Desi Cartman Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 I watched this documentary called "Fat, sick and nearly dead" film which follows the 60-day journey of Australian Joe Cross across the United States as he follows a juice fast to regain his health under the care of Dr. Joel Fuhrman, Nutrition Research Foundation's Director of Research.[1] Cross and Robert Mac, co-creators of the film, both serve on the Nutrition Research Foundation's Advisory Board.[2][3] Following his fast and the adoption of a plant-based diet, Cross lost 100 pounds and discontinued all medications.[4][5] During his road-trip Cross meets Phil Staples, a morbidly obese truck driver from Sheldon, Iowa, in a truck stop in Arizona and inspires him to try juice fasting.[6][7] Reviewers compared it to an infomercial. The film has been credited with doubling the sales of Breville juicers since the documentary launched on Netflix in the US in July 2011.[8] I am now truly motivated and Im going for almost 3 week stint (nov 21 - 11 Dec). I need help from you guys to keep me in check. I will soon start posting my weight so you all can praise me :giggle: Day -1: Plan has been finalized, app for all juice recipes has been download, vegetables and fruits have been purchased but since I dont have a juicer, I will start from tomorrow. Anybody else wants to join in ? Watch the documentary on Netflix or here http://www.rebootwithjoe.com/watch-fat-sick-and-nearly-dead/ , make up your mind, set your first goal and start!
maniac Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 Saw it a long time back on Netflix...Is it the one where the Aussie goes on a Juice diet....Inspired me for a couple of days and then I said Fk that and resumed to live normally
maniac Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 Also as you see in the documentary the Aussie guy is living next to a place that has all fast foods etc where as the truck driver lives in a more secluded area to avoid temptation.....which one are you :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted November 20, 2014 Author Posted November 20, 2014 ^ Im the fat guy :P I am getting desperate as I have very high chance of getting diabetes and Im having trouble losing weight. Also with kids and work, I just dont have time (or perhaps the will) to go the gym. I did low carb for a few months and did lose almost 20% of my weight in 6 months so I have the will power. Lets see how I go, small goals for now so Im focused on the first 4 days
maniac Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 ^ Im the fat guy :P I am getting desperate as I have very high chance of getting diabetes and Im having trouble losing weight. Also with kids and work, I just dont have time (or perhaps the will) to go the gym. I did low carb for a few months and did lose almost 20% of my weight in 6 months so I have the will power. Lets see how I go, small goals for now so Im focused on the first 4 days Good initiative though...all the best :nice: Just avoid all the DESI restaurants in Fremont :P
Desi Cartman Posted November 20, 2014 Author Posted November 20, 2014 Good initiative though...all the best :nice: Just avoid all the DESI restaurants in Fremont :P oh yea, im cool with that. The only thing I worry about is my dinner appetite :((
veer Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 ^ Im the fat guy :P I am getting desperate as I have very high chance of getting diabetes and Im having trouble losing weight. Also with kids and work, I just dont have time (or perhaps the will) to go the gym. I did low carb for a few months and did lose almost 20% of my weight in 6 months so I have the will power. Lets see how I go, small goals for now so Im focused on the first 4 days Good video.. But boy, you chose the wrong time. Its a thanksgiving and X-mas season.. people will be bringing food and do pot lucks at offices etc.. However, if you pass this season, then you are gold. Chalo write down your weight here so we can monitor and bully you on your progress. I am not a fat guy but i am trying to avoid sugary stuff cuz of diabetes and all.. and try to eat healthy.. One of the things I started doing, besides gym, is take stairs to my office on 7th floor. It is tough in the beginning but convenient and you go to office daily and stairs are right there. It will leave you breathless at the end.. so try that assuming you are not working on 1st or 2nd floor. All the best..
coffee_rules Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 Mrs tried and gave up seeing me eat the whole time. :--D
G_B_ Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 this juice thing appears to be too drastic. My mantra is simple. Aim for a BMI of between 22-23. Replace chapati/roti with rice. Less calories per gram. Eat plenty of fish. Eat plenty of fruits. Again calories per gram are quite low Always moniter the calories per gram of the stuff you buy in the supermarket. More than the gym, i find swimming is more efficient in reducing fat. Maybe aim to swim for 1km ?
maniac Posted November 20, 2014 Posted November 20, 2014 this juice thing appears to be too drastic. My mantra is simple. Aim for a BMI of between 22-23. Replace chapati/roti with rice. Less calories per gram. Eat plenty of fish. Eat plenty of fruits. Again calories per gram are quite low Always moniter the calories per gram of the stuff you buy in the supermarket. More than the gym, i find swimming is more efficient in reducing fat. Maybe aim to swim for 1km ? Swimming is a good cardio,ups your stamina but it is proven that Swimming is not an exercise to reduce fat. Also Juicing is more or less an exericise to detox the body,People who practice this actually even in the documentary,only do it for 1 month-40 days....if you juice for too long,that will result in health complications of their own.
Laaloo Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 also the best thing you can do is get better sleep. light dinner and eat long time before you go to sleep.
Cricketics Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 I gained lot of weight for some time when I didn't play much cricket earlier this season because of my shoulder rotator cuff. Then I started thinking of going on diet. But got tired of it. So I decided to just join the gym and still continue eating crappy nasty junk food or any kind of food. I am back to full fitness now without giving up on any junk food. I just was regular at the gym. Not too many weights just regular minimal work out. Running, little bit tiny weights and using some random machines. Just hitting the gym on regular basis does wonder. If you can push yourself to do that, then you don't have to worry about cutting on anything you love to eat.
Texy Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 O hi Desi just had butter chicken with stuffed aloo paratha And Shrimp curry made Bengali style with Mutton Biryani Finally sweetened my palette with some tasty Gajar ka halwa w/ pistachio & cashews Mmmmmm
Desi Cartman Posted November 21, 2014 Author Posted November 21, 2014 ok .. drum roll .. ... ... . I start at 225 lbs .. BMI of 34 Goal I 190 lbs :isalute:
Desi Cartman Posted November 21, 2014 Author Posted November 21, 2014 Texy, I start tomorrow so I can eat that stuff tonight :hysterical:
rkt.india Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 Calorie deficit diet with some exercises is the best wat to lose weight. Eat fruits like apple, oranges other citrus fruits as they are low calories, oatmeals and nuts. Nuts are high in calorie but they suppress hunger and keep you full for longer.
Precambrian Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 Good luck Desi. I am also on a diet. Was 115.3 kg a week back. Now 112.5 kg. Aim is to reduce 25 kg over next 3 months.
Kalia_Test Posted November 21, 2014 Posted November 21, 2014 Good luck Desi. I am also on a diet. Was 115.3 kg a week back. Now 112.5 kg. Aim is to reduce 25 kg over next 3 months. Looks like Mohanlal is your idol :vroam: