Gollum Posted June 27 Posted June 27 11 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: FIFA and football is fastest way to develop PR soft power globally. Turkroaches are only concerned with PR mostly Best we can do in 15-20 years time is reach present level of Iraq, Uzbekistan types. Kuch PR nahi badega woh haasil karke....need to reach at least Japan level which is a very steep mountain to climb. Better, easier, faster ways to develop PR, via other sports, if we can produce one breakaway star in tennis/F1/MMA, for instance, or deal in double digit medals tally in Olympics. And why just rely on sports for PR? Improve cleanliness, civic sense and India becomes much more presentable....our history, architecture, culture, cuisine is world class, but doesn't get highlighted because of lack of hygiene, sanitation etc. The idea that success in football is somehow going to improve our image is far-fetched. Lone Wolf 1
Gollum Posted June 27 Posted June 27 18 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: FIFA and football is fastest way to develop PR soft power globally. Turkroaches are only concerned with PR mostly Turkey is almost first world, Istanbul is a world class city by any metric. Rich history, architecture, which they have also preserved well. Tourist hotspot, manufacturer of indigenous 5th gen fighter jets, punch above their weight in geopolitics....these things matter, not what they do in football. New guy, Lone Wolf, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 4
Real McCoy Posted June 27 Posted June 27 20 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: FIFA and football is fastest way to develop PR soft power globally. Turkroaches are only concerned with PR mostly Isn't trkey eliminated? So much for PR
Real McCoy Posted June 27 Posted June 27 (edited) 17 minutes ago, Gollum said: We definitely need to improve. My point is that there is too much bangle breaking over the poor state of our football. I often feel like majority Indians in general don't even care about football, just put on a facade of loving the sport. I see so many kids (even adults from my generation) going gaga over European football leagues, associating with Brazil/Arg/German jerseys come WC time. Feels very fake and cringe. These same people don't give a * about Indian football, but love to whine about why our football team sucks, how AIFF mismanages everything etc. I don't take desi uncles wearing Messi jerseys seriously. They are as you said cringe. First of all we need to develop health standards. I see school kids obese and look like uncles. We are the diabetes and cardiovascular disease capital of the world. Carb loading must be controlled.STAAAAAP ITT! Edited June 27 by Real McCoy Gollum 1
Sgattick10 Posted June 27 Posted June 27 4 hours ago, Gollum said: Bhai, we don't need to care about their opinions. Rugby is also not played by that many countries, but they go gaga over it, because mostly whites end up on the winning side. They look down upon sports where Asians do well, even individual sports like badminton, TT. But golf ko itna hype karte hai. They don't get to decide what we enjoy. Honestly I don't care about golf or rugby or basketball for that matter but football is popular everywhere. Weirdly cricket used to be an elite sport which only classes played while football was a working people's sport, in that context football should have been more popular then cricket here but I guess cricket is skill based less athletic so we adapted better.. But I wish in coming yrs we do well in football
vvvslaxman Posted June 27 Posted June 27 (edited) I think football is played by INdians in school. THey stop after a while. Switch to cricket. Look at Varun C. He started late. He went pro by playing different leagues. in a short period. At the age of 27 he transitioned himself into a spinner. Before that he was a pacer. You can't do that in soccer. Starting very late and going prop. That muscle memory has to be drilled into you since the age of 5 or 6.Without distraction you should play only that sport. Indians invariably play cricket. I have played fotoball so are my friends. But we stop after a while. Football is such an easy sports to pick up. Other than off side rule you can learn everything on day one. Learning curve is not steep for sports like Basketball more recently pickle ball. Pickle ball is the fastest growing sports in the world due to easy nature. Field Hockey is a harder sports to learn than soccer because of the way you hold the stick and run. It is just a natural thing to do. Soccer is all about stopping, passing, shooting and dribbling. Shooting followed by dribbling are the toughest to master I have seen a bit of international by Indians. We have a problem with first touch. We just allow easy turn over. Then the passing accuracy is poor. Gotta be in the rnage of 90%. That should be your goal. Dribbling.. that is a skill you increase a over a long period of time. South Americans play from the age of 3 or 4. They are obviously going to be far superior to us in this. THen comes the shooting. Even if India gets better in those areas hardest part of the soccer is where we lose it. India's penalty shoot out percentage is 67%. So when you are up aginst nothing but goalkeeper you gotta have an 80% to 90%. India literally has to turn football into science and come up with new methology bit like how Srilankans came up with sling shot deliveries, mystery spin. You cannot compete with conventional football strategies. Edited June 27 by vvvslaxman
