rkt.india Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 From flummoxing an all-conquering Australian side to being dropped from the Indian team, Harbhajan Singh's journey in international cricket has been a roller coaster one, but he says its rigours have taught him to "value relationships" above everything else. "When I played 100 Tests, it felt great but I have started realising that more important are the relationships that you have developed over the years," the 32-year-old off-spinner said on Sunday. "It's those you have played cricket with and have known along the way. I would rather be known as a cricketer who was a good human being than being dubbed as a top player and an equally worse human being," he added. For Harbhajan, if 90 out of 100 people like him, he will consider it as an achievement. "I only hope that when I stop playing the game, people would say that they cherished being in my company. I know 100 out of 100 guys won't say the same but I want at least 90 people to say that 'Bhajji achha insaan tha' (Bhajji wasn't a bad human being)," the veteran of 101 Tests said during a free-wheeling chat at a city hotel. Harbhajan did admit that he was a bit "nervous" going into his 100th Test, but things got better in the second innings. "Obviously, 100 Tests was big thing considering from where I had come. I never imagined I would reach this far. In the first innings in Chennai, I was nervous but it got better in the second innings. "In the Hyderabad Test match, I bowled well in the first innings. But in the second, I didn't bowl much. The other bowlers were getting wickets in every five overs and the captain was right in continuing with them. I know that I have tried my best and have no complaints. "A few more wickets would have been better but I had given my 100 per cent." With another season of IPL round the corner, Harbhajan is hopeful that Mumbai Indians would be able to win their maiden crown this time. "Cliched it may sound but the focus will be on winning the championship. My own performance will be as important as that of the team's performance." He had a very successful on-field partnership with Anil Kumble and is excited that the former India captain will be present as a 'mentor' in the MI dressing room. "It's great to have Anil bhai around. It not only helps to have around while talking cricket but other aspects too. He (Kumble) is someone who can gauge my state of mind. He has always been there with me to give me right kind of advice. His mentorship with MI will be a huge advantage not only for me but for other players," he sounded ecstatic. Asked if he is looking to use IPL as a platform to get back into the ODI squad for Champions Trophy, the senior off-spinner replied, "I am not thinking that far ahead. I would like to just concentrate on each and every game. IPL is a format which is not too friendly for bowlers. There will be days when you can go for plenty but one can certainly buy a lot of wickets in the bargain." Trying to out-think the batsman is as important for him as having the right frame of mind. "It has got more to do with mindset irrespective of the format you are playing. It is equally important to be in the right frame of mind in order to execute the plan." So apart from Mumbai Indians, which is the team that can go the distance in this edition of IPL, he said, "Chennai Super Kings is a very balanced side. They are a real good team and has played consistently good cricket over the last five editions." Harbhajan also wished "speedy recovery" to Jesse Ryder, terming the burly New Zealander as a "gem of a person". "Jesse might have had alcoholic problems as people say but he came across to me as a very warm-hearted person during my tour of New Zealand in 2009. If you know him, he is a great buddy. I pray that he recovers soon," he signed off as he got ready to catch a flight to Bangalore. http://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/54938/how-i-am-remembered-is-more-important-than-records:-harbhajan/?utm_source=ig&utm_medium=news&utm_campaign=gadget
The Realist Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 He will be remembered as "the dart thrower known previously as a cricketer"
Detonator Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Yes, to me his superb bowling against the all conquering Aussies stands out... Thanks for that and now he should retire and coach Aussies to play against spin and teach them Hindi for more effective sledging :bhangra:
Vilander Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 poor guy i think he genuinely wants to have a different public image than the one that he has now, he was a very good spinner.
saket123 Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 I will always remember harbhajan as the one who slapped the moneky (aka Sreesanth).
Texan Posted April 3, 2013 Posted April 3, 2013 I will remember him for his hands on head "ohhh so close" expressions every time he bowls.... doesn't matter if the ball was nowhere close to wicket-taking or even if it was a long hop that got duly punished. His expression looked like he bowled the ball of the century and didn't get a wicket only because all the cosmic forces in this world were against him.
India-KXIP fan Posted April 3, 2013 Posted April 3, 2013 Bhaji will be bowling in SA cause he is still the same bowler he was 2 years ago when he was highest wicket taker and India's best bowler in the 3 match series in South Africa. I doubt Ashwin will hold his spot in SA cause we all know how he is against strong batting line ups. Can Ashwin do this in SA to SA batting lineup? Didn't think so. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GERxAvA00xA]Harbhajan Singh 7 Wickets vs South Africa 3rd Test 2011 HD - YouTube[/ame]
India-KXIP fan Posted April 3, 2013 Posted April 3, 2013 Doesn't have great figures in recent years but looking at it series by series he's done alright until England where even Swann only picked 2 wickets in first 2 tests: v SA 08- Huge success, MOS v SL- Success, avg below 30 compared to Kumble 50 v Aus- Success, highest wicket taker in series v England- Success People would bring up average 35, but he was highest wicket taker in series and had better average than Swann, Panesar and Mishra the other 3 spinners. v NZ 09'- Huge success Most wkts best average v SL- Success, people would bring up his average was 41, but no bowler playing the 3 tests had average below 35. Bhaji was highest wicket taker in series and rival spinners Herath had average 48 and Murali 65 v SA 10' - Huge success and best spinner v SL- Failiure, poor 2 tests can happen to anyone though v Aus- Success avg 33 but best spinner, 2nd highest wicket taker in series v NZ- Failure but still not too bad. v SA 11' - Success, Bhaji bounces back, only 1 behind Steyn, India's best bowler v WI- Success, avg 25 Then he failed in 2 England tests where even Swann only got 2 in first 2 tests. Only the 4th match provided some help for spinners. 3 out of 4 last over seas tours for Bhaji were a success though :nice: So even in the period where he has the worst stats I think he has done a good job.
punjabi_khota Posted April 3, 2013 Posted April 3, 2013 Bhajji' date=' you'll not be remembered at all![/quote'] 2001 Kolkata is the greatest Indian test victory. How can he ever be forgotten for taking 13 wickets in that game?
WillowLove Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 come on retire now... dont drag on, and destroy the good memories..
saneindian Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 Bhajji is still younger than Ajmal by 3 years and Swann by around 15 months ! 33 is not the age to retire for a spinner. He's wasted his time away from the national side to work on his bowling by sulking and playing useless T20 series. Being picked in the Indian team despite being out of form hasn;t helped much either. What he needs is 6 months away from the game, working hard on his bowling and then coming back for the next domestic season IF he still has a desire to play for India.
G_B_ Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 Bhajji is still younger than Ajmal by 3 years and Swann by around 5 months ! 33 is not the age to retire for a spinner. He's wasted his time away from the national side to work on his bowling by sulking and playing useless T20 series. Being picked in the Indian team despite being out of form hasn;t helped much either. What he needs is 6 months away from the game, working hard on his bowling and then coming back for the next domestic season IF he still has a desire to play for India. to be fair he did move to essex in the counties and try his hand to regain form. It did not particularly work out for him.
G_B_ Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 and how bhajji is remembered will depend on how the future of indian spin pans out. If we have poor future spinners Bhajji will be remembered fondly. If we have a great future spinners Bhajji will be remembered as a time when India did not have enough spinning talent.
Sandeep99 Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Darter who got wickets against teams that couldn't play spin! Thrashed by Pak, Lankans at will..