Haarkarjeetgaye Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 how will our bowlers get wickets? we wont even win at home
kubrickian Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 And I believe all of them were correct. So I can't see a valid reason.. Many of those decisions were wrong and the technology used was poor and inaccurate. The third umpire was a patriotic Lungan who kept pressing the red button whenever Mahela asked for a review. They also used Hot spot in England tour which proved dodgy. Dravid got many bad decisions in that tour. These created a bad impression of DRS for Indian team. Not yet foolproof What is surely not part of the ‘ifs and buts' of the game is that technology has still not got foolproof and therefore to use it, is not only changing the course of the match but also risking a player's career. It may well be alright for a Rahul Dravid to get the bad bargain in the DRS because he is an established player with a marvellous career record in both forms of the game, and can survive a bad call and get another match to play, but if it is a young player who gets the wrong end of technology then it could well mean the end of his career what with competition for places being so strong. The way the UDRS has gone this season for him, it can be called ‘Unfortunate Dravid Removal System'. Good case Yes there is a good case to use technology to minimise errors on the field, for that can ease tensions between the teams, but the technology has to be foolproof and not 95 or 97 percent correct, in which case you may as well have a human error. With virtually all the decisions referred to technology going England's way, it is now understandable why its players — especially its bowlers and the media — were so upset that India was refusing to have it for the series. Unfortunately for the BCCI, not having a good public relations team means that they have blown the chance to now show why they were right in not accepting the DRS. The current technology is lot more accurate and improved. BCCI has to consider using it to minimize bad decisions.
zumi Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Too much burden on our batsmen at this point. Bowlers have to step up. In this test on a juicy first day wicket we bowled really horribly. +1 bowling is just horrendous, giving away massive runs at econ rates of 3.75 to 4.5 regularly is just not Test cricket quality. Even with someone like one of Herath or Junaid Khan and we would have won both Tests in South Africa.
zep1706 Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 DRS is obviously better than having nothing but I have always advocated using just the TV replays to remove howlers. Anything that's not obvious from TV replays should not be overturned. For example the third umpire could have easily overturned Rahane's dismissal just using the TV replays.
Switchblade Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 I was hoping that we would accept des after srt's retirement but I guess now we also need to wait for msd to retire. MSD k bad koi aur aa jaiga yar wo bhi DRS k against hoga funny thing that we won both the ICC tournaments which had DRS :giggle:
Cricketics Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Our bowling-fielding combo at times, makes us look more bad. Yes, they got us back in the game but in the fist innings, giving 500 runs away, we were almost playing a catch up. Many touring side often get bowled out around 200 in their first test outing overseas, but giving away 500 run sthat easily really sets you back in the test match. The probablility of coming back in the test match gets minimal.
Cricketics Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 With 9 wickets, and last I checked, Ishant is featuring twice on the scorecard summar, both of 1st inning, and 2nd inng, he isn't getting dropped I am sure. Got to feel for others waiting to get chance. Really sad.
Switchblade Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 1) Vijay 2) Dhawan 3) Pujara 4) Kohli 5) Rahane 6) Dhoni 7) Jadeja 8) Pandey 9) Bhuvi 10) Shami 11) Yadav even though i know its not gonna happen Bhai jab tum jantey ho k kuch bhi badalne wala nahi hai fir kyu ummid jagai baithey ho ham jo bhi chahey par kaptaan cool jab ek bar than leta hai to kisi ki bhi nahi sunta.
kubrickian Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Dhoni is known to troll everyone. Wont be surprised if he makes some changes but cant see anyone replaced, provided an injury. Ideally Zaheer should be replaced by Pandey. I'm overall happy with the side if they keep doing well but they should explore the possibility of playing an extra seamer. 4th seamer is important as our seamers will lose steam after a while and spinner wont do much damage in these conditions.
gaurav92 Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 My Playing XI Dhawan Vijay Pujara © Kohli Rahane Rohit Saha Jadeja Shami Ishwar Yadav India's playing XI Vijay Dhawan Pujara Kohli Rahane Rohit Dhoni Jadeja Zak Ishant Shami
rkt.india Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Bowling was made to look worse by poor catching and captaincy.
gaurav92 Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 If somehow he can bring his act together with the ball, he can be a part time bowler who can bat :nice:
sscomp32 Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 The conventional Loop and flight Spinner days are over-Look at the semi-succesful ones in recent times across all formats Ajmal,Jadeja,Hafeez,Shillingford,Peterson,Panesar(India series),Narine,Ashwin,Ojha,Afridi are all freakish spinners,darters or Chuckers. Shakib is a darter too With Swann retiring Lyon and Herath are or were the only 3 old school Loop and Flight spinners AFAIK Despite being ordinary Tahir is also a throwback but thats about it. Muirhead was good in The T20's v England. A conventional spinner with lots of turn.
asterix Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Dhoni is known to troll everyone. Wont be surprised if he makes some changes but cant see anyone replaced, provided an injury. Ideally Zaheer should be replaced by Pandey. I'm overall happy with the side if they keep doing well but they should explore the possibility of playing an extra seamer. 4th seamer is important as our seamers will lose steam after a while and spinner wont do much damage in these conditions. Dhoni is trolling no one but himself.... May he keep on losing series after series...
CG Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 The biggest arsehole of them is the captain dhoni which op will never mention.
CG Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Dhoni is trolling no one but himself.... May he keep on losing series after series... This.
cricraja Posted February 9, 2014 Posted February 9, 2014 Should be an unchanged squad, unless Zak has nothing left in his tank.