Poll: Should Pujara be in ODI team?

FischerTal

Poll: Should Pujara be in ODI team?  

Abe chaman jab squad me hi nahi hai Pujara to kahan se khilaayein usko?
abey ghonchu, dhobi himself wants all players to be excellent fielders, simple signal to keep pujara out.
No matter who do you play until we do not stop conceding 300 runs like a predetermined invite every match' date=' we are not going to win much overseas. Period. There is nothing wrong with the batting. No batting will survive under such pressure for long of chasing 6-7 RPO from ball one in these conditions.[/quote'] been saying this for ages now.as a captain dhoni's approach to the game is very negative,if u dont pick wkts in the middle ovrs then get ready to chase 300 everytime
No matter who do you play until we do not stop conceding 300 runs like a predetermined invite every match' date=' we are not going to win much overseas. Period. There is nothing wrong with the batting. No batting will survive under such pressure for long of chasing 6-7 RPO from ball one in these conditions.[/quote'] Opening bowlers must get 2-3 wickets in the first spell every match. India almost always fail here and have well set batsmen take on our spinners - that means India does not apply much pressure in the middle overs also - the result - leather hunt in the final 10 overs. Today India were lucky to chase only 314, it could have been 350+.
abey ghonchu' date=' dhobi himself wants all players to be excellent fielders, simple signal to keep pujara out.[/quote'] No player is kept out only for his fielding. Aise toh Gambhir wouldn't have played a single game under Dhoni.
Ashwin's always been a containing bowler in ODIs. You typically get under 5 RPO from the full quota of 10 overs for a wicket or two. Those are good enuf stats to get selected.
Are you aware of his 1 for 300+ runs stats? Well, he is got 2 now for 400 something. LOL And NO, for a #1 side and that too India, that's just isn't enough.
abey ghonchu' date=' dhobi himself wants all players to be excellent fielders, simple signal to keep pujara out.[/quote'] Lol. Don't think he wants to keep Pujara out. He does want his chaddi buddies in the side but I don't think he has any plans of not wanting Pujara in the 15.
No matter who do you play until we do not stop conceding 300 runs like a predetermined invite every match' date=' we are not going to win much overseas. Period. There is nothing wrong with the batting. No batting will survive under such pressure for long of chasing 6-7 RPO from ball one in these conditions.[/quote'] disagree completely.I even agree with Dhoni's choice of chasing every game even though he will not win so many tosses in the WC and i would like to see them bat first for a change.300 is the new 250 especially with the new rules and the batsmen particularly the openers have lost all 3 games for us.we would have all 3 games even if one opener had hit atleast a fifty.we almost win all our matches when our openers do well because we have big hitters down the order but both openers are completely rattled atm.
Opening bowlers must get 2-3 wickets in the first spell every match. India almost always fail here and have well set batsmen take on our spinners - that means India does not apply much pressure in the middle overs also - the result - leather hunt in the final 10 overs. Today India were lucky to chase only 314' date=' it could have been 350+.[/quote'] we had 2 wickets in first 10 overs in both first 2 matches. What did spinners do?
we had 2 wickets in first 10 overs in both first 2 matches. What did spinners do?
on that i agree,bowling 2 spinners here and especialy in australia is not appealing but we need a medium pace allrounder for dhoni to change his mind.
on that i agree' date='bowling 2 spinners here and especialy in australia is not appealing but we need a medium pace allrounder for dhoni to change his mind.[/quote'] Need to try Rishi Dhawan for that, guy average 23 with the ball and 43 with the bat in FC, is a thinking bowler of what I have seen of him, similar pace to BK and swings and seam but certainly a better bat, good striker of the ball. We are wasting our time on Binny here.
Need to try Rishi Dhawan for that' date=' guy average 23 with the ball and 43 with the bat in FC, is a thinking bowler of what I have seen of him, similar pace to BK and swings and seam but certainly a better bat, good striker of the ball. We are wasting our time on Binny here.[/quote'] have you seen him bat much?I only saw him in one game and looked poor
have you seen him bat much?I only saw him in one game and looked poor
Just one game is not a good indicator. He certainly has something in him as a batsman. Will ask Aakash Chopra about it though.
we had 2 wickets in first 10 overs in both first 2 matches. What did spinners do?
Only in the first match. In 2 matches out of 3, we took the second wicket only after 20 overs. This won't do when we play outside SC, much better effort needed in opening spell if India are to win regularly.

No- I care way too much about our test team to risk his temperament, technique and more importantly his knees for ODIs. Good ODI players are a dime a dozen, potential test greats like Pujara are once in a generation. We have so many other candidates for ODIs

What exactly is Pujara's problem? I keep hearing about his knees - it is temporary or chronic? Will it affect him in test matches over the long term?

Need to try Rishi Dhawan for that' date=' guy average 23 with the ball and 43 with the bat in FC, is a thinking bowler of what I have seen of him, similar pace to BK and swings and seam but certainly a better bat, good striker of the ball. We are wasting our time on Binny here.[/quote'] Rishi Dhawan is not an allrounder ,

While I agree with what rkt said that batting is not at fult whole chasing 300 every game but this is New Zealand and we have seen many series like this one with 300 being breached in every match in Odis and targets getting chased with comfort ... This is one country where I won't blame bowlers much cow I have seen even great Aussie side going for runs here consistently in series

Crying out for opener who bats 30 to 35 overs. Scores 80 of 100 balls stuff Both openers currently only can whack it. We need someone like pujara who hits sinlges and balls in to gaps stuff Also pujara is not some ultra defensive player, is and can be positive