I pity the next captain of Indian team

NareshK

Whoever he is will get lots of abuse and hate as usual from the over emotional and frustrated Indian arm chair critics and fans. Even Dravid and Sachin were not spared from this treatment and eventually they lost their batting form and had to resign because they couldnt handle pressure. Even Dhoni who was the captain of World Cup team, World T20 team, Champions Trophy team and the captain of No.1 in ICC ODI rankings gets a lot of hate here. Dravid once said being Indian captain has a shelf life. Chappell said culture of Indians is such that they always like to take pot shots at the leaders for every little reason and dont have the quality to be leaders themselves (which is true in many ways). "The culture of India is such that, if you put your head above the parapet someone will shoot it. Knock your head off. So they learn to keep their head down and not take responsibility. " Kohli or Pujara, be prepared for the worst phase of your life.

Dhoni is making zillions of money being skipper. He also has no fear of being sacked as his godfather runs BCCI, does not have sleepless nights as knows he is untouchable. Also can extract favours from players like Ishant to keep picking him As long as we have a skipper who picks and conducts team matters on what he believes is best for the indian team then we will have no problems. At the moment that is not happening

I can only wonder whether the vitriolic nonsense in virtually every post you make a result of a perennial ulcer or are you one of those hotheaded guys who has no fuse whatsoever. Shameful, really that except for attacking established players and wishing everyone bowled as fast as Lee, you contribute little. PS: I dont think we have to worry about the next Indian captain- Dhoni is the man for the job for the next 4-5 years and I believe he is the best option we have. Kohli might get eased into it in the future when he is pushing 30 but till then, we need Dhoni. Yes, he is limited- he is unimaginative with his field placements and rotates his bowlers poorly. But on the plus side, he is one of the rare Indian captains who has not had his performance shot to pieces due to pressures of captaincy. Be it Azhar, Tendulkar, Ganguly or Dravid, one thing Dhoni has over them is that his own performance does not seem to suffer despite the burdens of captaincy. And for that, we can only be thankful. For if the next guy follows the 'classic desi pattern' of being 60% as good as non-captaincy years, then we are gonna be royally screwed if Dhoni is removed anytime soon, for it means we get 60% of Virat or Pujara.

Some of our captains have been unnecessarily pilloried or attacked, while some others have enjoyed a greater degree of security and a longer rope. For instance, I felt that Dravid was treated poorly despite doing very well overseas. On the other hand, Dhobi's current overseas record in the last 10 overseas tests is 0-9 which could easily have been 0-10. I think he needs to be more accountable - the same also holds true for any skipper with such a poor record.

PS: I dont think we have to worry about the next Indian captain- Dhoni is the man for the job for the next 4-5 years and I believe he is the best option we have. Kohli might get eased into it in the future when he is pushing 30 but till then, we need Dhoni..
Dhoni was made captain when he was 26-27, so why you need Kohli to push 30. Dhoni has already past his shelf life as a captain. There is nothing new in his captaincy we do not know. We already know that Dhoni is the best defensive captain you would ever see and bloody good at that and his record tells you everything.
Dhoni was made captain when he was 26-27' date=' so why you need Kohli to push 30. Dhoni has already past his shelf life as a captain. There is nothing new in his captaincy we do not know. We already know that Dhoni is the best defensive captain you would ever see and bloody good at that and his record tells you everything.[/quote'] Because Kohli will be pushing 30 ( late 20s or 30) by the time Dhoni retires. Till he retires, he is going to be at the helm. Could Kohli be a better captain than Dhoni ? Probably, given that Virat screams of 'all balls all the time' attacking mentality. But is it worth the risk, given how Indian captains almost all go south with their performances ? Not right now. Not till Kohli has played 60-70 tests, which is what i think would require us to have a 'settled' batting order with experience and a new crop of bowlers established in the team, to afford us the risk of Kohli averaging 35-40 as captain. As it is in the next few years, too much rides on the shoulders of Kohli and Pujara as batsmen alone to risk either of them tanking their performances as captain.

1) Like a player's form, captaincy too has a shelf life. Dhoni was a young agressive captain with bright ideas once. Today he is a completely defensive, reactionary captain who has done nothing to work on our bowling in the long term. Nothing wrong with making another young player without baggage, the captain 2) Indian super-stars including Dhoni have got extraordinary love, affection and fawning. He is one of the richest sportsmen in the world. In Jharkhand, he is more important than any Indian in the world. He has been part of bus top parades and received the highest sports awards. He is one of the top celebrities of India. So why wouldn't the hate received be reciprocational? You cannot have your cake and eat it too. If you are larger than life, you will be treated larger than life in both love and hate. You cannot enjoy the over the top respect and love and fan following and then complain when the criticism is in the same ball park. Then you may as well forfeit the millions earned 3) No other captain inthe world has the luxury of a 9-0 defeat and maintaining their place no matter the past success. After one 5-0, Cook and Flower have their places questioned. Imagine series after series losses. No other captain in the world can retain their position when all the selectors wanted him gone 4) No other captain in the world runs his own parallel business world and then selects/favors players affiliated to it and gets away with it So if you see everything, Indian fans have actually been too kind to Dhoni and not the other way around. There is no way any other country would have tolerated these shenanigans for so long

