Wide-eyed Sarfaraz Khan recalls his maiden tryst with IPL

http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/ipl/2377462/wide-eyed-sarfaraz-khan-recalls-his-maiden-tryst-with-ipl/ “Woh (Kohli) kuch khata he nahi hai. Kya fitness hai uska!†he says when asked about the RCB skipper and the cricketer who all of India is most interested in. “I learned a lot from him. After looking at his determination, I want to work on my fitness. By next IPL, I want to lose 6 more kilograms,†he adds. “Once I asked AB how he plays those reverse and lap shots to a fast bowler. And he told me that he does it because he doesn’t fear getting hit in the nether regions. That’s why he wears three abdomen guards! Even I have started wearing three now. It actually helps mentally,†he says. Most of Sarfaraz’s runs in his first IPL came behind the wicket as he exhibited both his ability to manoeuvre the ball to unlikely parts of the field and his brazen audacity. It’s this penchant that earned him the coinage of ‘Miandad’ from coach Daniel Vettori. “I thought they will send me back home after a few IPL games. I scored 80 runs off 30 balls in one of the practice games. Things changed thereafter. I was under more pressure when I made my debut. Otherwise it was only my Abba (Naushad) who was worrying,†he points out. Just then, Sarfaraz receives a message on his WhatsApp from Gayle, another cricketer of legendary status who the youngster from Kurla has grown close to through the course of the IPL. “He sent me a picture of us from the IPL. He has promised to send me air tickets to the Caribbean whenever he gets married,†he informs without a sense of being overwhelmed by it. There’s a reason for him trying to reign in the burst of emotions. Sarfaraz is keen on not ending up as a one-season wonder, of which there have been many in the IPL. “Chakachaundh zindagi hai IPL ke time (It’s a world of wonder in the IPL),†Sarfaraz says, insisting that he feels back at home in Taximen Colony. “I have seen how people get lost after one good season. I’m happy with the way things went but I have a long way to go,†he adds while his father Naushad ensures that the highlights of his final IPL knock are being played on the wide-screen TV that the family purchased just a few months back.

His physical condition at the age of 17 resembles more of sunday league club cricketer than a player at top level. Fatty needs to loose weight and get fitter if he wants to break into international cricket...no comprise on fitness these days

He has attitude problems,violent rage problems, eating disorders etc. BCCI has hired psychiatrists, dieticians, motivational speakers etc to help him get his life in order. Hope he can sort out these problems at the earliest because talent he has in abundance.

Seems to have more penchant for limelight and attention than healthy to become really successful cricketer in India.
He's 17, bit harsh to give him the full analysis right now.
Seems to have more penchant for limelight and attention than healthy to become really successful cricketer in India.
“Woh (Kohli) kuch khata he nahi hai. Kya fitness hai uska!†he says when asked about the RCB skipper and the cricketer who all of India is most interested in. “I learned a lot from him. After looking at his determination, I want to work on my fitness. By next IPL, I want to lose 6 more kilograms,†he adds.

^ I doubt if 6 more is going to be enough. He is more likely to become our own Jessy Ryder then Kane Williamson. He seems to have eerie similarities with Jesse Ryder.

Perfect comparison. Talent, obesity, attitude problems, history of violence... ticks all boxes.
He has attitude problems' date=violent rage problems, eating disorders etc. BCCI has hired psychiatrists, dieticians, motivational speakers etc to help him get his life in order. Hope he can sort out these problems at the earliest because talent he has in abundance.
- Do we have examples published anywhere?
That's the first person...who came to my mind...when reading this article....Yes..indian jessi.....6 is not good enough but a realistic target
- Do we have examples published anywhere?
http://www.ibnlive.com/cricketnext/news/how-sports-psychology-turned-sarfaraz-khans-career-around-545853-78.html http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report-meet-the-lady-who-taught-mumbai-wonderkid-sarfaraz-khan-cricket-is-all-in-the-mind-1893942 Plus a few more links but I can't find them. In one of the links it mentioned him injuring himself with sharp objects when angry, ambushing junior students of his school and hence being expelled once, etc.

I dont know anything about this kid other than he beat Sachins record,every kid doesnt from from a cookie cutter mold and one or two have real problems being a team player and cant cope with the weight of expectations.I hope the best for him but he needs to play first class cricket to go up in cricketing circles ,we could really use a good wicket keeper batsman.

http://www.ibnlive.com/cricketnext/news/how-sports-psychology-turned-sarfaraz-khans-career-around-545853-78.html http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report-meet-the-lady-who-taught-mumbai-wonderkid-sarfaraz-khan-cricket-is-all-in-the-mind-1893942 Plus a few more links but I can't find them. In one of the links it mentioned him injuring himself with sharp objects when angry, ambushing junior students of his school and hence being expelled once, etc.
Hmm, more serious than what I thought of.

The adulation and the babying he is getting in RCB is not going to help him much.Kohli doing the head bows,Gayle and ABDV treating him like a big baby....all this is more likely to give him a bigger head.RCB,Mallaya and what that franchise brings with it....hope the kid has some sense .

He's wide eyed looking at all that food he can down. How can somebody playing sports be that fat and out of shape at such a young age? Coaches like Langer would string him up and use Biryani Boy as a punch bag for such appalling levels of fitness.

Ramesh Powar 2 in making.

The guy can hit well, also fields well. It is unfortunate that he can't keep his weight down at such an early age. We all have seen cricketers who haven't been the fittest perform at the highest levels. I wouldn't write him off already.