Ultimate_Game Posted June 27 Posted June 27 (edited) 16 hours ago, Real McCoy said: I don't take desi uncles wearing Messi jerseys seriously. They are as you said cringe. First of all we need to develop health standards. I see school kids obese and look like uncles. We are the diabetes and cardiovascular disease capital of the world. Carb loading must be controlled.STAAAAAP ITT! The biggest problem is that nobody exercises in India at all! It's an alien concept! You only see teenagers or TikTok stars going to the gym for vanity. You don't see anyone adopting a healthy lifestyle like jogging or walking regularly. Plus as you said we've sugar, oil, ghee, butter in every meal! One thing which hit me last time I visited was that people have started drinking soda quite heavily. Whenever I visited anyone's place saw Coke part of the mealtime and people gulped it down! Never used to happen earlier where it was served mostly as a refreshment or drink occasionally. A small glass of coke or soda contains 40 gms of sugar! A human body is not meant to handle this much sugar! In fact saw a diabetic uncle drinking coke! I asked him and he said he had his medication and that he's having a very small amount! We hear about obesity epidemic in North America but the medical challenges in urban and middle class India will be a different level altogether. Edited June 28 by Ultimate_Game Laaloo and Gollum 2
rageaddict Posted June 27 Posted June 27 (edited) Wild guess, Algeria to secure at least a draw and knock South Korea out of the tournament." Edited June 27 by rageaddict
Ultimate_Game Posted June 27 Posted June 27 FIFA gotta rethink the whole format. Earlier the last group matches used to be fun in some groups as only 2 from each group qualified but now with this non-sense of best 8 3rd place finishers also moving on, there are barely any "do or die" matches. The whole group stage has become a joke and the actual WC will start next week after more than half the matches are done so we can actually see some meaningful football.
vvvslaxman Posted June 27 Posted June 27 Hilarious interactions between americans and others. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: Hilarious interactions between americans and others. They're not wrong. Tipping in North America has become replacement for wages which the employer should've paid in the first place. US takes exploitation to another level. Wait till Europeans learn about "Healthcare" in US and how majority of Americans would prefer to die on a street than call an ambulance coz of the ambulance tax
vvvslaxman Posted June 28 Posted June 28 26 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: They're not wrong. Tipping in North America has become replacement for wages which the employer should've paid in the first place. US takes exploitation to another level. Wait till Europeans learn about "Healthcare" in US and how majority of Americans would prefer to die on a street than call an ambulance coz of the ambulance tax This scene summarizes it rollingstoned 1
Ultimate_Game Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said: This scene summarizes it Was a great movie just like other Tarrantino classics! rollingstoned 1
vvvslaxman Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said: Was a great movie just like other Tarrantino classics! Yup . master of converting an ordinary conversation into an epic conversation. This and pulp fiction royal cheese conversation.
rollingstoned Posted June 28 Posted June 28 6 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: FIFA gotta rethink the whole format. Earlier the last group matches used to be fun in some groups as only 2 from each group qualified but now with this non-sense of best 8 3rd place finishers also moving on, there are barely any "do or die" matches. The whole group stage has become a joke and the actual WC will start next week after more than half the matches are done so we can actually see some meaningful football. Next time it's a 64 team world cup to celebrate 100 yrs. Ultimate_Game 1
govinda Posted June 28 Posted June 28 * that i have to spend my birthday watching team i despise most ie engurland winning. Hey bhagwan krupa karde aur pommies ko bhar nikalo
Lone Wolf Posted June 28 Posted June 28 (edited) 15 minutes ago, govinda said: * that i have to spend my birthday watching team i despise most ie engurland winning. Hey bhagwan krupa karde aur pommies ko bhar nikalo This is why other teams fans and experts root against every side playing India. England is economic powerhouse of Football like India is in cricket. But difference is India still ends up winning World Titles unlike England in football While England chokes at the biggest stage despite having everything at their disposal Edited June 28 by Lone Wolf
Gollum Posted June 28 Posted June 28 Argentina has such a soft pathway to SF. In fact the other half is stacked, with France, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal etc. Likely finalist from this easier half will be Arg/Brazil/Eng.