Watched any new movies? *Please use spoiler tags*

Akshay lost his mojo long time back... he is giving one cr@p movie after another. And the way these stars throw 'Success' parties is just insane... Dabangg, Ready, 786, Jab tak hai jaan, Rowdy Rathore... all made multi crore rupees... And the new actor to join this gang is Ajay Devgan....
This is not just a response to you, but to rett (welcome back, btw), derkin and the rest slagging of Bollywood movies. At the end of the day, its a business venture. Their ultimate aim is to rake in the moolah. Why should they care about social relevance or realism of their movies when all the audience (me included) wants to see is the same old stuff re-hashed/ escapist movies. We are in an era where we need to be constantly entertained. Don't expect a film maker to make a Satyajit Ray-esque triology today. That stuff worked back then because most of us (Indians) were idealists. People of our grandfather's generation. We have taken too much for granted and are know it alls. We just need to be entertained. Mindless jokes, item numbers and rehashed love traingles is what works with us. We don't have time nor the patience for socially relevant cinema.
^^To be honest though' date=' Ajay Devgan has done some really good movies in between. The other three are just pure crap.[/quote'] To be honest srk in the beginning of his carrier and in between has done good movies like Maya memsaab,kabhi haa kabhi naa ,swades etc akshay has done good films as well ,IMO him ,srk,aamir ,Ajay ,sanjay dutt and saif are few actors in bolly who can portay any type of role even negative like srk in bazigar ,darr,anjaam,aamir in earth,holi and fanaa,akshay in ajnabi,Ajay in khaki and deewangi,Sanjay in agneepath and saif in omkara and ek hasina thi

Where as salman unfortunately hasn't done any movie like mentioned above ,I dare say even a darsheel safari (tzp fame ) can out do him in acting like Aditya Narayan did in jab pyar kisi se hota hai can't act can't dance ,got only looks ,but like they say looks can be deceptive

Everyone of you slagging dabanng, can't help but notice that each of you went to the cinema hall and contributed to the movie's revenue. On the other hand you might not go to watch a low budget quality movie or one without a huge star cast. Now if you have to see a Salman or SRK movie without waiting for reviews and hence are part of people contributing to these movies raking on money, don't know what you are complaining about. There is a definite pattern, for all good movies with low budget or stars, you download or buy pirated DVDs. On the other hand you will go and watch all such movies in hall and then call them cr@p? Hypocrisy much?

Everyone of you slagging dabanng' date=' can't help but notice that each of you went to the cinema hall and contributed to the movie's revenue. On the other hand you might not go to watch a low budget quality movie or one without a huge star cast. Now if you have to see a Salman or SRK movie without waiting for reviews and hence are part of people contributing to these movies raking on money, don't know what you are complaining about. There is a definite pattern, for all good movies with low budget or stars, you download or buy pirated DVDs. On the other hand you will go and watch all such movies in hall and then call them cr@p? Hypocrisy much?[/quote'] ++
Everyone of you slagging dabanng' date=' can't help but notice that each of you went to the cinema hall and contributed to the movie's revenue. On the other hand you might not go to watch a low budget quality movie or one without a huge star cast. Now if you have to see a Salman or SRK movie without waiting for reviews and hence are part of people contributing to these movies raking on money, don't know what you are complaining about. There is a definite pattern, for all good movies with low budget or stars, you download or buy pirated DVDs. On the other hand you will go and watch all such movies in hall and then call them cr@p? Hypocrisy much?[/quote'] :hatsoff:
Everyone of you slagging dabanng' date=' can't help but notice that each of you went to the cinema hall and contributed to the movie's revenue. On the other hand you might not go to watch a low budget quality movie or one without a huge star cast. Now if you have to see a Salman or SRK movie without waiting for reviews and hence are part of people contributing to these movies raking on money, don't know what you are complaining about. There is a definite pattern, for all good movies with low budget or stars, you download or buy pirated DVDs. On the other hand you will go and watch all such movies in hall and then call them cr@p? Hypocrisy much?[/quote'] I did not watch them in theatre. I watched them either on TV or on my friends laptop, except for Mohobattein (I was forced to watch it twice in theatre) I repent it till this day.

I watched The Hobbit in IMAX 3D, and thought it was very good **SPOILER BELOW** For anyone who has watched it I was dissapointed that fight between the Dwarf leader Thorin and The big bad Orc Azog the Defiler was such a one sided let down. I thought/hoped Thorin would, if not necessarily kick Azogs ass and win, at least put up a good fight. He did walk down the tree like a badass.

Everyone of you slagging dabanng' date=' can't help but notice that each of you went to the cinema hall and contributed to the movie's revenue. On the other hand you might not go to watch a low budget quality movie or one without a huge star cast. Now if you have to see a Salman or SRK movie without waiting for reviews and hence are part of people contributing to these movies raking on money, don't know what you are complaining about. There is a definite pattern, for all good movies with low budget or stars, you download or buy pirated DVDs. On the other hand you will go and watch all such movies in hall and then call them cr@p? Hypocrisy much?[/quote'] Yes, this is funny when most of these cr@p movies become hit due to pre-release hype and big actors , also these movies are released in huge number of screens making movie goers no option other than watch them in holidays. One example is movie "10 ml love" which has got a good review is only released in 25 screens in India , and only earned 4 lakhs net :cantstop:

Talking about Akshay, his walking style (catwalk) when the tune "Khiladi bhaya" is played is so :hysterical: Anyways, for those interested in classic film noir, check out "Elevator to the gallows". It's a 1958 French Classic (so you have to watch it with subtitles) about how things go wrong when a murderer has to go back to the crime scene to remove an evidence that he had forgotten to remove ....

