Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 Wrong to blame WPL here. IPL started in 2008 but even till 2022 WC we used to play an outdated brand of cricket in white ball. WPL will make cricket a more viable avenue for budding girls, to look at cricket as a professional career. Equal pay is also a step in that direction. Sometimes in a country like India, where historically women have been discouraged to play sports or seek professional careers, you need these pushes/perks to compensate. Eng, Aus, NZ don't need that because in general, in developed countries, there is gender equality right from a young age. These steps taken by BCCI (though I hate Jay Shah, will appreciate him here) are positive, in the long run our player pool will become larger, competition will heaten up and quality of main team will also improve. Probelm with our present women's cricket is lack of accountability at the top, same few faces are allowed to run the scene for years despite poor showings, formation of cliques, chamchagiri......two head coaches have been removed due to revolt led by certain senior players. You can see bad behavior by the captain onfield, like her yelling at Deol for her own mistake in the game against Aus, Kaur simply doesn't have the temparement to captain. She should have faced a long ban for her behavior in BD a couple of years back, where she smashed the stumps with her bat (after being correctly given out) almost making the BD keeper lose an eye, and then going on a tirade in the presentation ceremony, have never seen an international captain stoop so low. Instead, BCCI protected her. Also our mental fragilities, last 3 games have shown that we can match the SENA teams on field only to wither away at the very end due to our inability to handle presssure. What steps have been taken to correct that? Right from 2017 WC F we are seeing this trend, of losing our heads under pressure, even in low level Asia Cup finals. Why can't we hire a mental conditioning coach when hockey, chess, tennis, F1 players have benefitted from such steps? Is it because it is seen as stigma in Indian cricket circles? Ultimate_Game and nitinbwj 2
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 24 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: And we are supposed to believe WPL is supposed to help Indian women cricket. Frankly even the commies were only talking The 100 and WBBL over WPL today... Like this player has proved itself in those tournaments etc... WPL is low quality garbage tbh Bhai, how will WBBL or 100 benefit Indian cricket? Max they may pick 5-6 Indians, the high profile famous ones like Kaur, Mandhana, Deepti, Richa etc. Ultimately we need to make our young girls look at cricket as a possible career for them. You see so many interviews of Mithali Raj, Anjum Chopra, Jhulan about how they were discouraged by their family members from playing cricket in their younger days because of no future for them in that? Our male cricketers faced similar hurdles 20-30 years back but now no longer the case, that is why you see someone like Varun C being an architect and assistant ad director till 25 and then take up hard ball cricket, and turn pro. In the long run, WPL will make Indian pool larger, like what we are seeing with men's cricket now, after 17 years of IPL. You see a Priyansh Arya who will struggle to crack our fourth XI but still good enough to tonk the best international bowlers like they are kids. That is the kind of depth we want in women's cricket, Aus has that depth and that is why they are so strong....even when Meg Lanning abruptly retired, it didn't affect them much and Lanning was probably the MVP white ball cricketer of the last 20 years. Ultimate_Game 1
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 18 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said: WPL only helps SENA players better in Indian conditions... we still have malnourished choker players, WPL or no WPL wont change that And it won't help budding Indian players, how? Rubbing shoulders with Healy, Perry, Ecclestone, Ismail, Kerr, training with them, learning from them...forming partnerships with them out there in the middle. Give WPL more time, it took IPL many seasons before Indian players closed the gap and eventually surpassed the foreign picks. Ultimate_Game 1
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 Indian women's cricket has 100 problems. But blaming WPL or equal pay is barking up the wrong tree. Unlike men's cricket, red/pink ball is very rare in women's cricket, maybe 1 or 2 four day tests per year without any larger context except in women's Ashes? Mostly T20s and few ODIs thrown in between, so can't even make the IPL, WPL equivalence about harming the long format. Regarding equal pay, BCCI is paying them from their share of revenue. If Jay Shah, Kohli, Gill, Bumrah don't have problem with that, why are normal fans getting so agitated? Cricket WC or Olympic gold medal doesn't differentiate between men and women, if women win, just like in case of men, it ultimately brings glory to the nation. One of the main reasons China is competing or even outperforming US in the Olympics is their emphasis on women's sports.
