Laaloo Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Any tom dick and raju can win a series in Eng also after just being part of the squad and not playing. Doesn't mean he's better than any player who was part of India's world cup campaign. :fishing:
Laaloo Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Seriously though if we had won the 2003 world cup, then I would not trade that for any test series win. But this world cup, where we were guaranteed a spot in the QF, and we had to win only 3 matches, wasn't as impressive as our run in the 2003 wc. Now that was something!!!
Cricketics Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Seriously though if we had won the 2003 world cup' date=' then I would not trade that for any test series win. But this world cup, where we were guaranteed a spot in the QF, and we had to win only 3 matches, wasn't as impressive as our run in the 2003 wc. Now that was something!!![/quote'] Knocking Australia out of the tournament(the defending world champions) and later thrashing arch rivals in the most hyped up game ever of our lives, what else you need.
lovish Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 World cup is like a psycological feeling of winning the whole world... we danced on streets.. it was the day when holi and diwali were celebrated in a single day... I still remember that happiness... pwople shouting everywhere... dancing on dhols... even policemans danced with us... truck drivers stoping their trucks on highway to do bhangra with crowd... it was as if everybody had same age and same caste, creed and religion who the hell cares about these test series... ??? I mean if we even whitewash australia in this series by 4-0... the media will go blah blah... we would discuss it in our homes and workplaces for 1-2 haurs while we don't have any other topic over tea... 70 % people would nt even know that we have won anything... our ranking may improve by a place maybe and it all would come in recors and life will go on as usual.. I really mean that even thinking of comparing these series with worldcup is a idiotic... world cup was the dream of our whole generation... our parents told us how kapil dev had won it and stories of amarnath, gavaskar but we had not seen it... we had not felt it from our hearts.... After feeling it I would say even all the victories india ever had can't makeup for the worldcup win... that's it :) Love is eternal - Albus dumbledore
Brainfade Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Apart from everything' date=' why does India's overseas record is highlighted way more then other teams. I mean Aus record in India is no good. We are strong at home but if you can't even do that then whats the point?[/quote'] This one's easy. Winning against quality fast bowling on fast, bouncy, grassy pitches under humid conditions >>> winning against spin bowling on dusty, turning pitches under hot and dry conditions. Or so I've heard.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 No way. Nobody remembers a series win and we have already shown in the last 2 tours of Eng/Aus we are a better side, just the last 12 months have had bowling/batting problems.
veer Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 A few months ago there were threads asking which would you prefer' date=' series win in RSA, Eng, and Aus, or a world cup win. I said it then and I say it now. I would swap the WC win for these series win in a jiffy.[/quote'] Exactly my thought was after England debacle of 0-4. I was telling my wife after England debacle that it's like God has asked Indian ppl what you want.. you got WC victory on one hand and brutal defeats in test series.. and Indian fans said WC.. and i think it was the right choice.. no one would have celebrated like MAD ppl the way Indians did in April.. At the end, it was a good bargain IMO... my wife cried after seeing SRT lifting trophy.. and I am sure many ppl did that.. but she is careless about these Test series like many others..
Lurker Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 At the end' date=' it was a good bargain IMO... my wife cried after seeing SRT lifting trophy.. and I am sure many ppl did that.. [b']but she is careless about these Test series like many others.. And isnt that the truth?? For all this brouhaha about India losing Test series, the question that remains unanswered is who follows Test cricket? Apart from old foggies like myself, typically Test cricket is followed by folks who have access to a computer and need something to fill their life with (read, check cricket scores). The attendance itself is dwindling and folks tend to follow T20 or LOI more, even if they dont remember any of it later. Lets quit complaining about Test losses and how T20 is killing Tests. Lets also take a bit of blame here. We have essentially made an average team supposedly world's number one because we win series at home, have IPL, lot of overseas Indians to watch and India shining lol. It is so effed up, it is hilarious. As Jackie Shroff said the other day - Ab jhelo bhidu. :hehe:
veer Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 And isnt that the truth?? Lets quit complaining about Test losses and how T20 is killing Tests. Lets also take a bit of blame here. We have essentially made an average team supposedly world's number one because we win series at home, have IPL, lot of overseas Indians to watch and India shining lol. It is so effed up, it is hilarious. hahhaa.. i know what you are saying.. we are the ones jumping up and down while players taking their wives to melbourne beaches and having a good time.. I am not complaining but we are taking few things too seriously... Also, I think its us NRIs who are still sticking to TESTs.. and not 'pure' Indians except that small percentae of fanatics..
