Yes now more and more families will search submissive shy girls for their sons ' date=' rather than career minded women.Dowry rates will shoot up for career women as there could be very few takers for them[/quote'] just because of the fear that one day if the man and wife will have a mutual divorce (highly unlikely on an avg ) where she will inherit the property,the dowry rates will shoot up? but yes i do not completely agree with the verdict
just because of the fear that one day if the man and wife will have a mutual divorce (highly unlikely on an avg ) where she will inherit the property,the dowry rates will shoot up? but yes i do not completely agree with the verdict
I think you don't understand Indian society.here people can give their life and even take others when it comes to property.Even one brother fears another if the parents are living with him that he may his parents to give their entire property to him. Many parents hold their proprty until last breath because they are afraid that their children particularly sons will not take care of them if property is given to them.Every family in India has his stories what this person , what that person did for property.
I think you don't understand Indian society.here people can give their life and even take others when it comes to property.Even one brother fears another if the parents are living with him that he may his parents to give their entire property to him. Many parents hold their proprty until last breath because they are afraid that their children particularly sons will not take care of them if property is given to them.Every family in India has his stories what this person ' date=' what that person did for property.[/quote'] arrey i know bhai,i have myself witnessed people quarrel over ancestral properties,my neighbour uncle`s daughter is facing dowry threats etc ..what i wanted to point was ur post might be anonymously correct but not overwhelmingly
It is absoultely absurd to give any share of the property to wife which she has nothing to do with. A mother or father works whole life to get a property for his or her son. Now some woman comes, stays for few months and walks away with part of the property. This is absolutely ridiculous and against the law of natural justice. I can understand if somebody says that wife has a right on the property which they have earned during subsistence of marriage or co-habitaion even if wife has not contributed monetorily. But wife having any share in the property which I myself earned before marriage or my mother/father earned may be even before my birth is clearly victimizing men completely. And more pertinine question is why wife's property (inherited or uninheriated) should not be shared? that's equality we talk about? Unfortunately, indian matrimonial laws which are hopelessly one-sided would get even further worse if this bill becomes a law in current shape.
Well put. This n the so obvious potential abuse of the law. How could they approve such a law I fail to understand. This is dangerous n will have to be repealed soon.surely.
Yep. It's bound to be misused. Already, there are a lot of of pro-women rules which are being used.

As if 498A is not enough for Indian hindu men and their family! Housewives in India don't enjoy economic freedom and this law is a welcome step in the right direction, but there should be some provisions to strongly prevent the misuse of powerful laws such as this and 498A. I never heard any woman getting punished for falsely charging husband with 498A.. Our bureaucrats should think beyond what their political masters tell them. One shouldn't hurriedly introduce a law which is prone to lot of misuse. What would happen in future is if the husband feels like he may face divorce sooner or later, he would sell off his ancestral properties without the wife knowing about it. There might be more loop holes like this which will not make the life of genuine women any better than it is now.

No records will be found of these properties or the parents of the man will just keep it in their name. The property has to be inherited by the husband first in order to be passed on. Sab chutia natak hai, the court doesnt have the balls or means to get women child support directly from pay check or even get access to sarkari records so all this will be just to harass some seedha aadmi. There are enough laws but none of them are implemented properly. I have almost first hand experience and I can tell you that half the time even judge doesnt show up. Men just go mute and declare they dont have anything and even refuse to give divorce and the court cant do anything. Its not about just having reasonable laws, its also about implementing them and at the earliest.

A ton of rubbish being pumped out by the courts and the lawmakers. You have sex, you're pretty much married. The woman divorces you, she gets a share of your inheritance. In essence, one night stand for a woman is a financial long term investment :WTF:

just because of the fear that one day if the man and wife will have a mutual divorce (highly unlikely on an avg ) where she will inherit the property,the dowry rates will shoot up? but yes i do not completely agree with the verdict
In current indian urban society not as unlikely you are sounding here.
This highly biased anti-male law has been passed by Rajya Sabha despite strong reservations about possible misuse. Great.
If the wifey's side has more money than the husband, will the poor husband get anything in case of separation? :nervous:
If the wifey's side has more money than the husband' date=' will the poor husband get anything in case of separation? :nervous:[/quote'] No. Wife's property is not even a consideration. Another partisan ruling. Wife can oppose if husband files for divorce (after a pre-defined time limit) but husband not only not allowed to oppose such petition but he would have no choice but to give part of his property.

Some pretty idiotic comments in Rajya Sabha, openly admitting that it is partisan law. "So let's be clear. Legislations are a message that MPs are on the side of women in a patriarchal society. With this intent we bring this bill" You make law which are fair to everybody. Here you are promulgating a law which lawmaker openly admitting, would favor one warring party over other. This is height.

I don't understand, but IMO the divorce laws should be gender neutral. This is another example of our govt's incompetency. The bigger problem is that women doesn't get a fair share from their ancestral property, if she has brothers and I dont know why govt isn't making a strong law for women to get the share of their parents. The divorce law should aid the economically weak party regardless of gender. This half baked law also affects another woman, if her husband has a sister(s). And this law would force the brothers to stop aiding their sisters becoz, there is a chance that his wife can claim the property. It could be a disaster for the families consisting brother-sister and brother-brother.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Rajya-Sabha-passes-women-friendly-marriage-bill/articleshow/22073635.cms
Rajya Sabha passes women-friendly marriage bill Most Rajya Sabha MPs cut across party lines to welcome the "progressive" bill. NEW DELHI: In a major step towards making marriage laws more women-friendly, Rajya Sabha on Monday passed the bill to amend the Hindu Marriage Act (1955) and the Special Marriage Act (1954) that provides for "irretrievable breakdown on marriage" as a ground for divorce as well as grants women the right to a share in the property of their husbands.
As expected. So the government decides to let Muslime and CHristian Women suffer. They are better off converting, then! :wink: But I like the following words. It works better for women in our society.
The minister assured MPs that the "irretrievable breakdown on marriage" clause was "gender-neutral" since even men could move the court for it. Both parties have to live apart for at least three years before filing such a divorce petition. "Don't worry, we are taking care of both men and women," he said. Dwelling on the amendments, the minister said courts would decide the "extent" of the wife's share in her husband's self-acquired property, both moveable and immoveable, in case of a divorce. While the wife will have no share in inherited property, its value will be taken into account by court while fixing the amount of compensation or alimony to her. "The judge will decide as per the facts and circumstances of each case," he said.
Let courts decide how much alimony should be paid based on husband's inherited property.