vvvslaxman Posted October 19, 2025 Author Posted October 19, 2025 2 hours ago, nitinbwj said: Oh bhai ..they lost from 28 needed from 23 balls. Forget the history, these Amanjots and Sneh Ranas are pathetic in pressure. Every fukin one of them is. Richa choked too. They are Losers with a big L....aaaaaa thuuuu Atleast Snehaa Rana, Amanjots play their world cup. Deepti is very experienced. Smriti purely due to stamina issue perished before the end of the line. SHe coudl have easily milked 1s and 2s right till the end as everyone was on the boundary. But she was out of breath, she got cramps. Harmanpreet generally doesn't suffer from these things. SHe is very fit.
vvvslaxman Posted October 19, 2025 Author Posted October 19, 2025 Just now, Gollum said: Indian women's cricket has 100 problems. But blaming WPL or equal pay is barking up the wrong tree. Unlike men's cricket, red/pink ball is very rare in women's cricket, maybe 1 or 2 four day tests per year without any larger context except in women's Ashes? Mostly T20s and few ODIs thrown in between, so can't even make the IPL, WPL equivalence about harming the long format. Regarding equal pay, BCCI is paying them from their share of revenue. If Jay Shah, Kohli, Gill, Bumrah don't have problem with that, why are normal fans getting so agitated? Cricket WC or Olympic gold medal doesn't differentiate between men and women, if women win, just like in case of men, it ultimately brings glory to the nation. One of the main reasons China is competing or even outperforming US in the Olympics is their emphasis on women's sports. Ya.. criticize them. But criticize them for right reasons, cricketing reasons. They have picked the best available. In Men's cricket we know a couple of guys overstay undeservingly. So we can go after the merit of their selection. IN this case they have more or less picked the best available. All said and done India lost 3 games each one of them should have been won. So we are missing that champion mentality. WPL doesn't ruin your champion mentality. If anything it enhances. Playing with Aussies make you understand what it is to play like champions. We are still quiet not there yet. I think Kaur and coach have to set the expectations high. Ultimate_Game and Gollum 1 1
vvvslaxman Posted October 19, 2025 Author Posted October 19, 2025 India has to master the art of closing out games. This is the perennial problem. We would ahve alrady been world cup winners if only we had that mentality. Cruel run out against Australia, epic collapse in the 2017 final. There are so many bad memories for this team. We are like that men's south african team that kept on screwing up worlds cups one way or the other. Ultimate_Game and Gollum 1 1
nitinbwj Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 @Gollum agreed with what you said about WPL but our Men's cricket was never this bad. We sure lost in the Semis and Finals but it was more often them not a one sided affair. Remind me when we have lost 2-3 winnable games on the trot at home even in ICC tournaments. You think WPL will eventually give us more talented strong players who can be world beaters. I have my doubts. We struggle in winning the Asia Cup. Its not in our women genetics. Frustrated 1
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 Btw, Indian women have same 'match fees' as the men. Not 'equal pay' (I too wrongly used that term in earlier posts) since there is a big difference in the central contracts. For instance, top category in men's cricket (Bumrah, Jaddu, Ro-Ko) get salary of ₹7 crores, for women in top category (Mandhana, captain, Deepti) it is ₹50 lakhs. Even the bottom most tier for men (Rinku, Tilak, Dube, Bishnoi, Jurel etc.) has ₹1 crore salary. Now add the difference in number of matches played, IPL/Ranji/domestic, endorsements....gap gets much wider. Blame the women cricketers for their onfield performance, bringing in money is uncalled for. gattaca 1
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 7 minutes ago, nitinbwj said: @Gollum agreed with what you said about WPL but our Men's cricket was never this bad. We sure lost in the Semis and Finals but it was more often them not a one sided affair. Remind me when we have lost 2-3 winnable games on the trot at home even in ICC tournaments. You think WPL will eventually give us more talented strong players who can be world beaters. I have my doubts. We struggle in winning the Asia Cup. Its not in our women genetics. Men's cricket had a huge headstart, it became professional many decades before women's cricket in India. In fact, Indian women's team came under BCCI only in 2006-07, earlier it was some other org called WCAI. Not about women's genes, otherwise how would we produce world beaters in much more physically tougher sports like wrestling and boxing? Psychological part we are lacking, that much I will give you.
