saurabh2602 Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 ICC criticism of Dhoni out of line - India I know its not a normal thing. we generally find BCCI to be taking decisions against the players but this time they've done a great job by standing up for Dhoni and taking up richardson to task for his statements. A similar situation to the ian bell one occured in the 7th ODI between australia and england and the umpire paul reiffel changed his decision (with the same UDRS rule applicable that richardson is talking about). its just that in india's case, billy boy (bowden) was a little too proud to admit his mistake and remained adamant. even dhoni was given out lbw once against shahid afridi in CT'09 in SA when advancing down the pitch (which he himself brought up in the press conference). the point is the rule is only meant to serve as a guideline and is not cast in stone but billy was not concerned. he was too happy to act a lakeer ka fakeer. what do u guys think about BCCI's involvement. me.... well..... :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
cowboysfan Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 can you tell me what BCCI said or give me a link to their statement?
saurabh2602 Posted March 2, 2011 Author Posted March 2, 2011 ICC criticism of Dhoni out of line - India thanks mate :) i've added it to OP
cowboysfan Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Thanks.ICC can kiss the idea of standardizing the UDRS goodbye,you dont piss of the only holdout by introducing some esoteric rule which lends itself to decisions the UDRS was implemented to correct.Bowden made a mistake and refused to correct it,i wonder if he would have changed his decision if he had given it out initially.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Good for BCCI to show some balls to support their team and the captain :smiley:
hitman1980 Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Whtever do they .. I still can't believe we tied with eng even after scoring 340 .. Pathetic .. Tht one decision can't hide the inadequacies of team India .. each and every member of the team is responsible for this tie .
Ultimate_Game Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Whtever do they .. I still can't believe we tied with eng even after scoring 340 .. Pathetic .. Tht one decision can't hide the inadequacies of team India .. each and every member of the team is responsible for this tie . Two separate topics - i) India not able to defend 338, and ii) BCCI backing Dhoni on UDRS issue Just because we agree with the 2nd point doesn't mean we are happy with the first.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 are yaar paki bol ke kyu gaali dete ho .. apne players hain hi chu^&*e.. so y don't they be called so.. it hurts when u see a performance like this.. and then u get backing from BCCI like this is even worse .. Players should get the spanking on their life .. Our players may be whatever they are but you don't hang them out to dry. We and the BCCI have to back our players and captain unconditionally, especially in this case where Dhoni was spot on and made much more sense than ICC or umpire Billy Bowden
goose Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 1.BCCI and Dhoni being opposed to the UDRS system does not exempt them from accepting the rules as they stood on the day. 2. Back in olden times getting a good stride in meant not out. Bowden was merely following the same principle. A hawkeye simulation in glorious technicolor showing the ball hitting middle stick just makes it a little more unpalatable.
coffee_rules Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 ^Agree. The rules were laid and everybody signed on it. Bowden stuck to it. Didn't see the big screen replay (as they are not supposed to use it to change decision), applied the rule book. Dhoni is ignorant of the UDRS rule had no clue when he said adulteration. I don't see any point in BCCI criticizing ICC for criticizing Dhoni for criticizing ICC!
Iconoclast Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Rules are the rules. Why do Dhoni and the BCCI think they deserve some sort of special exception ?
vvvslaxman Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Rules are the rules. Why do Dhoni and the BCCI think they deserve some sort of special exception ? You registered here to make this post?:cantstop: Answer to your question BECAUSE WE CAN.. :winky: suck on it.
Iconoclast Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 You registered here to make this post?:cantstop: Answer to your question BECAUSE WE CAN.. :winky: suck on it. Well hello and nice to meet you too. I registered here a long time before this incident. However the hypocrisy re: this issue was a bit too much for me to standby and not say anything.
Mariyam Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 ^Agree. The rules were laid and everybody signed on it. Bowden stuck to it. Didn't see the big screen replay (as they are not supposed to use it to change decision), applied the rule book. Dhoni is ignorant of the UDRS rule had no clue when he said adulteration. I don't see any point in BCCI criticizing ICC for criticizing Dhoni for criticizing ICC! So in effect, you are criticizing the BCCI for criticizing the ICC for criticizing Dhoni for criticizing ICC!! And I am criticizing you for criticizing the BCCI for criticizing the ICC for criticizing Dhoni for criticizing ICC!! As an entity that wields enormous clout, I would expect the BCCI to be fair and unbiased in all matters, and not side with their own players.* * I am not saying they are being biased now.
saurabh2602 Posted March 2, 2011 Author Posted March 2, 2011 1.BCCI and Dhoni being opposed to the UDRS system does not exempt them from accepting the rules as they stood on the day. 2. Back in olden times getting a good stride in meant not out. Bowden was merely following the same principle. A hawkeye simulation in glorious technicolor showing the ball hitting middle stick just makes it a little more unpalatable. read the OP again especially the part about aus-eng 7th ODI and dhoni lbw in CT'09
Desi Cartman Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Poor Dave didn't say what has been reported in the news, read the article n tell me if Dave was rude or out if line.
kabira Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 this is all going wrong... Now BCCI will never ever use DRS and we will keep getting *****33d by Bozos.
putrevus Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 1.BCCI and Dhoni being opposed to the UDRS system does not exempt them from accepting the rules as they stood on the day. 2. Back in olden times getting a good stride in meant not out. Bowden was merely following the same principle. A hawkeye simulation in glorious technicolor showing the ball hitting middle stick just makes it a little more unpalatable. I disagree with that, that stupid rule. it is framed by some Idiot ICC official or officials who might be from countries where pitches offer more bounce.It cannot be valid on subcontinent pitches which tend to slow and low. If that is case no spinner in India is going to get LBW on front foot and No reverse swing lbws will be there for fast bowlers as batsmen will stand outside the crease and sweep against spinners with knowledge they will not be given out.
King Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 The game is done and dusted already. Both BCCI and ICC needs to move on so should Dhoni. I can't believe they are still at loggerheads over one decision. There are more exciting things in world cup but looks like both ICC and BCCI like to make this a controversy to distract attention off the world cup. Next thing, ICC will say something and BCCI will against rebut with their own statement. Just never ending, get over it part of the game. After the world cup, get this UDRS bit sorted. There's not going to be a change in law till the world cup is over.