kubrickian Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I dont want to sound like a douche but as a 28 year old man who was born, brought up and live in India, I dont find much to like about this country. I'm a big movie buff but think 99 % of Indian movies are crap. I hate songs, dances, unrealistic fights which are a feature of most Indian movies. We are crap at pretty much every sport and struggle to win a single gold in Olympics. Even in cricket, we are absolutely pathetic nowadays. I find most Indian food very spicy and dont like the way it tastes. Indian cities are basically hell with their poor infrastructure, overpollution, overpopulation, lack of hygiene, poverty, crime etc. I think most aspects of Indian culture are stupid and backward. Weather also sucks as its hot and humid most of the year and I hate hot weather. If given a chance to move to a Western country, I would do it in a heartbeat. Coming to the positives, I admire a few people like Abdul Kalam, Ratan Tata, AR Rahman etc. I like some Indian music. I want to visit a few places in India which I always wanted to see but that's pretty much everything India will have to offer as far as I'm concerned. What do you like about India ?
RohitSharma264 Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I don't like Indian girls, too uptight, men don't receive equal respect in anything. India is a misandrist society. I don't like the general lack of cleanliness and hygiene. Indians generally don't like to smile at each other. Indians are most racist race on planet Earth. Internet in India is a cruel joke. 3G/4G all are sheer rip off.
RohitSharma264 Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 India has ugliest cars on roads. Tax reduction for sub-4m cars have resulted in so many eye-sores.
Book_Worm Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Hmm Let me think.. Almost everything. I have lived abroad and now back in india. I find i am living the same lifestyle that i had in USA. I like the fact that labour is cheap and easily available. Tailor,driver,gardener carpenter etc i can get easily. I don't have to take out a car and drive to a supermarket to get my groceries. There are small farmer's market kind of at every nook and corner of a locality. I don't have to make an appointment for my son's playdate. There are kids galore and he seldom lacks company. Food Food Food. It's amazing. U never feel lonely in india like u feel in USA. There a zillion places to see in india and experience diff cultures and diversity. What i most like about indian people is their optimism and hope and competitive nature. I love the festivals and the color. It's magical and intoxicating. India has changed while i was abroad. People are adventurous now willing to dream big.
NareshK Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Hmm Let me think.. Almost everything. I have lived abroad and now back in india. I find i am living the same lifestyle that i had in USA. I like the fact that labour is cheap and easily available. Tailor,driver,gardener carpenter etc i can get easily. I don't have to take out a car and drive to a supermarket to get my groceries. There are small farmer's market kind of at every nook and corner of a locality. I don't have to make an appointment for my son's playdate. There are kids galore and he seldom lacks company. Food Food Food. It's amazing. U never feel lonely in india like u feel in USA. There a zillion places to see in india and experience diff cultures and diversity. What i most like about indian people is their optimism and hope and competitive nature. I love the festivals and the color. It's magical and intoxicating. India has changed while i was abroad. People are adventurous now willing to dream big. Exploiting people and paying peanuts for their hard work must feel very good. You must be very proud of yourself.
randomGuy Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 NareshK - [ame]www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7a9-UzfrnM[/ame]
Book_Worm Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Exploiting people and paying peanuts for their hard work must feel very good. You must be very proud of yourself. No need to get so personal and rude. Are u denying that manual labour isn't in abundance in india? Over Population !!! Hello! It is a fact. U and ur family if they are living in india are doing the same thing. What way am i exploiting them.? I find it cheaper than USA that's all. It is not that cheap everything is expensive in india also but They offer their services i take them. If eveything get's automated in india then how will these people get work. we are not first world yet. people need jobs and are willing to do the work. Over population is a problem. I pay what they ask. Don't how i am exploiting them.
swatpulla Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I love North East girls, specially when they are mixed race. Another thing I truely love is the diversity. I love travelling and this country surprises me every single time. There is so much to experience that we take for granted.
Clarke Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 You know what, it doesn't matter, its what I call home.
coffee_rules Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Home is heaven , even if it is hell! Seems cheesy, but it is very true. What I really don't like is: - Indian TV. It is horrible. Can't sit for a few mins to watch it. Went from DD to this..