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 (edited) Maybe as @New guy said, change in captaincy will do the trick, like how under Dhoni we started winning close games which we used to lose earlier. I think Mandhana will do a much better job, and it is all about winning just one trophy (even CWG since same teams take part there), one will bring more. Too many mental scars with this bunch and captain. Edited October 19, 2025 by Gollum New guy 1
gattaca Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 31 minutes ago, Gollum said: Indian women's cricket has 100 problems. But blaming WPL or equal pay is barking up the wrong tree. Unlike men's cricket, red/pink ball is very rare in women's cricket, maybe 1 or 2 four day tests per year without any larger context except in women's Ashes? Mostly T20s and few ODIs thrown in between, so can't even make the IPL, WPL equivalence about harming the long format. Regarding equal pay, BCCI is paying them from their share of revenue. If Jay Shah, Kohli, Gill, Bumrah don't have problem with that, why are normal fans getting so agitated? Cricket WC or Olympic gold medal doesn't differentiate between men and women, if women win, just like in case of men, it ultimately brings glory to the nation. One of the main reasons China is competing or even outperforming US in the Olympics is their emphasis on women's sports. Man equal pay is something should be based on demand. If women’s cricket has demand then they should get equal if not it won’t be fair to men’s cricket team.
gattaca Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 4 minutes ago, Gollum said: Maybe as @New guy said, change in captaincy will do the trick, like how under Dhoni we started winning close games which we used to lose earlier. I think Mandhana will do a much better job, and it is all about winning just one trophy (even CWG since same teams take part there), one will bring more. Too many mental scars with this bunch and captain. Mandana is a mental midget.
Gollum Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 Thu (Oct 23): Ind vs NZ Sun (Oct 26): Ind vs BD, Eng vs NZ These 3 games will decide our SF chances, rest are just filler. Even if we qualify to SF, we will finish 4th, meaning 95% chance of clash with Aussies.
gattaca Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 9 minutes ago, Gollum said: Thu (Oct 23): Ind vs NZ Sun (Oct 26): Ind vs BD, Eng vs NZ These 3 games will decide our SF chances, rest are just filler. Even if we qualify to SF, we will finish 4th, meaning 95% chance of clash with Aussies. lol clash with aussies mean 100 percent loosing.
vvvslaxman Posted October 19, 2025 Author Posted October 19, 2025 Just now, gattaca said: lol clash with aussies mean 100 percent loosing. But not making semi final is embarrassing.
gattaca Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 (edited) 8 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: But not making semi final is embarrassing. To be honest after seeing today match. They shouldn’t make it. They need changes in the team. Middle order is non existent. Bowling is poor as well. The last over we gave extra runs made the difference in the end Edited October 19, 2025 by gattaca nitinbwj 1
Ultimate_Game Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 53 minutes ago, gattaca said: To be honest after seeing today match. They shouldn’t make it. They need changes in the team. Middle order is non existent. Bowling is poor as well. The last over we gave extra runs made the difference in the end Last over's runs wouldn't have made a difference. Even if the target had been 270 we would still have found a way to choke. In that case we would've ended up with a total of 264 instead of 284. Zero_Unit and nitinbwj 1 1
Lord Posted October 19, 2025 Posted October 19, 2025 Good ol' choking. My dad watches it and was disappointed. I always knew they'll lose nitinbwj 1