MS Dhoni to his coach: ‘Pehchanna sir, main MS Dhoni’

Some bad memories just stay with you and you have to get it off your chest to get closure. Dhoni doesn't usually show such behavior. The coach must have hurt him enough for him to want to say it...He didn't have to say it. Just showing up in front of him would have been enough. The fact that he did it shows it was more than normal disappointment. Dhoni is no kohli ...he wouldn't enjoy rubbing it in. I give the benefit of the doubt to dhoni.:two_thumbs_up:
Absolutely true. Yeah benefit of doubt can be given to Dhoni.

I wish and hope this story is incomplete. As MTC pointed out, it might not put him in great light, but I also do believe that there must be more to that story. Dhoni seems like a genuine, down to earth dude so I am sure if he approached someone, he must have taken time to talk to him than just the cameo mentioned above.

Some bad memories just stay with you and you have to get it off your chest to get closure. Dhoni doesn't usually show such behavior. The coach must have hurt him enough for him to want to say it...He didn't have to say it. Just showing up in front of him would have been enough. The fact that he did it shows it was more than normal disappointment. Dhoni is no kohli ...he wouldn't enjoy rubbing it in. I give the benefit of the doubt to dhoni.:two_thumbs_up:
+1
+1

If I meet the guy who didn't give me an entry level job 12 years ago, I "might" also behave the same way. I remember one process where I was in tests and interviews for 8 hrs and then selected and told to meet the manager the next day as they need to hire 8/10. The guy made me wait and then was rude to me and didn't select me for no clear reason other than he didn't like me. If I were to meet him tomorrow and if I get a chance then I'd like to pass a comment or two as well. When you work very hard for something and believe you deserve it, it can leave a mark on you and affect you. The other guy maybe right from his POV as well but if you feel insulted or hard done by then it's natural to react.

situation would only be comparable if you have 1000x the fame and money than the guy who rejected you

Much before Dhoni made his debut, one of my friend in the Engineering college who was from Ranchi always use to say, " Mera ek dost hai Mahendar, dekhna he will definitely play for India one day. Great hitter and great Wicket keeper". We always use to say "Aise bahut se player hain India main". After few years when his friend Mahendar became The Mahendra singh Dhoni, I called my friend and asked did he get a chance to meet Dhoni. He used all the abusive language we know and said, "Pehchanna to door, dekhta bhi nahi hai humari taraf".

And sir your friend indeed had great eye for talent. Recognizing a gem like MS Dhoni requires sharp brain and hawk eye, which ofcourse most ICF ers do not have. I say give ur frnd selector role already. Never know he might unearth another Captain Cool:):):)
And sir your friend indeed had great eye for talent. Recognizing a gem like MS Dhoni requires sharp brain and hawk eye' date=' which ofcourse most ICF ers do not have. I say give ur frnd selector role already. Never know he might unearth another Captain Cool:):):)[/quote'] The only talent he had was of being drunk 24*7. Bewre ki kismat ban gayi. He would not have heard so much appreciation in his life. Thanks ! Will pass on the compliment.
The only talent he had was of being drunk 24*7. Bewre ki kismat ban gayi. He would not have heard so much appreciation in his life. Thanks ! Will pass on the compliment.
Yeh lo....that could be the reason why dhoni ignored him.Who wants a drunk following you around.:giggle:Maybe he imagined Mahendar was a friend during his drinking sessions.

It could be that his coach did not find his batting special, in terms of technique. Hundreds of threads here testify to the theory that Dhoni as a (test) batsman is a hack!!! This is after he has played for team India for a decade!

He was only trying to cool by saying Dhoni is his friend since he knew Dhoni was gonna make it big.
:giggle:Like a bua of mine used to say Hema Malini was her friend when they were kids .On further questioning...it was revealed that they just stayed in the same colony in Delhi and Hema Malini had no time to play with other children as she used to be busy going for dance practice.
Preeti Jhangiani of Mohabbatein fame was my class mate in School :--D She was pretty but I never expected her to be an actress and boy was I right :giggle:
You are 1980 Born :omg:
You are 20 year elder than Sabby' date=' 25 years than LeoRahi [b']and 2 years elder than MS Dhoni :giggle:
I definitely look 7 years younger than MSD though :giggle: