Lone Wolf Posted April 24 Posted April 24 6 minutes ago, diga said: 2021 tweet.. I know that.. point stands Top ji knows ball
Gollum Posted April 24 Posted April 24 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: I know that.. point stands Top ji knows ball Tricky few hours for the cult members. How to safeguard supreme leader's honour whilst at the same time hating on St. Xavier, Jesuits, Goans etc. Lone Wolf 1
Mariyam Posted April 24 Posted April 24 My experience is that Goans are quite united , across religious lines, and in general not happy that outsiders mainly ₹₹₹₹₹₹₹₹ people from Delhi are buying lots of land in their state. Asagaon has become mini Rajouri Gardens. They still tolerate those from Maharashtra/Karnataka settling there and aren’t very antagonistic.
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 8 hours ago, Mariyam said: My experience is that Goans are quite united , across religious lines, and in general not happy that outsiders mainly ₹₹₹₹₹₹₹₹ people from Delhi are buying lots of land in their state. Asagaon has become mini Rajouri Gardens. They still tolerate those from Maharashtra/Karnataka settling there and aren’t very antagonistic. Why not happy with only delhi people?
jf1gp_1 Posted April 25 Posted April 25 3 hours ago, randomGuy said: Why not happy with only delhi people? cause they dont know who is francis xaviers Mariyam 1
New guy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 On 4/24/2026 at 12:56 PM, randomGuy said: The ruling party needs to be even more aggressive, learn from Himanta biswa sarma and similar leaders. Yes because when a county goes right wing religious conservative, it always works well for them. Pakistan being the shining example. Love when NRI bhagodas want india to be a copy of Pakistan after 75+ years of independence and prove Jinnah right. Bootlicking goras and bootlicking Jinnah. All they can do
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 17 minutes ago, New guy said: Yes because when a county goes right wing religious conservative, it always works well for them. Pakistan being the shining example. Love when NRI bhagodas want india to be a copy of Pakistan after 75+ years of independence and prove Jinnah right. Bootlicking goras and bootlicking Jinnah. All they can do People are choosing Himanta da to lead repeatedly and you are bringing in NRIs? Jab tak tu zinda hai, tab tak shayad bjp ka hi rule rahega. Anti nationals aur illegals par action hoga. Try to come to terms with this.
Mariyam Posted April 25 Posted April 25 (edited) 8 hours ago, randomGuy said: Why not happy with only delhi people? The rich land buying Delhi public in Goa tend to be pompous, brash, loud, rude, speak with a lot of swear words, drive terribly and are very proud of their money. Assagao is the up and coming area in North Goa. Not very far from Chapora beach. Lands there are purchased mainly by folks from Delhi. It really felt like I was in Hauz Khas. Swanky cafes either owned by Delhiwalas or those part of chains funded by PE cash. Lots of vegan joints. Delhiwalas on the next table discussing their foreign vacations/cars and how they know Kapil Sibal and Ram Madhav loudly, while sharing two sandwiches and kale salad between 5 people. Couldn't sight many Goans. Edited April 25 by Mariyam randomGuy 1
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 (edited) 26 minutes ago, Mariyam said: The rich land buying Delhi public in Goa tend to be brash, loud, rude, speak with a lot of swear words, drive terribly and are very proud of their money. Assagao is the up and coming area in North Goa. Not very far from Chapora beach. Lands there are purchased mainly by folks from Delhi. It really felt like I was in Hauz Khas. Swanky cafes. Lots of vegan joints. Delhiwalas on the next table discussing their foreign vacations/cars and how they know Kapil Sibal and Ram Madhav loudly, while sharing two sandwiches and kale salad between 5 people. Couldn't sight many Goans. Lol. This could be used in a comedy movie!! Strange, aajkal dilli me rehte hue bhi itne showoffs nahi dikhte...maybe we exported most such people. Maybe smartphones democratized knowledge etc. so people actually realised show-off behaviour as lame n realized paisa to bahuton ke paas hai. Infact bragging behaviour these days I find in tier 2 cities, even in my relatives. Goa in news for taxi mafia, expensive hotels, no value for money etc. In general i find language of Mumbai not particularly polite either, n chauvinism etc... sabhi jagah polite aur rude log mil jaenge. Edited April 25 by randomGuy
Gollum Posted April 25 Posted April 25 10 hours ago, randomGuy said: Why not happy with only delhi people? Maybe some of them are rude/uncouth? Recently a video went viral where hotel staff in Goa were discussing this. In general, NE people experience lots of racism in Delhi/NCR, many such cases even recently. And if you check NE subreddits, they all say how they are treated better in all cities other than Delhi.
Gollum Posted April 25 Posted April 25 In general, Punjabis and people from Delhi, Haryana are more outgoing, boisterous, loud. Just their nature. Personally don't have any problem with that, but can see why it may tick some people off. People in hospitality sectors may know best because they often have to deal with people at their worst behavior. There are bad apples everywhere, but if they see something extra in Delhiites (don't see Punjabis singled out like this), they may have good reason. Anyway NE folks have done nothing to deserve the kind of discrimination they face in the national capital, absolutely unacceptable this racism, Delhi should do better. Lord 1
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 14 minutes ago, Gollum said: Maybe some of them are rude/uncouth? Recently a video went viral where hotel staff in Goa were discussing this. In general, NE people experience lots of racism in Delhi/NCR, many such cases even recently. And if you check NE subreddits, they all say how they are treated better in all cities other than Delhi. I have lived in Delhi all my life. Also stayed longish amount of time in Hyderabad (5yrs) b'lore(6months) Pune Mumbai Ahmedabad etc. Delhi ki driving is the best(due to good road infra and experience), civic sense, in certain aspects like not burning off garbage, is the best in India. People used to be show offs and bragging types, i wont lie. That tag now belongs to tier 1/2/3 cities. nowadays delhi people are much more grounded and mature. And much more secure than people of other cities of India. More open-minded in accepting all kinds of people. Lively people, up for a chat etc... Some bad apples may be there but largely the situation is as i described.
Gollum Posted April 25 Posted April 25 6 minutes ago, randomGuy said: I have lived in Delhi all my life. Also stayed longish amount of time in Hyderabad (5yrs) b'lore(6months) Pune Mumbai Ahmedabad etc. Delhi ki driving is the best(due to good road infra and experience), civic sense, in certain aspects like not burning off garbage, is the best in India. People used to be show offs and bragging types, i wont lie. That tag now belongs to tier 1/2/3 cities. nowadays delhi people are much more grounded and mature. And much more secure than people of other cities of India. More open-minded in accepting all kinds of people. Lively people, up for a chat etc... Some bad apples may be there but largely the situation is as i described. Have no intention of making this a Delhi vs XYZ topic. Somehow the topic digressed, so I posted that. Maybe another place, another time, I will share my experience in various cities.
Mariyam Posted April 25 Posted April 25 (edited) 5 hours ago, randomGuy said: Lol. This could be used in a comedy movie!! Strange, aajkal dilli me rehte hue bhi itne showoffs nahi dikhte...maybe we exported most such people. Maybe smartphones democratized knowledge etc. so people actually realised show-off behaviour as lame n realized paisa to bahuton ke paas hai. Infact bragging behaviour these days I find in tier 2 cities, even in my relatives. Goa in news for taxi mafia, expensive hotels, no value for money etc. In general i find language of Mumbai not particularly polite either, n chauvinism etc... sabhi jagah polite aur rude log mil jaenge. I'm talking about the Delhi rich who buy land in Goa. They are very poorly behaved. Speak in a highly condescending manner with just about everyone. The richer they are the more retarded they behave. A bunch of 5 youngsters from Delhi would almost always create a ruckus in a club. Contrast that to a similar group from Mumbai or Bangalore where they would be far better behaved. And the driving is also really bad. Always honking. Parking in the middle of the road to pick up groceries. Driving wrong side on one ways. Anyways, the reason for my new found hate for this group as follows: My husband's cousin bought a property which was a part of 6 villas. The villa purchased was the head of the group as in at the entrance and with the most acreage and best views. To go to the other villas, you have to walk outside the fence of our garden. Some months after our purchase, a set of middle aged friends from Delhi bought the other 5. Most are the IAS types and some are those who got rich by selling land in Gurgaon. While they are friendly on the face of it, they park 1 car in two parking slots. Throw beer cans/ garbage when passing by our garden assuming the cleaner will clean up after them. The verandas of all the villas have a common pool. The verandas face each other. Sometimes they have women over who I am quite sure are not their spouses. All in all, they create a ruckus. What is the point of a home in Goa if you can't get peace? Later on, on roaming around in the area or visiting cafes, the behaviour pattern is just the same. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. The Delhi noveau rich or even old money behaviour pattern is similar. Pata nahi aap kis Delhi se waaqif hain. Edited April 25 by Mariyam
