Speeds and Performances of Pacers and Spinners

It is better to play pure batters than to play bits and pieces players in the hope they would score runs. 

These sifareeshi bits and pieces players, when they fail in bowling, which they often do, have an excuse that they are not full time bowlers. When they fail in batting which they did yesterday, has the same excuse with batting. 

Having fiery genuine express pace bowlers in such conditions makes sense. Having Ashok, Mayank, Harshit, or even Prince would make more sense. 

11 hours ago, express bowling said:

They were probably planning Harshit as No.8 batter and 4th pacer ... but he got injured.

We need another such guy. Maybe Arshad Khan.

Arshad khan almost 30 yo has played a grand total of 11 list A games including recent list A matches against SL . He is indirectly hinting ship has sailed

2 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

if we had batted full 50 overs we might have challenged Eng a bit more. We cannot afford to play a lower order and tail that we have now. 

Need to replace Washington and Dube.

11 hours ago, express bowling said:

They were probably planning Harshit as No.8 batter and 4th pacer ... but he got injured.

We need another such guy. Maybe Arshad Khan.

Why do we prepare for the worst? Why not have batsmen who can actually perform so we dont have to depend on bowlers to bat? I fail to understand the logic.

2 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

Why do we prepare for the worst? Why not have batsmen who can actually perform so we dont have to depend on bowlers to bat? I fail to understand the logic.

Historically, top order has been failing in crunch games. We need fail-safe options

22 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

In ODIs, we need atleast 5 bowlers.  [ 10 × 5 ]

Means bowlers from 7 to 11.

Means needing atleast one all-rounder at 7.

Which means we can have max 6 proper batters.

So it is understandable that TMs want some batting at 8, as 6 batters are not enough. 

[ In tests, the 5th bowling option is not mandatory and 7 best batters are possible ... and 4 best bowlers after that should be the norm ].

5 hours ago, express bowling said:

In ODIs, we need atleast 5 bowlers.  [ 10 × 5 ]

Means bowlers from 7 to 11.

Means needing atleast one all-rounder at 7.

Which means we can have max 6 proper batters.

So it is understandable that TMs want some batting at 8, as 6 batters are not enough. 

[ In tests, the 5th bowling option is not mandatory and 7 best batters are possible ... and 4 best bowlers after that should be the norm ].

I think we need to bring in likes of Manav Suthar, Nishant Sindhu in the mix. 

Perhaps even Suryansh Shedge could have given a chance in ODI instead of T20s.

That will solve our problem of pace allrounder. Arshad isnt good enough to bat at no 7. Dube is old and slow....ODIs are too long for him.

Gurnoor & Harshit both have good potential with the bat. They need to be explored. Harshit has improved, Gurnoor can as well. Akashdeep is another pacer who is good with bat and can serve as a new ball pacer for SA, his List A numbers are good.

No 6 can be Suryansh/Reddy/Pandya

No 7 Axar/Washy/Sindhu/Suthar

No 8 Harshit/Akashdeep

Then Bumrah, Gurnoor, Prasidh, Siraj, Kuldeep..depending on pitches 

6 hours ago, express bowling said:

GURNOOR  BRAR ....

Vs Afghanistan, see how he was mixing vicious short balls with stump directed balls and yorkers.

The yorkers are totally missing in England.  Needs to bring them back.

May be yorker is not the go-to ball for Gurnoor, most bowlers bowls such deliveries when they are in good rhythm or they already have got some wkts already .

Its similar to how batters who play certain shots (sweep/ramps/reverse ) deep into their innings when they have already scored some runs 

1 hour ago, tapandrun said:

May be yorker is not the go-to ball for Gurnoor, most bowlers bowls such deliveries when they are in good rhythm or they already have got some wkts already .

Its similar to how batters who play certain shots (sweep/ramps/reverse ) deep into their innings when they have already scored some runs 

I have seen him bowl yorkers vs SL-A and in List A cricket too. And Gurnoor has himself talked about the need for regular yorkers in a recent interview.

So, good chance he was instructed to bowl short only. 

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

I think we need to bring in likes of Manav Suthar, Nishant Sindhu in the mix. 

Nishant is not a big hitter.

Suthar maybe better as a hitter and be a backup to Axar.  Should be tried. 

Perhaps even Suryansh Shedge could have given a chance in ODI instead of T20s. That will solve our problem of pace allrounder

Shedge needs to work on his power hitting first. 

. Arshad isnt good enough to bat at no 7.

No.8, not 7

Axar is at 7

Dube is old and slow....ODIs are too long for him.

Agree.

Gurnoor & Harshit both have good potential with the bat. They need to be explored. Harshit has improved, Gurnoor can as well.

Agree.

Akashdeep is another pacer who is good with bat and can serve as a new ball pacer for SA, his List A numbers are good.

Too unfit. Needs to get fit first.

No 6 can be Suryansh/Reddy/Pandya

Hardik .. Reddy are there at 6. But both injured.

Don't know whether Shedge can play this role as a batter at 6.

I want to try Abhishek Sharma here at No.6

No 7 Axar/Washy/Sindhu/Suthar

Axar is there and playing.

Suthar can be backup ... but he is probably a No.8

No 8 Harshit/Akashdeep

Harshit is there but injured.  

I suggested Arshad as backup here at No.8. as Akash is injured too.

Then Bumrah, Gurnoor, Prasidh, Siraj, Kuldeep..depending on pitches

I think Siraj is averaging 42 in ODIs in the last 2 years. 

We need to focus on Bumrah, Gurnoor, Prasidh, Kuldeep, Arshdeep.

Edited by express bowling
4 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Mohit Shibu tall fast bowler from Kerala 

Doesnt look "fast"...around 135k....his runup is very weak and he is putting a lot of effort on the action to get pace.
How tall is he anyway ?

14 hours ago, express bowling said:

I have seen him bowl yorkers vs SL-A and in List A cricket too. And Gurnoor has himself talked about the need for regular yorkers in a recent interview.

So, good chance he was instructed to bowl short only. 

As per cricinfo India had employed short ball tactics in both Prasidh's and Gurnoor's later spells.  But just didn't have enough runs to play with.

I hope he changes his tactics in second game and mixes it up.  

Edited by Lone Wolf
12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Doesnt look "fast"...around 135k....his runup is very weak and he is putting a lot of effort on the action to get pace.
How tall is he anyway ?

Looks around 6'3. He was a part of u19 setup a few years back.

On 7/11/2026 at 8:24 PM, vayuu1 said:

My question is with ashok kumar Kartik tyagi Mohsin Khan gurnoor brar being there why do you pick prashit and prince also what's this fanatasy with axar,along with chakri its clear axar has regressed batting wise as well 

Selector is Agarkar, expectations kya hai?