>>>>About us What are our aims? Our aim is to bring change in India to make it a more socially advanced and democratic nation. This can only be achieved through the following: - The Indian government must do more to prevent currently rampant corruption - All political prisoners such as Sanjiv Bhatt must be freed immediately - The Indian government must stop transnational corporations abusing the rights of Indians - The Maharashtra state government must invest more money into the Dharavi administrative ward which has become overrun with poverty - India must focus less on it's foreign policy and more upon it's own people - India must end state-sponsored brutality through the police, the Border Security Force and militia groups such as Salwa Judum Yeah naxals should only have the freedom to cut throats taliban style and blow up schools...again taliban style. - India is encouraged to give the right to bear arms back to it's citizens WTeff....yeah...that is exactly what we need. :finger:@ these people

exactly, they have their own political agenda. It is in some ways no difference similarly to hijacking where the terrorists demands 50M for the hostage, here some rebels will go out in the streets to get noticed and have their demand or else they will stop all the streets and business making the economy go down.
We have a lot more millionaires & billionaires but then our middle class is much bigger than it was earlier and continues to grow year by year. Shouldn't there be a lesser probability of violence as a result of increased economic prosperity ?
I don't believe that to be the case. Atleast in Mumbai.

Occupy, Occupy, Occupy. ThatÃÔ what the city is about the squatters, the wada pav/Chinese bhel sellers, the builders And itÃÔ restless. So while Anna has left and gone silent, here is another idea to toy with, this time an import, not Swadesi. ItÃÔ called Occupy Mumbai and it is meant to have followed the lead of the original movement, Occupy Wall Street, sweeping across the US and fast spreading across the world, condemning the MNC-State nexus. YouÃÅ ask what better place for an anti-corporate protest than Mumbai right? IndiaÃÔ financial capital. One would think! And there is a light fizz on Twitter, people wanting to know of a local version of the American movement here in Mumbai. Curiosity led to a quick Google search on occupy Mumbai and sure enough there was a Facebook page, a Twitter account that on last count had 272 followers started by a pro Jan Lokpal group, and an official website claiming affiliation to Occupy Wall Street, Occupy Together and Occupy Globally. This group has planned an occupation on 29 October on Madam Cama Road. Fast moving, guys! But thatÃÔ about it. From what it seems, they will have a hard time mobilising a crowd (though, some are talking about attending). some Twitter humour: @Prasad Patkar: Any ðccupy happening in Mumbai? Apart from ðccupy Fashion Street @madmanweb: There were plans to have an Űccupy Mumbai movement in South Bombay but nobody wouldÃ×e been able to tell the difference. @TheFocusMan: Will mumbai indifferent people ever do a Ã…Ãccupy BMC movement? @tushardverma: Pls donÃÕ think of occupying any street in #mumbai. We are already very crowded and hardpressed for space here. @andreaclear: We could all #occupyMumbai, but with a hawkers already doing such a great job whatÃÔ the point? http://www.firstpost.com/mumbai/occupy-mumbai-%E2%80%98we-are-already-too-crowded%E2%80%99-109830.html

This is not serious. Anyway' date=' I do fear a situation like what happened in UK recently. The disparity is so in your face and growing by the day. Some might think I am jumping the gun but things are simmering.[/quote'] Really? May I ask the reason for your sudden bout of pessimism vis a vis Mumbai and India? The disparity has always been in your face, but it has reduced over the decades, We've alleviated a lot of people from abject poverty to lower middle class. But even if you leave aside all these numbers, I have never been more optimistic about India. Sure we have problems, we're a nation of 120 crores. There will be loose ends here and there. But by and large, almost everyone I come across ( from any strata of the society) seem to be optimistic about the future. Nowhere is this more true than in Mumbai. The mood is " lets make hay while the sun shines" and not " maut apni mehbooba hai, apne saath le jayegi" types as you put it. Entrepreneurship is at an all time high. Even tax collections are at an all time high. In fact, I'm so optimistic about the future, that I'm already looking forward to my role as governor of East Coast USA 20-25years down the line. That is after they voluntarily surrender to us, hoping that we make them a cool and happening society like us and civilize them and teach them English. I was thinking of Late Cut or Laloo as my local advisors. You can keep the books if interested. :deal:
Really? May I ask the reason for your sudden bout of pessimism vis a vis Mumbai and India? The disparity has always been in your face, but it has reduced over the decades, We've alleviated a lot of people from abject poverty to lower middle class. But even if you leave aside all these numbers, I have never been more optimistic about India. Sure we have problems, we're a nation of 120 crores. There will be loose ends here and there. But by and large, almost everyone I come across ( from any strata of the society) seem to be optimistic about the future. Nowhere is this more true than in Mumbai. The mood is " lets make hay while the sun shines" and not " maut apni mehbooba hai, apne saath le jayegi" types as you put it. Entrepreneurship is at an all time high. Even tax collections are at an all time high. In fact, I'm so optimistic about the future, that I'm already looking forward to my role as governor of East Coast USA 20-25years down the line. That is after they voluntarily surrender to us, hoping that we make them a cool and happening society like us and civilize them and teach them English. I was thinking of Late Cut or Laloo as my local advisors. You can keep the books if interested. :deal:
Yam, it is not really a question of pessimism or optimism. It is not even case of glass half empty or full. I probably might want to take this on after a bit of thought because it does effect me quite deeply.

Thanks for the money. I needed it. Now let me answer that question by asking a question. Tell me which of the below situation is better. You have a gross income of say Rs 100, out of which the elite, say top 5 % get 50 % while the middle class which is say 30% of population gets say 30% Now next year the gross increases to Rs 120 and the ratio remains the same. Has the situation got better ?

^^^ Your question is not analogous to the situation in India over the years. The % that the rich control has gone down. Anyways, to answer your question, I don't think the situation has gotten any better.

- The Indian government must do more to prevent currently rampant corruption - All political prisoners such as Sanjiv Bhatt must be freed immediately - The Indian government must stop transnational corporations abusing the rights of Indians - The Maharashtra state government must invest more money into the Dharavi administrative ward which has become overrun with poverty - India must focus less on it's foreign policy and more upon it's own people - India must end state-sponsored brutality through the police, the Border Security Force and militia groups such as Salwa Judum - India is encouraged to give the right to bear arms back to it's citizens
Can they include banning few actors from bollywood movies