2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

This entire passage just highlights why indians need to be taught basic self respect.

Ranging from mallus who joined isis and ending up cleaning toilets to bengalis who fanatically support western football teams

The sooner you realise that arabs to whites will keep looking down on us with such behaviour the better. Its ok to be sympathetic for palestine or even enjoy watching messi play. But dont make an effort beyond that.

2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

This whole messi thing is cringe and symbolic of low self respect.

This is worse than lenin statues in tripura.

2 Indians who know hindi but talking in English is kind of similar. 

8 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

I agree. If both know hindi and both feel they have enough grip of the language to communicate effectively then hindi should be preferred over English.

1 hour ago, kepler37b said:

:facepalm:... Have you even read my post? Or just stress testing your new keyboard?

The issue is not about skill. It is that he loves the game and hence came dressed in that jersey. 

Dumb fools on social media are getting confused and getting outraged with out any context.  They are equating wearing the jersey with being a good player. It is obviously not.

I read your post!

I fail to see the silver lining or what sets him apart from the 1000s of others who have played football at some point in their life.

If anything, he is using his position of power to get a private tete a tete with Messi, skipping responsibility and work in the process.

What exactly is applause worthy behaviour here?

6 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

I read your post!

I fail to see the silver lining or what sets him apart from the 1000s of others who have played football at some point in their life.

If anything, he is using his position of power to get a private tete a tete with Messi, skipping responsibility and work in the process.

Can't help develop players. So maybe this is the next best thing in their eyes:phehe:.

@Gollum

The Global Chess League started yesterday at the Royal Opera House in Mumbai.

I went to watch the season opener yesterday and stay 4 kms away.

What should have been a 10 min drive on a Sunday ended up being a 45 min ordeal. Due to various road closures because the convoys of the CM and other dignitaries were returning. The whole thing was very poorly managed.

1 hour ago, Ranvir said:

Who the hell pays to see an athlete walking around a stadium.

There are a lot of court cases PILing against this practice.  This is going to shortly change.

It started a few years ago with Justin Beiber charging on an average 20,000 inr a ticket and then lip syncing. People felt thoroughly cheated. But at least he lip synched for 3 hours.

The government charges an entertainment tax on these events. 

Now there is a Suo moto where in the organizer will have to lay down the schedule and the rough duration of the entertainment provided. Failing which a refund will have to be generated.

For this Messi event, all the tickets said was GOAT tour. No info about what he was going to do or how long the entire thing would play out. People were just provided a starting time.

43 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

I read your post!

Ofcourse he used his power to meet his fav player. 

What sets him slightly apart is he knows a thing or two about football and he is willing to engage his guest at his trade. 

Edited by kepler37b
5 hours ago, Mariyam said:

If his fiancé has an iota of self respect, she should ask this guy to respectfully buzz off.

Not only did he leave his own wedding ceremonies, he is gloat whining about it. 

Exactly. I have very little sympathy for such fans. He could’ve just. Seen the whole stupid event on TV and seen better. I have the same feelings for the fans who thronged to see Kohli after IPL win and lost their lives. people should make their own destiny

2 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Agree esp in private. I have seen people talk in Hindi in a office meeting.. that is unprofessional

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

I read your post!

Maybe he played in some celebrity football league with other politicians and film stars. Actually he looks pretty fit for a 56 year old.

1 minute ago, coffee_rules said:

Agree esp in private. I have seen people talk in Hindi in a office meeting.. that is unprofessional

Why? NCR me to MNCs me hindi hi chalti hai sir...in Hyderabad, i had 5 managers at various times, 2 north Indians who would take an offense if I talked in English with them, 1 tamil guy who was good in Hindi so he would talk mostly in Hindi, with 1 Telugu lady and 1 tamil lady had to talk in English with both because they were older.

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Maybe he played in some celebrity football league with other politicians and film stars. Actually he looks pretty fit for a 56 year old.

Yeah its quite brave as CM to turn up in full gear and play in front of so many, could easily make a fool of yourself. 

Also Imagine if somebody fouls the CM in a football match :afraid:

11 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Why? NCR me to MNCs me hindi hi chalti hai sir...in Hyderabad, i had 5 managers at various times, 2 north Indians who would take an offense if I talked in English with them, 1 tamil guy who was good in Hindi so he would talk mostly in Hindi, with 1 Telugu lady and 1 tamil lady had to talk in English with both because they were older.

k not if all are not fluent in His ndi or in front of goras. I have seen people in Bengaluru talk in Tamil in office meetings. People have to be sensitive 

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

There are a lot of court cases PILing against this practice.  This is going to shortly change.

It started a few years ago with Justin Beiber charging on an average 20,000 inr a ticket and then lip syncing. People felt thoroughly cheated. But at least he lip synched for 3 hours.

The government charges an entertainment tax on these events. 

Now there is a Suo moto where in the organizer will have to lay down the schedule and the rough duration of the entertainment provided. Failing which a refund will have to be generated.

For this Messi event, all the tickets said was GOAT tour. No info about what he was going to do or how long the entire thing would play out. People were just provided a starting time.

It's very common for western singers to lip sync in concert especially those with limited talent like Bieber. Even Michael Jackson did the same in the 90s.

That doesn't wash in India where the vast majority of singers have good vocals and the crowd expect live vocals.

Although, there was that cringe worthy fad in the 90s and early 2000s when people would pay to see Bollywood actors in 'concert' lipsynching to Udit Narayan and Sonu Nigam songs. They toured in the west, not sure about India.

46 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Yeah its quite brave as CM to turn up in full gear and play in front of so many, could easily make a fool of yourself. 

Also Imagine if somebody fouls the CM in a football match :afraid:

People went to see the GOAT of  football. Instead, they got to see his. GOTI.  !! :hysterical:

13 minutes ago, Ranvir said:

It's very common for western singers to lip sync in concert especially those with limited talent like Bieber. Even Michael Jackson did the same in the 90s.

That doesn't wash in India where the vast majority of singers have good vocals and the crowd expect live vocals.

Perhaps its for the best..Udit ji tried a whole different kind of lipsyncing, definitely didnt seem to work

34 minutes ago, Ranvir said:

Although, there was that cringe worthy fad in the 90s and early 2000s when people would pay to see Bollywood actors in 'concert' lipsynching to Udit Narayan and Sonu Nigam songs. They toured in the west, not sure about India.

This

Justin is too high on drugs. What did people expect.

The ticket prices are laced with courrption. So orgs would not have made much profit

High tax states like wb will rarely host much.