rangeelaraja Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 (edited) 25 minutes ago, MechEng said: @rangeelaraja are you for real? Do you even know what remittances are meant for? It's family money going from one country to the other, and you really think the intention here is to strengthen INR? Besides your language speaks of the same superiority complex that goras have on Indians (like you have for mainlanders). So keep your stuff to yourself. You're as deluded as an average Mirpuri in Southall. I was a banker for 7 years for a top 4 global bank before transitioning to tech. So i certainly understand remittance economics better than you will in this lifetime. 1) The remittance is sent in foreign currency (lets say $ 1000 USD) to the bank of the family member - initially it is in foreign currency not INR to the recipient's bank 2) The recipient bank (ICICI, HDFC ...etc ) is almost always a RBI licensed dealer bank...which sells the foreign currency $1000 to RBI in exchange of INR which is credited to family's account. Thats how the family gets INR 3) And RBI adds the purchased USD to India's forex reserves....thats how NRI's contribute directly to India's forex reserves. Just as we are speaking - RBI again tapped into the FX reserves this week again ...selling $9.3B of forex to prevent the rupee from falling further due to tariff war ( below). If not for the constant NRI remittance economic lifeline, INR would be in far worse state. https://www.newindianexpress.com/business/2025/Aug/08/indian-forex-reserves-plunge-by-93-billion-dollar-rupee-gains-4-paise-to-8766 Do better. Still not late to go to school and get some education. Edited August 9, 2025 by rangeelaraja
pkmmamks Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 9 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: I was a banker for 7 years for a top 4 global bank before transitioning to tech. So i certainly understand remittance economics better than you will in this lifetime. 1) The remittance is sent in foreign currency (lets say $ 1000 USD) to the bank of the family member - initially it is in foreign currency not INR to the recipient's bank 2) The recipient bank (ICICI, HDFC ...etc ) is almost always a RBI licensed dealer bank...which sells the foreign currency $1000 to RBI in exchange of INR which is credited to family's account. Thats how the family gets INR 3) And RBI adds the purchased USD to India's forex reserves....thats how NRI's contribute directly to India's forex reserves. Just as we are speaking - RBI again tapped into the FX reserves this week again ...selling $9.3B of forex to prevent the rupee from falling further due to tariff war ( below). If not for the constant NRI remittance economic lifeline, INR would be in far worse state. https://www.newindianexpress.com/business/2025/Aug/08/indian-forex-reserves-plunge-by-93-billion-dollar-rupee-gains-4-paise-to-8766 Do better. Still not late to go to school and get some education. Bud the intention is not to strengthen the INR though. That is an outcome. If NRI have no family in India, wil they remit ? Lord 1
rangeelaraja Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 2 minutes ago, pkmmamks said: If NRI have no family in India, wil they remit ? Most remittances are to either support family or to invest in major fixed assets like property investment - all of it goes through the same currency conversation cycle and add to RBI's Foreign exchange reserve. Quote Bud the intention is not to strengthen the INR though. That is an outcome. For most Indians living in India their goal is their own personal well being and financial security and well being. Their life purpose is also not to strengthen the economy. That the economy does well, if the people are more productive at an individual level is an outcome. So whats your point ?
pkmmamks Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 9 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: Most remittances are to either support family or to invest in major fixed assets like property investment - all of it goes through the same currency conversation cycle and add to RBI's Foreign exchange reserve. For most Indians living in India their goal is their own personal well being and financial security and well being. Their life purpose is also not to strengthen the economy. That the economy does well, if the people are more productive at an individual level is an outcome. So whats your point ? my limited point is that we should not thank NRIs for the remittances
EnterTheVoid Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 3 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: I was a banker for 7 years for a top 4 global bank before transitioning to tech. So i certainly understand remittance economics better than you will in this lifetime. 1) The remittance is sent in foreign currency (lets say $ 1000 USD) to the bank of the family member - initially it is in foreign currency not INR to the recipient's bank 2) The recipient bank (ICICI, HDFC ...etc ) is almost always a RBI licensed dealer bank...which sells the foreign currency $1000 to RBI in exchange of INR which is credited to family's account. Thats how the family gets INR 3) And RBI adds the purchased USD to India's forex reserves....thats how NRI's contribute directly to India's forex reserves. Just as we are speaking - RBI again tapped into the FX reserves this week again ...selling $9.3B of forex to prevent the rupee from falling further due to tariff war ( below). If not for the constant NRI remittance economic lifeline, INR would be in far worse state. https://www.newindianexpress.com/business/2025/Aug/08/indian-forex-reserves-plunge-by-93-billion-dollar-rupee-gains-4-paise-to-8766 Do better. Still not late to go to school and get some education. None of this explains why NRIs who left India for greener pastures aboard lecture Indians living in India. Like you're doing to @New guy New guy 1
EnterTheVoid Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 On Operation Sindoor news, 5 Pak jets shot down. No wonder they were celebrating using doctored pictures
Lone Wolf Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 Some Americans likely got roasted in Jacobabad airbase in that F16 maintainance hangar.. Finally we did the right thing to disclose all this but the damage has been done. We needlessly tried to keep Organtua happy and even agreed to take the "L" when it comes to info warfare...
