NareshK Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 People back home in India cry too much. You do not appreciate things as much as I will or some others who have lived overseas. Living abroad for a long time now and I love abroad but still feel India is the real home. Don't know if I will be able to adjust back home, but don't think I will have the same sentiments about INdia as the OP suggest that there is nothing to like about India. As Clarke and Coffee Rules put, Home is Home. They both have lived overseas for a while and they know what they are talking about. Cry me a river. Funny that you people who migrate to rich countries and enjoying there suddenly develop a great love for India and lecture Indians how we don't appreciate the things we have. How about coming back to India and improving the country then ? Don't give me this crap. :hysterical:
Shivaji bhonsle Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Cry me a river. Funny that you people who migrate to rich countries and enjoying there suddenly develop a great love for India and lecture Indians how we don't appreciate the things we have. How about coming back to India and improving the country then ? Don't give me this crap. :hysterical: He is saying his feelings as an Indian.
Number Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 I like it because the kind of friends I have here, can never have outside India. I have family and relatives here which makes me feel very secure. Yes the food is not that healthy (it isn't that bad if you make some changes into it) but this is what I have eaten all my life so I am kind of functioned to eat it, and the only place where its easy and cheap to find is India. With that said if I get opportunities I might move out of India but that's purely because of career and some money and not because I hate living here. In fact I can never think of settling down permanently outside India.
Desi Cartman Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 What are the things you like about India ? Thing about India, money gets you anything you want. Heck you can run over people and get away with it. It's a possible positive for the ones who are driving and a definite negative for the people getting run over. India is very simple, it all works on Ram bharosay. It's a miracle in itself that things are not a lot worse than they currently are. Think about it, businesses don't care about people, netas from MLA to Mps are never seen except during elections. Hospitals are a mess, poor soldiers, uneducated poor villagers and still people smile and get on with their lives. It's amazing that such a huge population gets on with their lives and tries to do something better everyday while the government is doing almost nothing for them.
coffee_rules Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Cry me a river. Funny that you people who migrate to rich countries and enjoying there suddenly develop a great love for India and lecture Indians how we don't appreciate the things we have. How about coming back to India and improving the country then ? Don't give me this crap. :hysterical: That's what he said, who went abroad and have come back to figure out the atte-ka-bhaav! Not everybody who emigrate are greedy and do it to "enjoy" here. It's about family "safety-net". But ultimately, you should be happy where ever you are are not feel so bad about the place where you live like the OP.
coffee_rules Posted August 15, 2015 Posted August 15, 2015 Food. :whack: That is the best thing. I like Thai better, but India is second best.
swatpulla Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 The only thing I dislike about this country is how filthy our cities are. The Desi culture has to be among the most unhygienic in the world.
kubrickian Posted August 16, 2015 Author Posted August 16, 2015 I don't like Indian girls' date= too uptight, men don't receive equal respect in anything. India is a misandrist society. I don't like the general lack of cleanliness and hygiene. Indians generally don't like to smile at each other. Indians are most racist race on planet Earth. Internet in India is a cruel joke. 3G/4G all are sheer rip off. I would blame the culture for it. They are brought up to behave that way. If girls are remotely friendly, many Indian men assume they want the D.
sscomp32 Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Home is heaven , even if it is hell! Seems cheesy, but it is very true. What I really don't like is: - Indian TV. It is horrible. Can't sit for a few mins to watch it. Went from DD to this.. Food. +1.
dragonfly Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Left India 16 years ago. Miss food the most and the fact that my parents still live in India (though we might move them here soon). Honestly, there isn't a whole lot else I "miss" about India. Do I enjoy the weeks that I spend there during vacation? Yes. But I don't really "miss" it.
Jersey #10 Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 I have mixed feelings. I don't want to have to deal with Indian weather, pollution (air & noise), politics, discrimination (against higher casts), corruption, blindly following baba's, social suppression etc On the other hand, I wish I had more friends. A lot of times, I just feel lonely - could be depressing. When I lived in India, I sometimes had "too many friends". Now it's the opposite. It's tough being vegetarian in my situation so I guess I miss the variety and options for food a little bit. Then again, I feel food prep, ingredients are substandard and often unsanitary in India.
The Outsider Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Only the three F's - food, family, and friends. But am coming back for 2 years anyway after 16 years away. I am not optimistic, but let's see how it works out.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Only the three F's - food' date=' family, and friends. But am coming back for 2 years anyway after 16 years away. I am not optimistic, but let's see how it works out.[/quote'] What do you mean by you are coming back?
Donal Cozzie Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 What do you mean by you are coming back? What do you miss mostly out of Bangladesh??
Texy Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 Off course there are lot of things wrong with India. There always will be. IT doesn't matter. At the end of the day, when you put on tricolor and play the national anthem, you feel the goosebumps and natural emotion flows out..you know you're damn proud to be known as an Indian. If some ******* says sh!t abt India which you know is probably true but somehow your fist meets his face, you know you're proud to be an Indian. When you staring at Pamela Anderson wallpaper on your computer and you happen to come across Sunny Leone in a saree...you feel proud as an Indian.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 What do you miss mostly out of Bangladesh?? Die you pesky leprechaun die. :bangbang:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 Off course there are lot of things wrong with India. There always will be. IT doesn't matter. At the end of the day' date=' when you put on tricolor and play the national anthem, you feel the goosebumps and natural emotion flows out..you know you're damn proud to be known as an Indian. If some ******* says sh!t abt India which you know is probably true but somehow your fist meets his face, you know you're proud to be an Indian. When you staring at Pamela Anderson wallpaper on your computer and you happen to come across Sunny Leone in a saree...you feel proud as an Indian.[/quote'] You first visit Indian and then talk.
Khalpat Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 India is the most colorful country of the world, with extremely optimistic people who literally feel good if train arrives on time or there is an electricity. There would be very less country in this world or may be none which has been blessed with so much natural beauty. Mountains, forest, beaches, waterfalls, rivers, deltas, desert. Except Iceberg, we can find everything here. We do not consider boiled potato as food. Our taste bud is the most developed among all species and our mother's are the world's best cook. Despite having so many diverse cultures, languages, religions and tribes, we manage to live cordially with each other. Unlike many other countries people dont have to face extreme discrimination and mockery for belonging to some different class. Corruption. Poverty, Illiteracy, Malnutrition and lot many other evils might have been trying to smother this great democracy but it still survives. Not only survives but rises up high unblemished, with a gleam in its eyes that displays a determination to become greatest of all. Maybe India is not better than others in lot many ways but it doesnt just whine about it. It accepts it and is working a hell lot to change it. Everything in the life must always be calculated in terms of relative growth. How it was yesterday and how it is today for us. Growing up in a developing economy with more than 8% growth rate will give you some of the best experiences of life. When we see Expressways coming up which are solving the mess you have felt when it was not there, huge infrastructure growth taking place in front of your eyes which are solving those problems which we ourselves have felt during our time. These are the things which you will miss in already developed country.
amiret Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 I like the fact that you can get away with murder in India.
Yoda-esque Posted August 17, 2015 Posted August 17, 2015 I like the fact that you can get away with murder in India. Agreed.Look at Kejriturd.