rollingstoned Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 'Never expected Rahul Dravid to say something like this': Abhishek Sharma shares unheard 'if they abuse...' episode Abhishek Sharma revealed how Rahul Dravid went against his nature during the Under-19 World Cup. Every youngster dreams of working with Rahul Dravid, but by the time it was Abhishek Sharma's turn to represent India, The Wall had stepped down as India's head coach. Thankfully for Abhishek though, he and Dravid go back to the Under-19 days which India won in 2018. India won the tournament undefeated, running roughshod over teams like Pakistan, Bangladesh and Australia twice. However, among all three, it was India's clash against Bangladesh that was the most high-octane of the lot. Rahul Dravid wasn't always calm after all.(PTI) India had come off a loss to Bangladesh at the Asia Cup, which was quite a chatty affair, so when the Boys in Blue had the chance to even things up, Abhishek revealed that Dravid unveiled his aggressive side inside the dressing room to bring the maximum out of his players "We had lost to Bangladesh in the U-19 Asia Cup. When we faced them again in the World Cup, Rahul Dravid told us that if they abuse, you also give it back. Nobody expected him to say something like this. We are all very pumped up for that match," Abhishek said on a podcast hosted by his former teammate Manjot Kalra. Abhishek didn't get many chances to show his batting prowess as he batted lower down the order for India. He scored 78 runs in three innings and took six wickets from six games but had done just about enough and made heads turn with his all-round abilities. Besides Dravid, another India legend who played a big part in Abhishek's career is Yuvraj Singh, the two-time World Cup winner. Abhishek's admiration for Yuvraj is well established. The former India all-rounder has worked closed with the 24-year-old, with the two going back a long way. Abhishek and Yuvraj go back a long way "I met Yuvi paaji for the first time during my Ranji Trophy debut. I was 16 years old then but for Yuvi paaji, it was his comeback season where he had scored over 800 runs. He has always been my idol. I was inspired by India's 2007 T20 World Cup win and that's what spurred me to play cricket and bat and bowl like Yuvi paaji. That's when his impact on my career began," Abhishek said. "The first time I saw him, I just kept staring at him. But then luckily, I started getting chances to bat with him. So what happened was that I started sledging this opposition batter. So when it was my turn to bat, he started abusing me back. When I told Yuvi paaji that this player is abusing me, he gave him an earful." Yuvraj constantly kept a check on Abhishek as he set the IPL 2024 on fire and was one of the first persons the youngster called when he slammed his maiden century for India earlier this month. Even after all these years, Yuvraj is like an elder brother to Abhishek, whose teachings he carries at every step. "When Yuvi paaji realised that I resemble his batting style a little, he started monitoring me. I used to feel that if I need to pay attention to him. Over the years, when I started relating to all things he said as I played a lot of cricket myself. There were things he said to be about on the field and off the field and those are helpful to me even now. He is in touch with me. Even Yograj sir keep a track. I love practicing with him," added Abhishek.
Chakdephatte Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 Now we have clickbaits on icf Ultimate_Game, Sgattick10, nevada and 1 other 4
Ultimate_Game Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 The whole article can be summed up as "Rahul Dravid told us that if opponents abuse, you push back." TBH I'm surprised that Abhishek found this statement from Dravid surprising. That's the most logical thing which anyone would say. In fact I struggle to think of any other alternative. Gollum and raki05 1 1
New guy Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said: The whole article can be summed up as "Rahul Dravid told us that if opponents abuse, you push back." TBH I'm surprised that Abhishek found this statement from Dravid surprising. That's the most logical thing which anyone would say. In fact I struggle to think of any other alternative. People just expected Dravid to be a P*ussy and ask everyone to pull their pants down and bend over. What Abhishek is saying is, Dravid was a p*ussy but not as big a one as we thought. Edited July 24, 2024 by New guy Ultimate_Game, tweaker, Lone Wolf and 2 others 5
New guy Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 1 hour ago, Chakdephatte said: Now we have clickbaits on icf Now?
Kron Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 Yuvi sir Paaji sir Yograj sir *en stop using sir. They are not gods. Get out of that mindset. Sarrr moarrr. Number, Gollum, express bowling and 3 others 1 4 1
Gollum Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 Toygers get on nerves of everyone. Even Lord Buddha, Mahavira, great saints/mystics/yogis would have lost their marbles seeing their antics. Lord, Sgattick10 and Ultimate_Game 3
Ultimate_Game Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 (edited) 12 hours ago, Kron said: Yuvi sir Paaji sir Yograj sir *en stop using sir. They are not gods. Get out of that mindset. Sarrr moarrr. Naah... he gotta do that to succeed. That's part of the Indian culture. Have you forgotten when you were new to your college/uni in India or new to your job. You had to say that else you're toast. Indian cricket is no different. Nearly every one of us has done that. It's not really about showing respect but more about survival. The moment he addresses someone higher or influential (say Jay Shah or a coach/selector/senior) without either "Sir" (admins/coaches/selectors/retired players)) or "Bhai/Dada/Paaji" (senior players), he's toast and probably go the same way as Karun Nair. Edited July 25, 2024 by Ultimate_Game diga and Kron 1 1
Kron Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 (edited) 33 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Naah... he gotta do that to succeed. That's part of the Indian culture. Have you forgotten when you were new to your college/uni in India or new to your job. You had to say that else you're toast. Indian cricket is no different. Nearly every one of us has done that. It's not really about showing respect but more about survival. The moment he addresses someone higher or influential (say Jay Shah or a coach/selector/senior) without either "Sir" (admins/coaches/selectors/retired players)) or "Bhai/Dada/Paaji" (senior players), he's toast and probably go the same way as Karun Nair. I always had that attitude even as a kid tbh. My dad is a manager but I remember he used to suck up to his boss when he was younger lol. Sarr moarrr lmao. I was always like why tf you doing that ? This was when I was like 7 8 years old. I had that attitude from the very start. There is no reason to address anyone as sir. They aren't gods. I remember him trying to get me to address his director as sir during a function. I just couldn't do it. I think I got a belting at home right after lmao. I told him no I ain't doing that. I don't care. I will address them by their name. I told my dad that I respect older people but I am never going to honour them with the sir title. Lol. Edited July 25, 2024 by Kron
Ultimate_Game Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 12 minutes ago, Kron said: I always had that attitude even as a kid tbh. My dad is a manager but I remember he used to suck up to his boss when he was younger lol. Sarr moarrr lmao. I was always like why tf you doing that ? This was when I was like 7 8 years old. I had that attitude from the very start. There is no reason to address anyone as sir. They aren't gods. I remember him trying to get me to address his director as sir during a function. I just couldn't do it. I think I got a belting at home right after lmao. I told him no I ain't doing that. I don't care. I will address them by their name. I told my dad that I respect older people but I am never going to honour them with the sir title. Lol. Addressing someone higher up by their name without the added "sir" etc. is a career limiting option... at least it used to be as not sure how things are now. Probably different in MNCs and corporate sector but still the same in Govt and smaller or Indian businesses. I can bet my bottom dollar that you can't address Ambanis, Tatas, Adanis etc. by their names. If you don't need to work that's a different story. But back to Abhishek and other newbies... if they need to succeed they gotta play the game. That's how it is in our culture, and you start seeing it only when you move away from India. If you're there it's pretty normal and it comes naturally to you just like saying "Uncle" and "Aunty" to every Tom, Dick & Harry. Now try calling someone you don't know or not from sub-continent "Uncle" and see the fun Kron 1