EnterTheVoid Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 China got information about the battle readiness of their weapons. At the expense of Pak air force bases and fighter jets
singhvivek141 Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: Some Americans likely got roasted in Jacobabad airbase in that F16 maintainance hangar.. Finally we did the right thing to disclose all this but the damage has been done. We needlessly tried to keep Organtua happy and even agreed to take the "L" when it comes to info warfare... IAF Chief ko justify karne ka zarurat nahi tha. We knew that India did severe damage to Pak jets, infact many defence experts have already called it down that American and Chinese equipments suffered heavy casualty in Op Sindoor, something this neither Pak nor these 2 countries ever expected. Indian Air Defence and Drone tech just surprised the world with it's efficiency and precision. Which has helped in enhancing respect of Indian defence forces across. What I just hope that we work on plug-in the gaps, I'm more interested in hearing from IAF Chief that Tejas squadrons are ready to replace Mig-21, and we are increasing our squadron strength to atleast 36-37 by end of this financial year. Philippines apparently has asked for more BrahMos missiles...ramp up the production and share them to Asean countries, they're our biggest market right now and there is a vaccum as no one is looking there. ravishingravi and coffee_rules 2
ravishingravi Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 I have a feeling our boys are itching for round 2. EnterTheVoid 1
pkmmamks Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 8 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: I have a feeling our boys are itching for round 2. But cricket match ? coffee_rules and randomGuy 1 1
ravishingravi Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 randomGuy, coffee_rules and EnterTheVoid 1 2
ravishingravi Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 27 minutes ago, pkmmamks said: But cricket match ? That's an outrage issue. This is real phainta.
Lone Wolf Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: IAF Chief ko justify karne ka zarurat nahi tha. We knew that India did severe damage to Pak jets, infact many defence experts have already called it down that American and Chinese equipments suffered heavy casualty in Op Sindoor, something this neither Pak nor these 2 countries ever expected. Indian Air Defence and Drone tech just surprised the world with it's efficiency and precision. Which has helped in enhancing respect of Indian defence forces across. What I just hope that we work on plug-in the gaps, I'm more interested in hearing from IAF Chief that Tejas squadrons are ready to replace Mig-21, and we are increasing our squadron strength to atleast 36-37 by end of this financial year. Philippines apparently has asked for more BrahMos missiles...ramp up the production and share them to Asean countries, they're our biggest market right now and there is a vaccum as no one is looking there. I think it was widely established that forces once again lost out on narrative setting. At the end of the day headlines matter not what about an expert deciphered about what actually transpired which won't be corroborated by anyone worthwhile to make it a headline. We are not increasing our fighter squadron strength to 36-37 within the financial year. There were reports 6 airframes were ready for Mk1a awaiting engine Ge 404 whose supply chain is dead btw .. and they are coming extremely slowly. At this pace nahi hoga. Focus should be on integration of Astra mk1 or even Rudram 1 (if both of these finally have their Jupiter testing phase over) to Rafales (even if Frenchies are asking too much money for it). And get those damn Meteors BVR missiles front them. MKIs need both Astra 1 and Rudram 1 at least. Reality is still that only 40 Su MKIs are capable of carrying Brahmos. IAF has been too lethargic sorry to say. Edited August 9, 2025 by Lone Wolf
singhvivek141 Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 57 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: I have a feeling our boys are itching for round 2. Now ? It's likely a possibility that it may turn into Russia-Ukraine. Ukraine is damaged to the core, yet the mad max boss of Ukraine who is sitting in Europe far away from conflict don't care, as this keeps him relevant. Pak is worse, Asim Munir and jernails will run away to US, while the on ground military taking hits and casualties. Unless, we go absolutely ballistic and flatten the land of Porks (with a heavy Civilian Casualty) within a week or two. Nothing will change, Munir will ensure each and every single Pakistani men, women and children are burned to the fire of conflict...before stopping the conflict. Only thing that can prevent that is if Pakistani civilians resist their army, but you, me and any person on the earth with a functioning cell in their brains know how phattu the Pakistani civilians are.
Lone Wolf Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 (edited) They are saying Jacobabad was home to newer F16 block variants with their life span capability well into 2050's... No wonder Uncle Sam was pissed Edited August 9, 2025 by Lone Wolf singhvivek141, EnterTheVoid and ravishingravi 1 2
singhvivek141 Posted August 9, 2025 Posted August 9, 2025 6 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: I think it was widely established that forces once again lost out on narrative setting. At the end of the day headlines matter not what about an expert deciphered about what actually transpired which won't be corroborated by anyone worthwhile to make it a headline. We are not increasing our fighter squadron strength to 36-37 within the financial year. There were reports 6 airframes were ready for Mk1a awaiting engine Ge 404 whose supply chain is dead btw .. and they are coming extremely slowly. At this pace nahi hoga. Focus should be on integration of Astra mk1 or even Rudram 1 (if both of these finally have their Jupiter testing phase over) to Rafales (even if Frenchies are asking too much money for it). And get those damn Meteors BVR missiles front them. MKIs need both Astra 1 and Rudram 1 at least. Reality is still that only 40 Su MKIs are capable of carrying Brahmos. IAF has been too lethargic sorry to say. 20 more are in planning, which will be inducted somewhere in 2027. But atleast tab tak, increase the capacity of traditional Brahmos (land to air) count to multiple of thousands. We need to have a stockpile which will ensure we can fight 2 front battle for atleast 6 months without any external aid. GE404 ka bhi, 2nd engine agya hai...by year end we will get 10 more engines...to around 12 Tejas will be ready as per the news updates.