better boxers

If basic things like that are not in the system then we can just say we go to participate and not to win

We are angry because administrators did their usual chwtiyapa to deny our boxers seeds. If you are world number 3 and meet number 1 in R16 instead of SF, obviously you'll feel shortchanged.  

Sift has a bad kneeling session. Don't think she can recover from that. (96, 97)

Anjum Moudgil can still make it though. (97,99)

Next is prone position and this is the position where most the shooters will hit 99 or 100 owing to the stability of this position.

We are just one gold away from jumping 27 places in the table. 

It's so frustrating to see countries with a solitary silver medal ahead of us. They should devise a better ranking system.. ideally an accumulated medal score (Gold = 20, Silver = 10, Bronze = 5) or something like that. 

1 minute ago, Norman said:

It's so frustrating to see countries with a solitary silver medal ahead of us. They should devise a better ranking system.. ideally an accumulated medal score (Gold = 20, Silver = 10, Bronze = 5) or something like that. 

We ll drop twenty places in tokyo then

2 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

Sift has a bad kneeling session. Don't think she can recover from that. (96, 97)

Anjum Moudgil can still make it though. (97,99)

Next is prone position and this is the position where most the shooters will hit 99 or 100 owing to the stability of this position.

This format of kneeling prone and standing is actually very logical and scientific and tests a lot of things. In a forest if you are hunting a man eater you cant expect to stand and shoot. Or if you in trenches you cant just be prone.. you may need to kneel..

3 minutes ago, Norman said:

For a country like India, more number of medals should be priority. Especially if we have a diverse spread of medals, across disciplines and gender. 

Tokyo was good in that regard: javelin, hockey, boxing, wrestling, badminton, weightlifting. 3 individual medals by men, 3 by women, and hockey men team's medal (women also exceeded expectations by reaching SF, knocking out Aussies in QF). 

More than halfway stage and Sift 26th, Moudgil 17th. We are done. 

After the great start to the day, we are collecting losses.