Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

19 minutes ago, rollingstoned said:

Appeals to authority and the other way round can work both ways, not just one. Especially where 'sources' are concerned who are themselves not impartial and free from their own agendas.

A rape apologist who makes trolls reactions on posts against them shouldn't be the one making judgement calls or preaching to others. There is absolutely no value of such people's opinions to me.

And your logic makes no sense, if there are conflicting sources then shouldn't the status quo be maintained instead of calling for a witch hunt? You yourself admit it's not clear and it can work both ways?

Edited by New guy
7 minutes ago, New guy said:

Yes IBA, the corrupt russian stooge is the bastion of impartiality and justice. The president is literally in Putins pocket and ahd done multiple things to help russian boxers and disqualify others. Her tests was done because she literally defeated the undefeated russian champions, imagining such tests done on Phogat by someone in Japans pocket because she defeated their undefeated champion.

There is a reason IOC doesn't recognise the organization and has cut all ties from it and so has other boxing organizations.

You are literally spreading the same propaganda from the actual source which created it. 

It's hilarious that so many people complain about bias here against India but then cite the single most corrupt and biased organisation in entire sporting world as proof. 

IOC also did not bring any fairness into scoring and judgements in boxing. I am not supporting either. But you seem hell bent on discrediting IBA and trusting IOC.

Just now, randomGuy said:

IOC also did not bring any fairness into scoring and judgements in boxing. I am not supporting either. But you seem hell bent on discrediting IBA and trusting IOC.

I never trust any corrupt organisation which is in a fascist pocket, doens't matter who the fascist is.

But overall, I am saying if conflicting information is there the status quo should be maintained.

You guys are literally defending rapists accused by Indian athletes who literally break down crying and put their career at stake. Something about innocent unless guilty etc. 

But when it comes to these cases you should have a witch hunt even when things are not clear?  

1 minute ago, New guy said:

I never trust any corrupt organisation which is in a fascist pocket, doens't matter who the fascist is.

But overall, I am saying if conflicting information is there the status quo should be maintained.

You guys are literally defending rapists accused by Indian athletes who literally break down crying and put their career at stake. Something about innocent unless guilty etc. 

But when it comes to these cases you should have a witch hunt even when things are not clear?  

But Putin is communist, not fascist. Isn't it?

21 minutes ago, bharathh said:

Yea. I remember that Olympics were the first time the results were online. I must have broken my keyboards trying to refresh the page. Had some hopes in boxing and was so disappointed when they lost in the QFs. Karnam Malleswari came out of nowhere in that. Don't remember any other hopefuls we had at that time. In fact I remember we hardly used to participate seriously in anything. A sea change from those days in the 00s where we literally had no medal hopefuls.

We played very well in hockey in Sydney. Last minute goal reversal against Aus, otherwise we were beating them....last minute goal against Poland in final group match. We would have made SF had we won 1 those 2 matches instead of drawing. 

Mascots of those games were so cute. I drew them playing tennis with Paes and won an award in school's drawing competition. My mom picked me up from school and told me about Malleswari winning bronze in weightlifting. My parents used to follow Olympics like crazy.

But 2000 was still too early, by Athens I could follow and understand much better. Lee-Hesh bronze medal loss against Croatians still hurts.

Still hurting from yesterday's loss in hockey. 2003 cwc final loss and yesterday's SF loss is probably the 2 most painful memories of Indian sports for me. 2003 wc because I was 10 at that time, watching my 1st wc, cricket was like a new love back then. Yesterday's loss because we were the better team and had an opportunity to end a 44 year drought for the gold.

2 minutes ago, New guy said:

A rape apologist who makes trolls reactions on posts against them shouldn't be the one making judgement calls or preaching to others.

And your logic makes no sense, if there are conflicting sources then shouldn't the status quo be maintained instead of calling for a witch hunt? You yourself admit it's not clear and it can work both ways?

Smooth brained Snowflake who assumes prima facie a rape accusation means rape happened because it is a minister from a party he doesn't like and that innocence should be proven before guilt shouldn't stoop to the cringe shrewlike preachiness he is wont to without bothering to read or understand the nuance in what was being said, your psychological impotence and ignorance is not others fault. the other sweeping generalizations was why you got the troll vote.

In journalism they say when you have 2 sources and one says it is sunny and the other says it is raining, your job is to look out the window and not just report both. this applies here too because mainstream media in the West especially is ideologically compromised and not the bastion of credibility you assume it is. But it's much easier to call anything that contradicts it as 'far right, Russian bot, neo Nazi transphobic' disinformation and propaganda like a cultist who has been hard at practice in repeating that same thing like a broken record when there is no other argument on offer. The accusations of her being a man didn't come from thin air, you can deduce at least that much so even if it's not true - some thing i am prepared to concede - you have to admit there is something to it.

Also nice way to play dumb and characterize very reasonable suspicions on her gender as a 'witch hunt', very big on projection this one like all other instances.

7 minutes ago, New guy said:

Everything perceived to be linked to Russian is supposed to be bad as per anglo Saxon media, you should know. I don't know about IBA/IOC matter frankly, but I don't understand why you appear so desperate in defence of one...

And Bsdk who is the rapist I am defending?

13 minutes ago, New guy said:

the rape wasn't proven beyond any doubt so sit down instead of hyperventilating. If rape is abhorrent then a false rape charge is no less abhorrent. For you only the former matters not the latter, all bias against the person who is accused aside. 

Ones wondering if she is actually a woman haven't decided to die on the hill that she is a man, otoh just because IOC says so she is definitely a woman and there isn't the slightest doubt. There's a difference between being objective and pretending to be objective. Athletes have had to undergo gender tests before after competing for a few yrs.

Edited by rollingstoned
12 minutes ago, New guy said:

You should be the first one to denounce the woke fascists who are in charge of most international orgs then, but then what would you signal 24/7 about? 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

We played very well in hockey in Sydney. Last minute goal reversal against Aus, otherwise we were beating them....last minute goal against Poland in final group match. We would have made SF had we won 1 those 2 matches instead of drawing. 

Mascots of those games were so cute. I drew them playing tennis with Paes and won an award in school's drawing competition. My mom picked me up from school and told me about Malleswari winning bronze in weightlifting. My parents used to follow Olympics like crazy.

But 2000 was still too early, by Athens I could follow and understand much better. Lee-Hesh bronze medal loss against Croatians still hurts.

Ah yes Leander and Mahesh Bhupati were serious contenders - esp in doubles. Weren't they ranked #1 going in? 

6 minutes ago, rollingstoned said:

the rape wasn't proven beyond any doubt so sit down instead of hyperventilating. If rape is abhorrent then a false rape charge is no less abhorrent. For you only the former matters not the latter, all bias against the person who is accused aside. 

Ones wondering if she is actually a woman haven't decided to die on the hill that she is a man, otoh just because IOC says so she is definitely a woman and there isn't the slightest doubt. There's a difference between being objective and pretending to be objective. Athletes have had to undergo gender tests before after competing for a few yrs.

Mujhe abhi tak nahi samajh aaya ye chew kis rapist ki baat kar raha hai.

Just now, rollingstoned said:

Brjibushan.

Which court of law convicted him? I am unaware, seriously. None? ..shayad tabhi iski naam likhne me fat Rahi hogi.