Throwaib_Chuckter Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 (edited) 8 hours ago, Jaydev_Unadkat said: apologies but then it must be a new development - see this https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/good-place-to-swim-afghanistan-captain-takes-dig-at-noida-sports-complex-amid-rain-ahead-of-new-zealand-test-6448133/amp/1 Why were you undercutting "poor little" BCCI ? Edited September 9, 2024 by Throwaib_Chuckter Jaydev_Unadkat 1
Frustrated Posted September 9, 2024 Author Posted September 9, 2024 1 hour ago, Tillu said: Only a week ago we were taunting the Padosis for being unable to dry the pitch before afternoon. This is highly unacceptable. Agree. Even with the SuperSoppers, why is it taking so much time to dry out the outfield? Not sure. Tillu 1
nitinbwj Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 Done. Day 1 gone due to wet outfield ......ahahahaha...laanat hai be BCCI.
R!TTER Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 What do you mean BCCI, this should be handled by ACB right? This is also not a tier 1 ground so facilities aren't the same as say Kotla or Mohali.
LordPrabhzy Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 2 hours ago, R!TTER said: What do you mean BCCI, this should be handled by ACB right? This is also not a tier 1 ground so facilities aren't the same as say Kotla or Mohali. As a gracious host ( and a very rich one if I may add), if BCCI is allowing Afg to use a Indian ground as a Test venue-not a meaningless bilateral, they should ensure that there is equipment there to allow for a quick resumption. Im not saying install million dollar worth drainage but modern enough facilities to not lose day worth of play just because of drying equipment putrevus and Frustrated 2
R!TTER Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 51 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said: Im not saying install million dollar worth drainage but modern enough facilities to not lose day worth of play just because of drying equipment We don't know if it was incompetence or genuine/excusable reasons, or both, for the day being lost. You can't really expect every tier 2 or 3 stadium to be built for test matches. As for being good hosts I'm not sure BCCI is looking to do that, given Afghans are now ruled by Taliban. There's also a geopolitical angle to this which you cannot ignore!
rollingstoned Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 If no match of consequence generally ever gets played at Noida - from what I know - why was an international match being hosted here? There are 2 other international stadiums in the state and delhi is not far away. They probably thought there would be no issues with the monsoon and went ahead with it which was a mistake. Frustrated 1
Serpico Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 2 hours ago, R!TTER said: We don't know if it was incompetence or genuine/excusable reasons, or both, for the day being lost. You can't really expect every tier 2 or 3 stadium to be built for test matches. As for being good hosts I'm not sure BCCI is looking to do that, given Afghans are now ruled by Taliban. There's also a geopolitical angle to this which you cannot ignore! Indian government is already working with Taliban, even sending them aid etc so no point punishing the cricketers when the literal talibans are getting the goodies from our govt Chaos 1
R!TTER Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 What aid? Do you mean humanitarian stuff, mostly for PR, or anything substantial?
Jaydev_Unadkat Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 14 hours ago, Frustrated said: That news article is dated 30th Aug. A lot has changed by now Seems like nothing much has changed no play without a single drop of rain today Frustrated 1
Jaydev_Unadkat Posted September 9, 2024 Posted September 9, 2024 12 hours ago, Throwaib_Chuckter said: Why were you undercutting "poor little" BCCI ? Welp Zero Rain No game I was right
Frustrated Posted September 10, 2024 Author Posted September 10, 2024 4 hours ago, Jaydev_Unadkat said: Seems like nothing much has changed no play without a single drop of rain today If this test ends in 'No Result', then NZ would find themselves OUT of the race for WTC Final. The road for Team Ind ahead gets smoother. And NZ can't even blame Ind. As this test is being organised by Afghan Cricket Board.
Throwaib_Chuckter Posted September 10, 2024 Posted September 10, 2024 6 hours ago, Jaydev_Unadkat said: Welp Zero Rain No game I was right I should've added /S.
RizBarKhan Posted September 10, 2024 Posted September 10, 2024 (edited) They should’ve played in the UAE; better facilities, drier weather, familiar conditions and a huge Afghan community that would turn up for support plus I’m sure the Kiwis would have loved some vacation time in Dubai. Edited September 10, 2024 by RizBarKhan
Lone Wolf Posted September 10, 2024 Posted September 10, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, RizBarKhan said: They should’ve played in the UAE; better facilities, drier weather, familiar conditions and a huge Afghan community that would turn up for support plus I’m sure the Kiwis would have loved some vacation time in Dubai. Exactly just like Eng should get to play Test against Pakistan rather in Dubai than Tier 5 city like Multan which is a Village compared to Mohali Edited September 10, 2024 by Lone Wolf
Gollum Posted September 10, 2024 Posted September 10, 2024 Noida is a crazy venue to choose. Heard the capacity is 8000
Number Posted September 10, 2024 Posted September 10, 2024 BC what a farce. If these Administrator babus had any brains they could have borrowed some covering and sopper facilities from Kotla which is just 30 km from here. nitinbwj 1