Karan114 Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 VVS was around 37 but then that was due to him playing as an opener in most of those 30 tests. And just to add, that was opening against some of the greatest bowlers the game has ever seen - Ambrose, Wasim, McGrath, Donald type bowlers. Let's not even get into what would have happened to a flat track bully like Yuvraj if he had to open against bowlers like those.
zen Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 It might not be a bad idea to tryout an all-rounder at #6 position at least in India where our batting can be expected to perform (esp. against weaker teams) .... This way, we would add some depth to our bowling
WC2011INDIA Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 It might not be a bad idea to tryout an all-rounder at #6 position at least in India where our batting can be expected to perform (esp. against weaker teams) .... This way' date=' we would add some depth to our bowling[/quote'] I think Jadeja is our best bet for #6 on Indian pitches in the test format of the game
ganeshran Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 And just to add' date=' that was opening against some of the greatest bowlers the game has ever seen - Ambrose, Wasim, McGrath, Donald type bowlers. Let's not even get into what would have happened to a flat track bully like Yuvraj if he had to open against bowlers like those.[/quote'] Also Laxman was performing wonderfully in the domestic season. His scores in 1996-2000 period (where his international average was less) 1995/96 - 775 1996/97 - 219 (played only 3 matches) 1997/98 - 611 1998/99 - 754 1999/00 - 1415 (This is a record in Ranji history)
deathmonger Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 On Off topic' date=' Laxman is twice the batsman that Ganguly can ever dream of becoming and it's a blot on our cricketing structure that we haven't been even been able to replace Ganguly - forget about replacing Laxman, Dravid, and Tendulkar.[/quote'] Rohit, Pujara, Rahane, Kohli would be able to step up but they have not been given enough opportunities.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 On Off topic' date=' Laxman is twice the batsman that Ganguly can ever dream of becoming and it's a blot on our cricketing structure that we haven't been even been able to replace Ganguly - forget about replacing Laxman, Dravid, and Tendulkar.[/quote'] it doesnt say anything about indian cricket, it says everything about the selectors. the batsmen are there - i see no difference between the talent of a kohli, a rohit or a rahane compared to what ganguly had at the begining of his career. they tried out yuvraj, and that didn't go well. raina was another failure. and now they have gone back to yuvraj. india needs selectors that have the common sense to look past these two failed players.
The Outsider Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 it doesnt say anything about indian cricket, it says everything about the selectors. the batsmen are there - i see no difference between the talent of a kohli, a rohit or a rahane compared to what ganguly had at the begining of his career. they tried out yuvraj, and that didn't go well. raina was another failure. and now they have gone back to yuvraj. india needs selectors that have the common sense to look past these two failed players. Who defines Indian cricket? The selectors weighed in by T20 tamasha!
fineleg Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 Just like World Cup' date=' I'm gonna keep quiet till the Australian series ! Like he proved u all wrong in the world cup, he will prove u wrong again. If he doesn't become a part of test team then il quit ICF ; ) Which ICF-er questioned his ODI capability and last I heard, WC2011 was ODI format. He did not prove anyone wrong in ODIs. Here we are talking about Test matches. But Yuvi is NEEDED in Tests if we have to win abroad. His value is same in middle-lower order as Sehwag at top order. What are you smoking? :cantstop:
f.b.m Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 I know Yuvrajsinghe's defensive technique is terrible but Kohli's technique outside offstump isnt all that good either. People get fooled by the classy attacking shots in the ODIs and assume that he is a test batsman. Rahane, Pujara and Rohit Sharma need to be tried out (depending on fitness) before Kohli can have a go imo.
Andy Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 Yes. Also Ganguly > Dhoni Didnt get this post. Obvious Sarcasm? Why do you need to get Ganguly into this? Just keep your hatred aside. You could have obviously replied the poster without bringing him in for wrong reason. :dito: And I also think its time for Ganguly to do a Afridi and return back from retirement as a captain.It will solve both issues no.6 batsman and Ganguly back as captain. Why will a Patriot Like Ganguly will follow a Paki Retard? Some of you should let Ganguly live in peace. Bechara Commentary kar raha hai, ab to usko shaanti se kaam karne do. :wall::wall::wall::wall:
gaurav92 Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 Pujara, Rahane and Rohit should get a go, but Kohli has earned his place in Tests squad so I guess h should be given chances too :nice:
Ravi budhwar Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 I think it's the to move on and give chance v.kohli bcz he is good fourm and also selectors should have to give chance to c. Pujara instead of yuvi who is failing in test cricket regularly.
bajrang Posted November 9, 2011 Posted November 9, 2011 kohli and rohit are more suited for the place of dravid and laxman once they retire. only raina is in direct competition of yuvraj.so no.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 big innings coming up for yuvraj. with laxman and dhoni there, there is a good chance that india might not need a 2nd innings. if he doesnt cash in, will he get picked for the 3rd test? i don't expect him to make a low score, because this is basically a pressure-free situation, but hypothetically speaking...what do u think would happen
maniac Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 big innings coming up for yuvraj. with laxman and dhoni there, there is a good chance that india might not need a 2nd innings. if he doesnt cash in, will he get picked for the 3rd test? i don't expect him to make a low score, because this is basically a pressure-free situation, but hypothetically speaking...what do u think would happen May not be a pressure-situation for the team but it is definetely a pressure-situation for him individually given the fact that there might not be a 2nd innings in this game and this could very well be the last time he plays test cricket.
maniac Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 kohli and rohit are more suited for the place of dravid and laxman once they retire. only raina is in direct competition of yuvraj.so no. True they are competing with each other in the category of who sucks more in Test cricket despite being awesome ODI and T20 players. I think eventually Jadeja might be given a go as he fits the mould of a No6 batsmen who can bowl a lot much like these 2 have been utilised or we need to try Rahane/Pujara if Rohit and Kohli are expected to replace RD and VVS in the middle order.
ganeshran Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Yuvraj failed again. :headshake: If he wants to make it big in Test cricket (which is always good to see), he needs to work harder on his technique and stop fishing outside the off stump
Clarke Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Assuming Sehwag & Gambhir continue for the next few yrs, are we gonna keep Rahane out of the squad just because he is an opener ? If he is the best in the pool of youngsters, he should get a game at 5/6.
zep1706 Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 I don't really understand the reason for kepp playing yuvi. He is a proven failure and we need to move on. It's not like we don't have any alternative.