I can only wonder whether the vitriolic nonsense in virtually every post you make a result of a perennial ulcer or are you one of those hotheaded guys who has no fuse whatsoever. Shameful, really that except for attacking established players and wishing everyone bowled as fast as Lee, you contribute little. PS: I dont think we have to worry about the next Indian captain- Dhoni is the man for the job for the next 4-5 years and I believe he is the best option we have. Kohli might get eased into it in the future when he is pushing 30 but till then, we need Dhoni. Yes, he is limited- he is unimaginative with his field placements and rotates his bowlers poorly. But on the plus side, he is one of the rare Indian captains who has not had his performance shot to pieces due to pressures of captaincy. Be it Azhar, Tendulkar, Ganguly or Dravid, one thing Dhoni has over them is that his own performance does not seem to suffer despite the burdens of captaincy. And for that, we can only be thankful. For if the next guy follows the 'classic desi pattern' of being 60% as good as non-captaincy years, then we are gonna be royally screwed if Dhoni is removed anytime soon, for it means we get 60% of Virat or Pujara.
if you have followed cricket for sometime you might know that there is no other Captain in the History of Test Cricket who has led his team to 4-0 defeats twice and still remained the Captain. Add to that 2-1 loss to Eng at Home and then this loss to SA - any Captain without support of the BCCI Prez would probably have been sacked after 4-0 loss to Eng or at most the 4-0 loss to Australia. In fact the selectors were in favor of sacking him but Srini vetoed the move. On top of all that is his batting - there have been hardly any noteworthy contributions form him when the team needed it. More often than not he will make a 70-80 or a century when there has been a solid foundation from the top order. Basically he is completely undependable and useless as a Test batsman. He should quit tests to concentrate on the format his is still good at i.e. ODIs and of course tamasha kirkut. This is a completely new and young team so its better to have a new Captain and have a fresh start. But I do not expect that in the foreseeable future because Srini is still there to protect "brand M$D".
i On top of all that is his batting - there have been hardly any noteworthy contributions form him when the team needed it. More often than not he will make a 70-80 or a century when there has been a solid foundation from the top order. Basically he is completely undependable and useless as a Test batsman. .
Overseas, not in India. If it comes to batting in India, he is still the best WK/batsman.
More often than not he will make a 70-80 or a century when there has been a solid foundation from the top order.
Overseas, he cannot even do this.
1) Like a player's form, captaincy too has a shelf life. Dhoni was a young agressive captain with bright ideas once. Today he is a completely defensive, reactionary captain who has done nothing to work on our bowling in the long term. Nothing wrong with making another young player without baggage, the captain 2) Indian super-stars including Dhoni have got extraordinary love, affection and fawning. He is one of the richest sportsmen in the world. In Jharkhand, he is more important than any Indian in the world. He has been part of bus top parades and received the highest sports awards. He is one of the top celebrities of India. So why wouldn't the hare received be reciprocational? You cannot have your cake and eat it too. If you are larger than life, you will b e treated larger than life in both love and hate. You cannot enjoy the over the top respect and love and fan following and then complain when the criticism is in the same ball park. Then you may as well forfeit the millions earned 3) No other captain inthe world has the luxury of a 9-0 defeat and maintaining their place no matter the past success. After one 5-0, Cook and Flower have their places questioned. Imagine series after series losses. No other captain in the world can retain their position when all the selectors wanted him gone 4) No other captain in the world runs his own parallel business world and then selects/favors players affiliated to it and gets away with it So if you see everything, Indian fans have actually been too kind to Dhoni and not the other way around. There is no way any other country would have tolerated these shenanigans for so long
top post,completely agree.. having dhoni as the captain for these future away tour will be disastrous,he'll continue to play his favourites shamelessly with pishant being his perennial favourite,his captaincy is getting worse by the day,he is just surviving due to his past laurels and sreeni.
The cries of 'defensive captaincy' are laughable if you look at the recent Jo'burg test. He has changed but people haven't.
Agree he was more attacking But please explain why Ishant is picked no matter what, in odis and tests? Also explain how vinnay kumar played a test match and was picked relentlessley bu dhoni. Explain why RP Singh was flown in off a beach when having apot belly from no where to play a test match in england? When you identify the answers you will understand why he must go
The cries of 'defensive captaincy' are laughable if you look at the recent Jo'burg test. He has changed but people haven't.
One swallow doesn't make a summer. Forgot Durban where he has not had even one slip with ball reversing and edges went begging. It was one of the worst piece of captaincy I have ever seen. Appalling. What was he trying to achieve by not having slips and asking bowlers to bowl middle and leg by packing leg side field. How could he have gotten wickets that way? Edge from Kallis of Shami early on went through first slip with no one there when ball was reversing.
1) 3) No other captain inthe world has the luxury of a 9-0 defeat and maintaining their place no matter the past success. After one 5-0, Cook and Flower have their places questioned. Imagine series after series losses. No other captain in the world can retain their position when all the selectors wanted him gone
look at clarke lost to SA 1-0 at home, lost in england 3-0 lost in india 4-0 (i think he missed one game) yet is a hero after 5-0 win over england at home. Their is no denying Dhoni survived as captain only because of Srini but i also feel their was no better alternate with so many seniors retiring. I agree its time to groom the next guy. Kohli in my opinon is the right choice; young, agressive part of all 3 format. What i dont like is we have stop announcing vice captains, selectors should commit so as to let the next guy know and handover after 2015 WC.

Defensive might not be an accurate depiction of Dhoni as captain.He is more clueless than defensive when it comes to fast bowling especially in tests.What he did in Joburg test in name of playing attacking cricket was just rubbish. The most worrying factor of Dhoni both as a player and captain is ,these losses does not seem to have any effect on him as captain and his awful performances as batsman seem to have zero effect and I don't think it is going to change anytime soon. He is so secure about his place and that is very bad sign for Indian cricket.