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 18 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I'm talking about the Delhi rich who buy land in Goa. They are very poorly behaved. Speak in a highly condescending manner with just about everyone. The richer they are the more retarded they behave. A bunch of 5 youngsters from Delhi would almost always create a ruckus in a club. Contrast that to a similar group from Mumbai or Bangalore where they would be far better behaved. And the driving is also really bad. Always honking. Parking in the middle of the road to pick up groceries. Driving wrong side on one ways. Anyways, the reason for my new found hate for this group as follows: My husband's cousin bought a property which was a part of 6 villas. The villa purchased was the head of the group as in at the entrance and with the most acreage and best views. To go to the other villas, you have to walk outside the fence of our garden. Some months after our purchase, a set of middle aged friends from Delhi bought the other 5. Most are the IAS types and some are those who got rich by selling land in Gurgaon. While they are friendly on the face of it, they park 1 car in two parking slots. Throw beer cans/ garbage when passing by our garden assuming the cleaner will clean up after them. The verandas of all the villas have a common pool. The verandas face each other. Sometimes they have women over who I am quite sure are not their spouses. All in all, they create a ruckus. What is the point of a home in Goa if you can't get peace? Later on, on roaming around in the area or visiting cafes, the behaviour pattern is just the same. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. The Delhi noveau rich or even old money behaviour pattern is similar. Pata nahi aap kis Delhi se waaqif hain. You may be having bad luck, sorry for that...my next door neighbour is high court judge(one of the most humble gentleman one can ever meet) and many ias live in Mayur vihar (where I live). People live peacefully no ruckus. Having seen driving in various cities, I stand by driving also. Just asked 2 more males in my family and they agree. The number of cars, road infra of Delhi is so far higher than other cities that people get very good driving exposure and sense. I think people surely mean Haryana and Punjab when they refer to bad driving by Delhi people.
Mariyam Posted April 25 Posted April 25 @randomGuy why are you saying sorry? Guilt, like salvation, is always individual. If we start saying sorry for collectives, we will just keep posting “sorry”. Me for every Muslim misdemeanour and you for every Delhi darindagee.
randomGuy Posted April 25 Posted April 25 12 minutes ago, Mariyam said: @randomGuy why are you saying sorry? Guilt, like salvation, is always individual. If we start saying sorry for collectives, we will just keep posting “sorry”. Me for every Muslim misdemeanour and you for every Delhi darindagee. Agree. I felt sorry for you. Meant as empathy. English is not my strong point. Lord 1
Gollum Posted May 1 Posted May 1 On 4/25/2026 at 10:16 PM, Mariyam said: @randomGuy why are you saying sorry? Guilt, like salvation, is always individual. If we start saying sorry for collectives, we will just keep posting “sorry”. Me for every Muslim misdemeanour and you for every Delhi darindagee. On 4/25/2026 at 10:33 PM, randomGuy said: Agree. I felt sorry for you. Meant as empathy. English is not my strong point. This reminded me of this scene, galti ki hogi....tune. randomguy apologizing on behalf of Delhi, kya sochke likha tumne Mariyam? Mariyam 1
Nikhil_cric Posted May 2 Posted May 2 On 4/24/2026 at 10:52 AM, Gollum said: Goan inquisition was obviously bad but St. Xavier's role in it is still not conclusive. Also the medieval period was a messy place to be in, where violence/oppression was the order of the day. Heck there was this cruel breast tax law targetting the lower castes, imposed by the Hindu raja of Travancore. Anyway let us also focus on the positives. He was one of the founders (alongside St. Loyola) of the Jesuit Society and that society has done a lot of good for this country, primarily in the field of education. Punched way above their weight and I am sure many of us ICFers have also benefited at some point in our lives due to association with educational institutes run by Jesuit fathers. Yep. On my mother's side , I am distantly related to the royal family of Travancore and while they take pride in their ancestry, it's actually pretty shocking how disgusting the caste system was in Travancore and what an exploitative state it was. Jesuit school product myself. Agree with that. India would do well to forget about what happened 500 years ago or even 100 years and focus relentlessly on progress Mariyam, Gollum, Lone Wolf and 1 other 1 3