This is not just a response to you, but to rett (welcome back, btw), derkin and the rest slagging of Bollywood movies. At the end of the day, its a business venture. Their ultimate aim is to rake in the moolah. Why should they care about social relevance or realism of their movies when all the audience (me included) wants to see is the same old stuff re-hashed/ escapist movies. We are in an era where we need to be constantly entertained. Don't expect a film maker to make a Satyajit Ray-esque triology today. That stuff worked back then because most of us (Indians) were idealists. People of our grandfather's generation. We have taken too much for granted and are know it alls. We just need to be entertained. Mindless jokes, item numbers and rehashed love traingles is what works with us. We don't have time nor the patience for socially relevant cinema.
Hey Mariyam, it is good to hear from you! I can understand the need to cater to the market demand of the Indian junta, the point is if this demand can be satisfied with the "quality" films. You have polarized the Indian cinema into Satyafit Ray-esque films and the masala films, but what about films such as "Mugal-e-Azam" which has the right elements of both class and masala? Additionally, there have been attempts at this exercise with films such as Munnabhai, Once upon a time in Mumbai, Jodha Akbar, etc. And these films have been successful If we are measuring success by the receipts at BO, then it should be noted that with the number of cinema halls and the rising ticket prices, it is not hard for a hyped film to get good collection. With the amount of business the new films are doing, I won't be surprised if 150 crore becomes the bench mark that film makers will be trying to hit. As this bench mark keeps on rising, Indian filmmakers may be forced to make better films and the ones that connect with more people universally rather than bank on getting high returns through hype in the initial weeks and people seeing the film at least once Despite BO success, which may be because of Indian audience lapping on to something that is slightly entertaining due to a lack of choices (like a seal lapping on to a fish) and quality, it is hard to see some of the recent films as the ones that actually connect with the taste of the Indian audience Anyways, considering your enthusiasm for "such" masala entertainers, below is a dialog for you from Khiladi 786: Duniya mein 3 chiz nahin dekhti: 1. Bhooton ka sansar 2. Sacha wala pyar 3. 72 Singh ke raftaar :P
I heard this 'We need to be entertained' excuse lot of times.. and it is largely true if you are living in country side, small town where people would labour hours upon hours and they want to get away from all that.. but educated people saying this means you have accepted defeat and saying 'we are fools just feed us anything and we'll go to cinema and spend bucks so you can make more cr@ppy stuff'... And it is not that we have only two type of cinema.. Masala movie or Sadistic/Atristic movies. There are other choices. Kahani didnt have big stars but it was still a hit.. heck I dont even mind SRK's Raavn, a fictional, and SRK made a good try at something different.. My problem is with Dabang, Rowdy, 786, Singham type movie where hero kicks 10 people and they fly 10 feet away... 786 movie had Sanju baba or someone bouncing a guy like basketball.. :ohmy: I was watching Namak Haraam for the first time over the weekend and even after 3-4 decades I can see why that movie was a hit. Some of the Mega Hits of yesteryears make me proud that they came out of Bollywood. But, I am afraid coming generation will laugh at us for making cr@ppy movies like Dabangg a Supe-hit.
I was watching Namak Haraam for the first time over the weekend and even after 3-4 decades I can see why that movie was a hit. Some of the Mega Hits of yesteryears make me proud that they came out of Bollywood. But, I am afraid coming generation will laugh at us for making cr@ppy movies like Dabangg a Supe-hit.
Those films were quality. Another one is Awaara. I remember watching it sometime back for the first time and was blown away by it. So many films have copied elements of it. Fortunately, Indian cinema has had such films coming out intermittently to give it the necessary lifeline It is also easy to see why some of those guys are rated as superstars. There is a story that once there was a strike by musicians but RD still went ahead to compose a song with Kishore and Lata. What RD did was use occasional dialogs in the song and a constant rhythm of a running train. The song (below) was a huge success: k1D8W7fUdiA I don't know what drives today's film-makers to even consider dialogues such as "72 Singh ki Raftar". :cantstop: .... If given the choice, I would still prefer old dialogues from Shartudhan like "Jali ko aag khete hai, bujhi ko rakh kethi hai" (Vishwanath)

btw, Dabang 2 has grossed 93 crores net already in the first 6 days Dabang 2 vs Bodyguard Day One Dabangg 2 - 19.25 crore Bodyguard - 20.75 crore (National Holiday) Day Two Dabangg 2 - 16.75 crore Bodyguard - 18.50 crore (Holiday) Day Three Dabangg 2 - 22.50 crore (Sunday) Bodyguard - 13.75 crore Day Four Dabangg 2 - 12 crore Bodyguard - 14.50 crore Day Five Dabangg 2 - 15 crore (National Holiday) Bodyguard - 18.00 crore (Sunday) Day Six Dabangg 2 - 7.75 crore Bodyguard - 8.75 crore TOTAL Dabangg 2 - 93 crore Bodyguard - 94.25 crore while other films huff and puff, Sallu's films tend to run towards the Rs 100 crore net mark Source: Boxoffice India

I also watched dabang...one more typical sallu film..full on entertainment and this much huge profit..Its seriously unbelievable..all the khans and kapoors all together cant make such huge profits at this age..but sallu is still at the top..

And honestly, these type of films suits Sallu best. No one in the industry could pull out a Chulbul Pandey, or Tiger or even Lovely Singh for that matter. Although these films are nowhere near the "classy" tag, they sure do entertain massive crowds who pay for the ticket just to see what they know and what they expect from such movies. These movies do well in the whole of India, which is why they tend to make 100 crores with ease.