BeautifulGame Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 India Votes With Pakistan, Saudi Arabia to Block Gay Rights at UN UNITED NATIONS: India was among 43 countries that voted on Tuesday against benefits for same sex couples working for the UN by backing a Russian-drafted resolution. The foreign ministry today justified India's stand saying countries were "not consulted" on the plan. The resolution was defeated with 80 nations rejecting it and 37 countries abstaining, which means the UN can now extend benefits to partners of gay employees. The idea was proposed by UN Secy Gen Ban Ki Moon last July. In voting against gay rights, India has joined socially conservative countries like Saudi Arabia, China, Iran, Egypt, Pakistan, and Syria. Foreign ministry officials say India's only option was to vote in favour of the Russian resolution since homosexuality is a crime in the country. In 2013, the Supreme Court had reinstated a colonial era ban on gay sex in India, and left it to Parliament to change the law. Several groups have petitioned against it. "The UN had as of until recently a system whereby they would decide on benefits for partners or spouses depending on the law of the country from where individual hailed. Then the UN Secretary General changed it of his own accord. Our objection was against the change by the secretariat without consulting countries," said a ministry spokesperson. Under a new policy in place since June, the UN recognizes same-sex couples married in a country where it is legal, regardless of their nationality. The foreign ministry said, "It's a complex issue of if nationals are governed by national laws or governed by others." The US has said the "vote should never have happened" as it sets a dangerous precedent in challenging the UN Secretary-General's authority to make administrative decisions and also reflects hostility to gay rights. Pathetically regressive from the government http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/india-supports-russian-resolution-against-gay-rights-at-un-749457
G_B_ Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 very disappointed should at the very least have abstained.
sage Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 India showing themselves to be in the same league as those fundamentalist idiots. Very bad stuff
beetle Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Shameful.We should hang our head in shame. Bloody chaddis!
Sachin=GOD Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Wah!!! Getting more and more regressive day by day.
velu Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 as far as they are not banning beer in bangalore , i am ok with it :aha:
G_B_ Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Shameful.We should hang our head in shame. Bloody chaddis! and the opposition Congress had how many years to change the laws with regards to gay rights? As i have said before I am deeply disappointed with the government on this and I am a BJP supporter. But at the same time lets not act as if Indian opposition is going to back gay rights or even and pass a law to legalise it. If the BJP does say pass a bill legalising gay people, I assure you the likes of the Samajwadi and the rest of the Janta Pariwar will campaign against them on it.
gattaca Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 They cant abstain unless they make homosexuality legal in India. If they abstain that would mean we are going against the law. Face palms should be for the law not the vote which is direct result of the law.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Why should our country vote in favor it if people of this country don't support it?
jalebi_bhai Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Disappointed with the BJP. Why should our country vote in favor it if people of this country don't support it? There is that. Even SC passed a recent judgment overturning a former HC judgment regarding Section 377 being unconstitutional. Biggest elephant in the room is that Indian society, in general, is slightly homophobic. People may not want to accept it, but it is reality. What incentive do political parties have to deal with the issue? They stand to lose by decriminalizing homosexuality. I'm not talking about the urban centers, but the rural masses, who are still in time warp, but are the most influential electorally.
G_B_ Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Oddly i would say transexuals seems to be in a better position in india than homosexuals. usually in most countries its the other way round. In many respect India is a country of paradoxes. Women are ill treated yet you had a PM in I Gandhi long before many western democracies had a women premier. There are women on the board of india's top companies than the usa? remember reading that.
G_B_ Posted April 1, 2015 Posted April 1, 2015 Why should our country vote in favor it if people of this country don't support it? which is why maybe they should abstain?
seedhi Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 This is more a question of sovereignty. India and any other country would obviously like UN to conduct its operations in consonance with the law of the land, as far as possible. Tomorrow, if the UN decides to fund sex determination tests and abortions for its female employees stationed in India, would India support that decision?
jf1gp_1 Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 we have laws against same sex relationship we voted inline with our laws. also if this issue was put on a ballot for indians to vote on, this would have failed. So why blame govt when its voting per our law and what indian in general would have done.
AmreekanDesi Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 we also were one of the few countries who voted against israel recently
CSK Fan Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 we have laws against same sex relationship we voted inline with our laws. also if this issue was put on a ballot for indians to vote on' date=' this would have failed. So why blame govt when its voting per our law and what indian in general would have done.[/quote'] Because sometimes the government does have to be progressive in these matters. If you give the public the right they might support even honor killings and child marriages. So this argument is not valid
AmreekanDesi Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 Because sometimes the government does have to be progressive in these matters. If you give the public the right they might support even honor killings and child marriages. So this argument is not valid but isnt the govt representatives of the ppl? and no child marriaages and honor killing have no chance of succeeding on the ballot our misfortune in such circumstances is that even if 10% adhere to some stupd ideal it means that over 100 million are part of that group and thats more people than most countries
rageaddict Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 Well done by the Government. Keep them sick poofters as secluded as possible. No voting in their favor at UN and no acceptance for them at home.
someone Posted April 2, 2015 Posted April 2, 2015 Since our country does over emphasis on our minorities, surely this is the right move. After all, Muslims do not support such rights at all. Our seculars should be praise our government instead.