A set of freshly declassified top secret papers on the 1971 war show that US hostility towards India during the war with Pakistan was far more intense than known until now. The documents reveal that Indira Gandhi went ahead with her plan to liberate Bangladesh despite inputs that the Nixon Administration had kept three battalions of Marines on standby to deter India, and that the American aircraft carrier USS Enterprise had orders to target Indian Army facilities. The bold leadership that the former PM showed during the 1971 war is well known. But the declassified documents further burnish the portrait of her courageous defiance. The documents show how Americans held back communication regarding Pakistan's desire to surrender in Dhaka by almost a day. That the American establishment had mobilized their 7th Fleet to the Bay of Bengal, ostensibly to evacuate US nationals, is public knowledge. But the declassified papers show Washington had planned to use the 7th Fleet to attack the Indian Army. They also show that Nixon administration kept arming Pakistan despite having imposed an embargo on providing both Islamabad and New Delhi military hardware and support. They suggest that India, exasperated by continuing flow of American arms and ammunition, had considered intercepting three Pakistani vessels carrying war stores months before the war. The plan was dropped against the backdrop of the Indian foreign ministry's assessment that the interception could trigger hostilities. The pro-Pak bias of the then US President Richard Nixon and his Secretary of State Henry Kissinger is vividly brought out by their decision to keep three battalions of Marines on standby: a decision which has so far not found mention in any record of the 1971 war. Documents blame Richard Nixon for Pakistan tilt A six-page note prepared by India's foreign ministry holds then American president Richard Nixon responsible for the pro-Pakistan tilt during India's 1971 war with her neighbour. "The assessment of our embassy reveal (sic) that the decision to brand India as an 'aggressor' and to send the 7th Fleet to the Bay of Bengal was taken personally by Nixon," says the note. The note further says, the Indian embassy: "feel (sic) that the bomber force aboard the Enterprise had the US President's authority to undertake bombing of Indian Army's communications, if necessary." As early as June 1971, New Delhi weighed the possibility of intercepting three Pakistani ships loaded with US weapons. This leaves only two other courses regarding interception: That India may intercept the ships before they reach Karachi, or impose a blockade of the Bay of Bengal. Either of these might involve the use of force and would be treated as acts of war, wrote the director (legal and treaties) of MEA. On December 14, Gen A A K Niazi, Pakistan's military commander for erstwhile East Pakistan, told the American consul-general in Dhaka that he was willing to surrender. The message was relayed to Washington, but it took the US 19 hours to relay it to New Delhi. Files suggest senior Indian diplomats suspected the delay was because Washington was possibly contemplating military action against India.
http://m.timesofindia.com/PDATOI/articleshow/10625404.cms

Say whateva you want but u gotta appreciate that Russians stood by us through thick and thin in our worst times.. It was cuz of them China and US didn't enter in 1971 war... as a matter of fact, I recently read some interesting story where China initially decided that they wud put an army on their borders if we were to go in a war with Pakistan in 1971.. thats when Russians said, if u Chinese try to intervene Indian territory and support Pakistan, it will be an all out war from Russians through Russian Chinese border... Thats when China jus went mum and totally cut themself off the war(other then providing weapons)... Russia might have their own motives but now reading some articles from 1965-1971 wars, I realize it wasn't for them, India would have lost big time by combined forces of China-Pakistan...

Sometimes I wonder who can India trust in tough times...America is nice to India nowadays because of their personal interests. God forbid if China invades India, will USA have the guts to say to China that they will take military action? I doubt it with their economy in shambles and the fact that they wouldn't want to sore their relationship with a superpower. Russia was/is our only solid ally, I think...

Dhokebaaz Americans. :mad: If they interfere in our wars again, we should have gang up with Canada and invade the US mainland.:isalute:
That's why so many Indians have been immigrating to Canada. The plan is already in motion. :secret:
FOR YOUR EYES ONLY. I have already drawn up a master plan for the invasion. At my command, 3 of ICF's bravest Canadians will start the invasion. Commander Rajiv will invade from Vancouver with the help of the Bollywood Battalion and head to Seattle destroying the American software industry. General Under_Score will lead the Bhangra Boys to Chicago & Detroit and neutralize the American auto industry. Lt. Colonel RahulRulezz will attack New York with the Bodybuilder's brigade and destroy the US financial sector ( whatever Obama hasn't yet destroyed). Rett will be the official war photographer. Ludhianvi will handle transportation and logistics. Punjabi Khota will give the weather report. Below is the plan on a map. Right click to see in detail. 2rpwpw6.jpg
Nothing new...this was always known.Nixon even thought of bombing India......old news.
Yep, but the good thing is, we had more balls then and despite all this, we still attacked Pak and won
FOR YOUR EYES ONLY. I have already drawn up a master plan for the invasion. At my command, 3 of ICF's bravest Canadians will start the invasion. Commander Rajiv will invade from Vancouver with the help of the Bollywood Battalion and head to Seattle destroying the American software industry. General Under_Score will lead the Bhangra Boys to Chicago & Detroit and neutralize the American auto industry. Lt. Colonel RahulRulezz will attack New York with the Bodybuilder's brigade and destroy the US financial sector ( whatever Obama hasn't yet destroyed). Rett will be the official war photographer. Ludhianvi will handle transportation and logistics. Punjabi Khota will give the weather report. Below is the plan on a map. Right click to see in detail. 2rpwpw6.jpg
Forgot about me... :sniffle:
Long live queen Mariyam :hail: :hail:
Forgot about me... :sniffle:
Mallika Mariyam ke mutabiq aap mein koyi talent nahi hai is liye aap ICF par hi apna samay bita kar guzara karein :cantstop:
Dhokebaaz Americans. :mad: If they interfere in our wars again, we should have gang up with Canada and invade the US mainland.:isalute:
I thought all Canada has got, in the name of weapons, is hockey sticks, that too woh plastic waali ice-hockey stick.
No need for help from Canada. Just shut down all the Call centers and IT centers in India. That would be enough. :haha:
FOR YOUR EYES ONLY. I have already drawn up a master plan for the invasion. At my command, 3 of ICF's bravest Canadians will start the invasion. Commander Rajiv will invade from Vancouver with the help of the Bollywood Battalion and head to Seattle destroying the American software industry. General Under_Score will lead the Bhangra Boys to Chicago & Detroit and neutralize the American auto industry. Lt. Colonel RahulRulezz will attack New York with the Bodybuilder's brigade and destroy the US financial sector ( whatever Obama hasn't yet destroyed). Rett will be the official war photographer. Ludhianvi will handle transportation and logistics. Punjabi Khota will give the weather report. Below is the plan on a map. Right click to see in detail.
//CLASSIFIED// I like your plans. Texy can head the Mobile Casualty and Emergency Services Units - expecting a lot of resistance once we reach The Gun State. And Outy can handle troop movements once primary engagements have commenced.
:cantstop: This is how world class trolls hijack the thread.
:hysterical::hysterical:This is the funniest bit I have ever read on ICF!!! LMAO @PKhota as weatherman n @U_s as bhangra boys :cantstop:
No need for help from Canada. Just shut down all the Call centers and IT centers in India. That would be enough. :haha:
For what's it worth, it would be best if they do that as folks need jobs here and the service from India is horrible. They say "sorry" even if before they hear you out