Cricketics Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 People back home in India cry too much. You do not appreciate things as much as I will or some others who have lived overseas. Living abroad for a long time now and I love abroad but still feel India is the real home. Don't know if I will be able to adjust back home, but don't think I will have the same sentiments about INdia as the OP suggest that there is nothing to like about India. As Clarke and Coffee Rules put, Home is Home. They both have lived overseas for a while and they know what they are talking about.
randomGuy Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 You know what' date=' it doesn't matter, its what I call home.[/quote']
coffee_rules Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I dont want to sound like a douche but as a 28 year old man who was born, brought up and live in India, I dont find much to like about this country. I'm a big movie buff but think 99 % of Indian movies are crap. I hate songs, dances, unrealistic fights which are a feature of most Indian movies. We are crap at pretty much every sport and struggle to win a single gold in Olympics. Even in cricket, we are absolutely pathetic nowadays. I find most Indian food very spicy and dont like the way it tastes. Indian cities are basically hell with its poor infrastructure, overpollution, overpopulation, poverty, crime etc. I think most aspects of Indian culture are stupid and backward. If given a chance to move to a Western country, I would do it in a heartbeat. I admire a few people like Abdul Kalam, Ratan Tata, AR Rahman etc. I like Indian music. I want to visit a few places in India which I always wanted to see but that's pretty much everything India will have to offer as far as I'm concerned. What do you like about India ? I had thought you were living abroad already.
BlueBee Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Exploiting people and paying peanuts for their hard work must feel very good. You must be very proud of yourself. I don't know how is he responsible for this. The cause for this is overpopulation, poor people want food and they can work for anything and the competition among them leads to low labour costs low. Basic Economics. I don't think you'll pay more than what someone asks for. You don't need to go personal and ridicule someone.
NareshK Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I don't know how is he responsible for this. The cause for this is overpopulation, poor people want food and they can work for anything and the competition among them leads to low labour costs low. Basic Economics. I don't think you'll pay more than what someone asks for. You don't need to go personal and ridicule someone. My response was meant to be tongue in cheek. I was not pointing him alone, just the fact that low wage people in India get exploited ridiculously and get paid very little for the amount of work they do. I found it amusing that he thinks its an advantage to be in a position where he can get services for cheap. I dont think its anything to be proud of to be honest.
jalebi_bhai Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 You know what' date=' [b']it doesn't matter, its what I call home. +1. As simple as that. Talk to people from around the world and most of them simply can't fathom how we are one country, despite all our diversity. Quoting Muhammad Iqbal's (a cultural icon in Pakistan and one of it's chief conceptual creators mind you) Sare Jahan Se Accha : Hindī haiṉ ham, wat̤an hai Hindositāṉ hamārā Yūnān o-Miṣr o-Rūmā, sab miṭ ga'e jahāṉ se Ab tak magar hai bāqī, nām o-nis̱ẖaṉ hamārā Kuch bāt hai kih hastī, miṭtī nahīṉ hamārī Ṣadiyoṉ rahā hai dus̱ẖman daur-i zamāṉ hamārā Translation: We are Indians, India is our homeland Greece, Egypt, Rome are all extinct from the world But our reknown and fame have continued so far There is some secret that our existence is not effaced For centuries time's vicissitudes have been our foe
Book_Worm Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 My response was meant to be tongue in cheek. I was not pointing him alone' date=' just the fact that low wage people in India get exploited ridiculously and get paid very little for the amount of work they do. I found it amusing that he thinks its an advantage to be in a position where he can get services for cheap. I dont think its anything to be proud of to be honest.[/quote'] I am not he but she.. As far as me thinking it is advantage i was comparing it to USA.
Sachin=GOD Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 People back home in India cry too much. You do not appreciate things as much as I will or some others who have lived overseas. Living abroad for a long time now and I love abroad but still feel India is the real home. Don't know if I will be able to adjust back home, but don't think I will have the same sentiments about INdia as the OP suggest that there is nothing to like about India. As Clarke and Coffee Rules put, Home is Home. They both have lived overseas for a while and they know what they are talking about. This.