Laaloo Posted August 11, 2011 Posted August 11, 2011 Expecting too much from ishant is not fair. He has bowled so many overs. Rotation policy is still not done. 6 tests in 2 months...250 odd overs..how much he can sustain at such a young age..2 condecutive tests with 3 bowlers..this was inevitable. Blame that on our pathetic batsmen not able to bat for more than 100 overs in the last 5 innings now :mad:
rkt.india Posted August 11, 2011 Posted August 11, 2011 England used mostly just 3 bowlers to bowl us out in both tests. All 3 bowlers were quality, could bowl impact spell and were fresh before series. our tail starts from 1-11 except 3 while england doesnt even have tail
express bowling Posted August 11, 2011 Posted August 11, 2011 Important question is who is classified as trundler and who is not? What the criteria to become a trundler? To me a trundler is somebody who, under most conditions, CANNOT do the following -- Push the batsmen on the backfoot by bowling good short pitch deliveries -- When the ball is not moving around or he cannot get wickets with the pitched up moving ball, can hit the deck hard and cause the batsmen problems or get them out -- Does not always need to pitch the ball up in order to be an effective bowler. Among Indian seamers who have played a reasonable amount of international cricket, only Srinath and Ishant have displayed this ability for a long time, Agarkar could do the above and Munaf and Zaheer did this in the initial stages of their careers. All the rest have been either pure trundlers or disguised trundlers like Sreesanth. Bowlers bowling between 135k to 140k in test matches can be extremely effective but they must have the ability to hit the deck hard and push the batsmen on the back foot especially when they cannot get wickets with the pitched up moving ball. Most Indian seamers are just one trick ponies -- pitch the ball up and move it. It is a very good technique but should not be the only technique in a bowlers armoury. It delimits his ability to take wickets under different conditions.
CSK Fan Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 So, now that PK has been dropped, how are our speed demons performing. surely they must be running through the English line-up. According to Rett, selection of Praveen was the sole reason for our loss, so this match is in our bag
rkt.india Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 So' date=' now that PK has been dropped, how are our speed demons performing. surely they must be running through the English line-up. According to Rett, selection of Praveen was the sole reason for our loss, so this match is in our bag[/quote'] but do we really have any speed lamb?:giggle:
Trichromatic Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 So' date=' now that PK has been dropped, how are our speed demons performing. surely they must be running through the English line-up. According to Rett, selection of Praveen was the sole reason for our loss, so this match is in our bag[/quote'] Speed demons? 125-135 - Sree, RP 135 - Ishant Ganguly called RP a medium bowler this morning. :giggle:
akshayxyz Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 Blame that on our pathetic batsmen not able to bat for more than 100 overs in the last 5 innings now :mad: Disagree. Our batsmen against our bowling would have scored as much or more than what English did. Similarly - their batsmen against their bowling would not have scored as much as they did.
Yoda-esque Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 What happened to the OP ? Has he been banned ?
zen Posted August 18, 2011 Author Posted August 18, 2011 What happened to the OP ? Has he been banned ? In fact I was for posting some donkey like pictures of a member (which he posted on this forum) and laughing at them :hysterical: Anyways, my mood is off from posting here so wouldn't be posting much :P I have even sent a request to have my account deleted so hopefully it will be soon
mishra Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 All our bowlers are allegedly trundlers as per that criteria in this thread. So shall we oppose them? I mean whatever they are they are the best we got..... So i support all the alleged trundlers... So, Sorry, i even dont support creation of such club on ICF. In fact I oppose such club.
Yoda-esque Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 In fact I was for posting some donkey like pictures of a member (which he posted on this forum) and laughing at them :hysterical: Anyways, my mood is off from posting here so wouldn't be posting much :P I have even sent a request to have my account deleted so hopefully it will be soon Dude, Stay.Its all forgotten..
mishra Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 In fact I was for posting some donkey like pictures of a member (which he posted on this forum) and laughing at them :hysterical: Anyways, my mood is off from posting here so wouldn't be posting much :P I have even sent a request to have my account deleted so hopefully it will be soon Bhai dont go..... I dont like your views at all but i want you to stay....:icflove:
rkt.india Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 So' date=' now that PK has been dropped, how are our speed demons performing. surely they must be running through the English line-up. According to Rett, selection of Praveen was the sole reason for our loss, so this match is in our bag[/quote'] Even PK ha snot taken wickets with the first new ball in the last two test so it may not have been different even with PK here.
CSK Fan Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 In fact I was for posting some donkey like pictures of a member (which he posted on this forum) and laughing at them :hysterical: Anyways, my mood is off from posting here so wouldn't be posting much :P I have even sent a request to have my account deleted so hopefully it will be soon Stay Rett, you add much needed spice and differences. We need you
CSK Fan Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 Even PK ha snot taken wickets with the first new ball in the last two test so it may not have been different even with PK here. Yeah I know, all our bowlers suck, Zaheer most of all
akshayxyz Posted August 18, 2011 Posted August 18, 2011 In fact I was for posting some donkey like pictures of a member (which he posted on this forum) and laughing at them :hysterical: Anyways, my mood is off from posting here so wouldn't be posting much :P I have even sent a request to have my account deleted so hopefully it will be soon Arey kyun dil pe leta hai dost. Stay. What is the fun if everybody is of same opinion!!!
express bowling Posted August 19, 2011 Posted August 19, 2011 Ishant has bowled a lot of deliveries between 135k to 141k in this series. Although this is slower than his WI series pace range of 135k to 145k, his current pace is comparable to the speed of Broad and Bresnen. The difference has been that Ishant has bowled a bad line and not bowled enough short rising deliveries. He did both these in WI and got the result. Broad and Bresnen have bowled a good line and bowled good rising deliveries mostly between 132k to 141k, the same as Ishant's pace. The lack of rising deliveries and bad line have been the biggest culprits in Ishant's ordinary performane, not his lack of pace.
Trichromatic Posted August 19, 2011 Posted August 19, 2011 Ishant has bowled a lot of deliveries between 135k to 141k in this series. Although this is slower than his WI series pace range of 135k to 145k' date=' his current pace is comparable to the speed of Broad and Bresnen. The difference has been that Ishant has bowled a bad line and not bowled enough short rising deliveries. He did both these in WI and got the result. Broad and Bresnen have bowled a good line and bowled good rising deliveries mostly between 132k to 141k, the same as Ishant's pace. The lack of rising deliveries and bad line have been the biggest culprits in Ishant's ordinary performane, not his lack of pace.[/quote'] Ishant hasn't bowled full deliveries and bouncers much. He is always in the middle of those two types of deliveries. On the other hand English bowlers are either full or short enough to trouble players.
Fontaine Posted August 19, 2011 Posted August 19, 2011 Well it doesn't help that Ishant has been bowling back to back 7 test matches with more overs this year than any other fast bowler. To get those sharp, rising deliveries that he bowled in WI you need to put in a lot of effort and that's tough to do when your side is constantly bowling 150+ overs because the Bhajji/Sree can't take wickets and the batting flops in 90 overs.
express bowling Posted August 19, 2011 Posted August 19, 2011 Well it doesn't help that Ishant has been bowling back to back 7 test matches with more overs this year than any other fast bowler. To get those sharp, rising deliveries that he bowled in WI you need to put in a lot of effort and that's tough to do when your side is constantly bowling 150+ overs because the Bhajji/Sree can't take wickets and the batting flops in 90 overs. That is very true.