Brainfade Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 And isnt that the truth?? For all this brouhaha about India losing Test series, the question that remains unanswered is who follows Test cricket? Apart from old foggies like myself, typically Test cricket is followed by folks who have access to a computer and need something to fill their life with (read, check cricket scores). The attendance itself is dwindling and folks tend to follow T20 or LOI more, even if they dont remember any of it later. Lets quit complaining about Test losses and how T20 is killing Tests. Lets also take a bit of blame here. We have essentially made an average team supposedly world's number one because we win series at home, have IPL, lot of overseas Indians to watch and India shining lol. It is so effed up, it is hilarious. As Jackie Shroff said the other day - Ab jhelo bhidu. :hehe: That's too harsh. We have dominated 50-over LOIs, including the WC, and our players have the talent, attitude and drive to continue to do that. In that format, we are *not* average. We are dominant. But, if we kept undermining those accomplishments just to fulfill some fans' (like us) romantic notion of test dominance, we stand to lose our grip on LOIs. It's time to commit to one thing, and that is LOIs.
Dawood Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 India can only win in India. Even Paki out performed us in England and Auss tours, vo bhi match fixer kaay saath.
akshayxyz Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 I felt a "high" when we won the world cup and it lasted several days.. a sense of euphoria. The joy was immense. I don't know if a test series win will make me feel like that. May be it will.. :dontknow: agree. but picking one, is like picking between following, when you can actually have all, at different times or same. T20 Win - one night stand ODI WC win - good weekend with a hottie. you still need to work hard or be very lucky to get one. And you can keep gloating over it for years. (large dicks help getting more than once - WI 70s/80s, or being rich and stud - like Aussies 2000s.) Dominating test over years: Over state of well being, healthy sex life, fit body.. sense of confidence that hottie bhi mil hee jaayegi, miley na miley uski koi guarantee nahi :D So I would take, a healthy sex life with hot weekends whenever I can (with wife's permission ;)), and occasional one night stands.
urbestfriend Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 If you live in India, there is no way you'd swap anything for WC..Come on, whole India celebrated that day, it was a festive season for all people irrespective of caste,creed or religion. It was a dream come true.
Mariyam Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 This is a no brainer. WC victory over everything else. I wouldn't shed any tears if we lose all test and ODI series between now and 2015 and then go on to win the next WC.
Sir john Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 This is a no brainer. WC victory over everything else. I wouldn't shed any tears if we lose all test and ODI series between now and 2015 and then go on to win the next WC. :WTF: :WTF:
rkt.india Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Seriously though if we had won the 2003 world cup' date=' then I would not trade that for any test series win. But this world cup, where we were guaranteed a spot in the QF, and we had to win only 3 matches, wasn't as impressive as our run in the 2003 wc. Now that was something!!![/quote'] Agree.
rkt.india Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Knocking Australia out of the tournament(the defending world champions) and later thrashing arch rivals in the most hyped up game ever of our lives' date=' what else you need.[/quote'] But this Australia was not the Australia of 2003 or 2007. We were supposed to win this time, but in 2003, no one had thought we can play like that what we played then, apart from 2 matches against Australia.
Hell Raiser Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 No other series win can make you so proud about team India. This feeling can only come with winning a world cup. No other series can match it. The whole country won't party on the road after winning Test series in SA,AUS and ENG. Only World cup can make you do that.
Bumper Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 A few months ago there were threads asking which would you prefer' date=' series win in RSA, Eng, and Aus, or a world cup win. I said it then and I say it now. I would swap the WC win for these series win in a jiffy.[/quote'] Nope, I would not swap the WC win for anything else. Think about it this way. Which of the two hurts Indian fans the most ? The 1992 4-0 pasting in the test series Down Under or the 1996 semis loss against Lanka ? Which of the two victories Indian fans cherish the most ? The 1983 world cup win or the 1986 series win in England ? 20 years later the 4-0 humiliation in England and the soon to be 4-0 in Australia in the on going series will be forgotten, but our 2011 world cup win will still be remembered. As much as i love the longer form of the game, world cup win is still very very special. After the world cup win, i felt that this team had wiped out years & years of debt accumulated over decades. That said, these losses hurt very badly esp if you consider that the best Indian test team ever is unable to beat a very ordinary Aussie test side plagued by injury.