NareshK Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Sharad Yadav was at the centre of a controversy over his comments on south Indian women with his detractors terming it as "sexist" and "racist" but the JD(U) president remained defiant, saying he was only praising their beauty. Yadav, a best Parliamentarian awardee, said he was only underscoring the social and cultural bias in favour of people with white skin. "The body of women from south is as good as beautiful they are. They (women) in our region are not that good as those (in south) know dancing," :hysterical::hysterical: Yadav had said in Rajya Sabha during a debate on insurance bill. BJP and Congress condemned his remarks. "It is very unfortunate that he made such comments that too while taking part in the debate on insurance bill. It is very sad that he is trying to present women in such a way. It shows sort of racism. This is a misogynist comment, especially his remarks about south Indian women which are very objectionable," BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra said. Congress spokesperson Shobha Oza said she condemns Yadav's statement. "I will request all elected representatives to speak about women with dignity and honour and not pass any loose comments," she said. Yadav, hwoever, defended his comments. "I was just praising the figure of women from that part of country. It is due to their dancing skills. We praise beauty of people whether they are men and women. :hysterical::hysterical: "I mentioned about dark complexion because all our gods are dark-skinned but you see our matrimonial and will find how people prefer white skins. I was pointing this out," he said. JD(U) spokesperson K C Tyagi, though, offered his party's apology and said if Yadav's comments hurt any women his party was sorry for it. How intelligent are our leaders. Wow, speechless. No wonder India is shining. :hatsoff:
urbestfriend Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 South Indian women are dancers? Wish everyone here knew dancing.
Precambrian Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 A bit like mindless CSK fans who think Ravi jadeja, MS Dhoni , Suresh Raina etc are Madrasis. Well, count me in as well. :)
Khalpat Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 New Delhi: Politician Sharad Yadav made a bad situation considerably worse today when he said "I know what you are" to Education Minister Smriti Irani when she urged him to refrain from making offensive remarks about women's complexion in Parliament http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/i-know-what-you-are-sharad-yadav-adds-new-installment-to-offensive-remarks-746999?pfrom=home-lateststories Isn't he a serial offender, I am not able to recall but he said something to woman journalist also last year.
mishra Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Why do Indian make ads for creams like "fair and lovely"? After all Indian Politicians belong to same society where a UP man is regularly prortrayed as Dhoodhvala Bhaiya or servent Ramu kaka, gatekeeper is a Gurakha, There is a drunken Dkosta, Mratahi maid Kanta Bai and so on.
Tiger80 Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Indian women's movement is now very much movement of elite english speaking class.The day Sharad Yadav spoke this I saw it on 9pm on newshour and new x at prime time surprisingly I watched the hindi discussion earlier and there were no debates on this issue , infact it was a non issue for them while for English media it was their main issue.
hhunaeh Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Media should target him for saying things like "i know what you are" and threatening people in the parliament.
vvvslaxman Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 In this day and age your stupidity will be exposed brutally. Each and every thing you say (even the sane ones) will be interpreted in million ways. I am sure these guys speak their mind. Can't treat it as a mistake (atleast not all of them). High time the respective parties make them go through cultural sensitivity training. Trust me. We will be running into more of this. This is not a reflection of their parties. It is an Individual's state of mind. Atleast these guys should keep their mouth shut even if they think that way. Teach them how sensitive 'sexism', 'racism' issues are in this day age. There will be endless 'opinions' that is going to stir more sh** in the future.
mhr123 Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Why do Indian make ads for creams like "fair and lovely"? After all Indian Politicians belong to same society where a UP man is regularly prortrayed as Dhoodhvala Bhaiya or servent Ramu kaka' date=' gatekeeper is a Gurakha, There is a drunken Dkosta, Mratahi maid Kanta Bai and so on.[/quote'] Also add .. Butcher as Muslim with a cap on and chewing Bettle leaves (Pan).:giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Sharad Yadav calls South Indian women 'dark-skinned' all conspiracies to defame India. We have no problem and these statements are on tv because videshi takats are trying to destroy our super awesome image.
AmreekanDesi Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 by automatically inferring that calling someone 'dark-skinned' is racist also shows racism and bigotry on the part of the ppl who call others racist south Indians are dark skinned. that's true. but whats wrong in that?
coffee_rules Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 by automatically inferring that calling someone 'dark-skinned' is racist also shows racism and bigotry on the part of the ppl who call others racist south Indians are dark skinned. that's true. but whats wrong in that? Are you as really as stupid as your posts? Yeah, people in cricket stadiums yelling kallu-kalia at WI players are people just showing preference to a body color!
vvvslaxman Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 by automatically inferring that calling someone 'dark-skinned' is racist also shows racism and bigotry on the part of the ppl who call others racist south Indians are dark skinned. that's true. but whats wrong in that? Your post defined what racism is.
gattaca Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Mumbai seems to have more these. The andrew symonds issue and below link about African students. Like people in mumbai are really fair. http://zeenews.india.com/home/being-black-is-a-crime-in-this-city-hindustan-times_541134.html
AmreekanDesi Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Are you as really as stupid as your posts? Yeah' date=' people in cricket stadiums yelling kallu-kalia at WI players are people just showing preference to a body color![/quote'] maybe read again next time my point is that calling someone dark skinned is not necessarily racism. the intention behind it matters. we have a culture where even off-the-hand remarks where calling someone kaala or dark skinned is construed as racism even if there in no malicious intention. just pointing that out
Sachin=GOD Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 all conspiracies to defame India. We have no problem and these statements are on tv because videshi takats are trying to destroy our super awesome image. This......all massive international kaanspiracies going on to destroy our image.
RedFever Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 Mentality of people in India itself is pathetic. Majority of population are dark skinned even in North India but they worship fair skinned Bollywood actors and actresses and use fairness creams and bleach their skin to appear fair skinned. Its because of years of being in slavery under foreigners who are fair skinned. I dont think that mentality and inferiority complex will go away anytime soon. isnt the same inferiorty complex visible among almost all the posters of ICF, who consider subcontinent pitches and matches played in the subcontinenet to be inferior to the matches played in England, Aus and SA ?
kubrickian Posted March 16, 2015 Posted March 16, 2015 isnt the same inferiorty complex visible among almost all the posters of ICF' date=' who consider subcontinent pitches and matches played in the subcontinenet to be inferior to the matches played in England, Aus and SA ?[/quote'] I wouldnt call them inferior but I certainly find them dull. Cricket on low, slow pitches is lot less exciting than fast, bouncy pitches. I feel in a test match, there should be good pace and bounce for first 2-3 days, then pitch should help spinners on 4 and 5th days. On some SC wickets, there is nothing for seamers which keeps them out of the game. Such tracks should be done away with.